We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can you say, monopoly?”
Review of Western Dairy

Western Dairy
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Newark, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Can you say, monopoly?”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The soft serve ice cream tastes like any other, and the rest of the ice cream was just... not that good. I've had waaaaaay better at Baskin Robins, or any other ice cream shop I've been to. But with this seeming to be the only ice cream shop in town, and the temperatures being hot hot hot, I struggled to find an edible flavor and settled on Black Cherry. I suggest you taste before you buy, nothing tastes like what you may be used to but you MAY find something you like. As for the food, only tried the cheese quesadillas. Edible, but probably my least favorite quesadillas ever. On a good note. Great customer service, they move fast and the prices are super reasonable.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tara973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    30
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Ice Cream & Mediocre Food”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

In Belize, food can be hit or miss, and now that I've visited this establishment on three separate visits over a four year period, I can honestly say that the food quality has gone down over the years.

I initially visited Western Dairy in 2011 and thought that the ice cream and hamburgers were great. Like another reviewer stated, "an oasis in the desert". I returned again in 2012, and was not impressed by the quality of the pizza, but the ice cream was still excellent.

I again returned July 2014 with a group and the consensus was that the hamburgers were well overdone (very tough and chewy) and the pizza tasted plain. It's kind of disappointing and I likely will not return, but I may try the new Orange Walk location. Oh, the ice cream is still excellent and so is the free Wi-Fi.

Overall, Western Dairies went from Very Good to Average in my opinion. Still worth a visit for the ice cream, but better food can be found elsewhere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Legal4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Best belizian ice cream”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

You have to try the sour sop flavor. They have a lot of flavorful options. I don't personally like the Craboo...but some do.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelpastor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Prairie
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Western Dairy, Ice Cream & Pizza”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Western Dairy Ice Cream & Pizza Shop on the Main Street in San Ignacio provides a plethora of choices in Ice Cream in an air conditioned setting. You can also get a slice of pizza, or a whole pizza to go. At this Ice Cream Parlor, you get a 'huge' scoop of ice cream ... equal to about 2 scoops at most Ice Cream Shops ... for less than $1 U.S. A great place to go for ice cream & to cool off on a hot day!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brutiffany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

i was in this restaurant this past week. It is an oasis in the dessert. The food is good. Especially the dairy products. I appreciated the free internet wifi. This made the experience better. The Pizza and the cheese burger are fair not the standards of usa but ok for the place we were at. I will return because it is the best there is in the area. The bathroom is outside and the parking lot is gravel, if is is wet you will get muddy

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chaplain1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Western Dairy also viewed

Spanish Lookout, Cayo
 

Been to Western Dairy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing