We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic place !”
Review of Neptunes Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inhambane
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Neptunes Lodge
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We spent 3 nights with Wayne & Jo in June 2013. This is long for us ! we normally only spend 1 night anywhere ! Lovely place ! Lovely people ! Reasonable price. I would recommend Neptunes Lodge to anybody looking for a relaxing holiday in a brilliant setting with fantastic hosts and the best prawn meal that I had anywhere in Mozambique ! We happened to be there on the occasion of Neptunes first anniversary party which was festive affair ! You cannot go wrong here !

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gatecrasher373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

Hubby and I booked for 5 nights and stayed for 16 - This in itsself should say it all ! Hosts Wayne & Jo people friendly people make you feel comfortable from the get-go. The casitas are clean, comfortable, you really don't need more. Good food, ice cold drinks, dive centre on-site Neptunes definitely has everything going for it ! The spot - well for me I reckon this is the best spot in Moz ! We have booked to go back in December and I can't wait.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angeladuncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We were luck enough to be recommended Neptune's Lodge by a good friend. We visited out of season so got a great deal and my family were able to relax and enjoy a blissful beach holiday with our Casita (Self catering chalet) a stones throw from the beach.

Having the beach bar right there was amazing as we were able to just walk down, grab an R 'n R and flop down on a recliner for the day. Our young kids were well looked after and we enjoyed the safety of always being able to keep an eye on them as they played in the sand or the shallow water.

You can do as much or as little as you like. I enjoyed 9 amazing dives with the world class dive team from Barra Reef Divers. The DM Matt was super knowledgeable and nursed me through my first dives after as long absence. My kids had some surf lessons with the girls from Walk on Water and also did the Mangrove Kayak trip which is well worth doing as the guides were amazing.

The Casita we stayed in had everything we needed with fridge, kitchenette and outside BBQ which we used when not eating at the bar. Well hardly ever really, but it was nice to know we could if needed. There was a cleaning service as well which was fantastic!

Lastly, a quick note about the owners and staff. It's rare that you can visit somewhere and so quickly feel like part of the family. Jo and Wayne were super friendly and helpful and always available if needed.Their staff went out of their way to look after us and we always felt that they were keeping an eye on our kids which allowed us to relax and enjoy a wonderful holiday.

We can't wait to get back and can't recommend Neptune's Lodge enough

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katenka87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Familyreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inhambane
0.9 mi away
Sentidos Beach Retreat
Sentidos Beach Retreat
#1 of 1 in Praia da Barra
16 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barra Beach Club
Barra Beach Club
#2 of 21 in Inhambane
76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palm Grove Lodge
Palm Grove Lodge
#6 of 21 in Inhambane
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Mango Beach Tofo
Mango Beach Tofo
#2 of 15 in Tofo
34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vista Do Mar
Vista Do Mar
#5 of 21 in Inhambane
34 reviews
1.4 mi away
Blue Footprints Eco-Lodge
Blue Footprints Eco-Lodge
#1 of 21 in Inhambane
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neptunes Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptunes Lodge

Address: Barra Beach, Inhambane 1300, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Inhambane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Inhambane
Price Range: £3,131 - £6,262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owner run, self-catering casitas & one of the most popular beach bars in Barra; Neptune’s Lodge & Beach Bar offers a friendly, island style vibe just steps away from the clear, warm waters of the Indian Ocean. Always a hub of activity with ‘Barra Reef Divers’ and ‘Walk On Water’ on-site who boast an array of activities to suit all; ranging from diving, whale shark safari, snorkeling with sea horses to kayaking through the unique Mangroves & surf lessons. Neptune’s rustic beach bar specialises in the local, delicious Mozambican cuisine as well as your seafood favourites. Our awesome Jumbo prawns & crab curry (bought fresh from the beach) are a popular choice, of course with a generous splash of the famous ‘peri peri’For any excuse owners Wayne & Jo are known for lighting an impromptu bonfire on the beach along with a drumming session and local singers (quite the characters!) An awesome way to spend an evening in Mozambique, soaking up the atmosphere under a perfect starry sky with a local Tipo Tinto Rum or three!Our homely casitas (small houses) have all you need for the perfect beach holiday. Nestled just over a small dune from the beach bar they are all personally decorated and furnished with a fully equipped kitchen, bathroom and private braai area. If you are lucky enough you can spot the odd breaching whale from your stoep and to fall asleep to the sound of the ocean is something else!Thankfully we don’t have a bustling mall close by or a tar road with traffic lights but to us this is paradise. If you, like us enjoy the simple things in life, colorful &friendly people, breathtaking beaches and a slow, relaxed pace of life we are sure that you too will have found your piece of BARRADISE! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing