We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“used to receive free rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hollywood Casino & Hotel Gulf Coast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hollywood Casino & Hotel Gulf Coast
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bay Saint Louis
Terrytown, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“used to receive free rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

my wife and i used to receive a free room every now and then,but in the last months we have not received any. we usually come about every other month. i still have comp mony left and wonder why no further offers??

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fireman503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HllywdHotel, Manager at Hollywood Casino & Hotel Gulf Coast, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Thank you for your continued patronage to Hollywood Casino Bay St. Louis! All of our offers are based on play, so first of all, please make sure you continue to use your Club Hollywood Card each and every time you play. If you would like to discuss your offers, please feel free to contact me directly and I will be happy to put you in touch with the right person if I am not able to assist you.

Warm Regards,
Jennifer Granger
Director of Resort Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    80
    41
    27
    37
See reviews for
64
80
14
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lutcher,la
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

First of all I went to the front desk to ask for a reservation and I was rudely answered "Do you have a members card" I replied, no this is our first time here, and then was told NO, no rooms left available..I got back in my car (kids are restless from being in their car seats) so I logged on to Hotels.com where I saw earlier that rooms were available and booked a 2 Queen non smoking room. I then went back to the front desk with my confirmation number and waited 15 mins to get a room. Then we got to the room and it was filthy. One bed had gritty sheets, a blanket full of holes, and the grossest of all was a pillowcase that smelled like dirty hair (im a hairstylist, so I know the smell). It was obviously not changed out. The other bedding smelled smoke..so I then took the kids to the pool. The pool cabana was closed and not once was clean towels brought to the storage area. I asked the guy out there and he said he would get some, but didnt happen. Went back that evening and still didnt have any. Not to mention that the pool side by the table and chairs is full of leaves and trash. It was not kept up at all, this morning it was all still the same @ 10 when we left. Next, went to the celebrity grill for a snack. Absolutely not a single high chair in there! So i sat my 1yr old on my lap and then noticed water coming out of the ceiling light fixture. I told the guy working in there, and nothing was done so my husband pulled a chair out under it so people wouldnt slip in fall. Then the grill guy came put a bucket on top of the chair 20 mins later. I can go on and on about my families experience..It is absolutely the worst place I have ever stayed in. We visit the Ms area often and never seen anything like this. I will say the front area is kept up nicely but maybe thats to draw in business since the rest of the area is not up to par. Not worth the money..

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tiffroques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HllywdHotel, Manager at Hollywood Casino & Hotel Gulf Coast, responded to this review, 23 June 2011
I am so sorry to read of your difficult and challenging stay with us. Please contact me directly so that we can discuss further. I can assure you, what you experienced is most definately not up to the standards of our resort.

Please contact me directly.

Warm Regards,

Jennifer Granger
Director of Resort Operations
(228) 466-8086 (direct)
jennifer.granger@pngaming.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biloxi, Mississippi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

I've been to several hotels in my 27 years of life and this one is also a good one. I' live in Biloxi and decided to host a bachlorette party for the night (received 2 free nights here) and it was painless! I don't know what the negativity about this hotel is but its a nice place. The staff are friendly and the establishment is well kept. The only thing I didn't like is in my regular room, there is no fridge or microwave. You can hear the doors slam down the hall but its a once in a while thing... maybe 1 every couple of hours (but if your sleeping u shouldnt hear it.) I notice it when I'm watching tv.The Epic buffet was GREAT! (also received free coupons for buffet). Ran out of crab and crawfish but its ok! I would definately stay here again! To me, there is not much going on around the community... (night clubs etc... but do able). Again, I would come back!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bap83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HllywdHotel, Manager at Hollywood Casino & Hotel Gulf Coast, responded to this review, 14 June 2011
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We pride ourselves on offering a quality product. I'm so glad that we exceeded your expectations!

Warm Regards,

Jennifer Granger
Director of Resort Operations
Hollywood Casino Bay St. Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pass Christian, Mississippi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2011

They have changed their Buffet ,we used to eat there all the time but now it is horrible ! I went to get a chicken legg and blood was actually running out of it.I should have called the health department ! They were also out of some of the items I liked the best.The Restaurant manager was very very Rude, We wont be back as there are too many other good places to eat .The Rooms have stains on the floor and furniture and smell of smoke.. The Casino itself is also filled with smoke ,Smokers everywhere.Non Smokers Beware !

Room Tip: Hardrock has the best Rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank joeyd57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

I found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and smelled good. Our bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was nice. The elevator service was quick as well. We ate at Bogart's Steakhouse in the casino, and the food was excellent! We had a great time here.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TammyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HllywdHotel, Manager at Hollywood Casino & Hotel Gulf Coast, responded to this review, 13 April 2011
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed your dinner at Bogart's! I am gratified to read that our efforts in providing the very finest in casino gaming facilities accompanied by the friendliest most knowledgeable and quite frankly the best casino employees on the Mississippi Gulf Coast are paying off.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2011

Stayed here this past weekend. Our room was non-smoking but everything smelled very smoky,
including the air. But, the worst part was the slamming of doors all night. We stayed 3 nights and every
night was the same thing...loud bangs constantly all through-out the night. The doors are very heavy and
when people just let go of them, they make a really loud bang that actually shakes your door and wakes
you from a sound sleep. We had 4 people in two different rooms in our group and no-one was able to sleep at night. The buffet was fine, but we had coupons to get it for free. Not worth the $20 that they charge. Reminds me of a Western Sizzlin' or Ryans.
price tag though....not even close to the quality of some of the other casino buffets.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank arewethereyetyet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2010

I recently attended a business meeting held at the Hollywood Casino that required an overnight stay. Although my room was very nice and smoke-free, several others attending the same meeting were placed in smoking rooms. You will smell the smoke as soon as you walk through the front doors of the hotel.

Apparently, this hotel has a history of overbooking their non-smoking rooms. So be aware.

All this being said, my specific hotel was nice, clean and comfortable. As with most other casino hotels, internet is not provided and the television channel selection is poor at best. They would much rather have you downstairs in the casino than in your room watching TV or using the internet.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MSUEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bay Saint Louis
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Bay St. Louis
Super 8 Bay St. Louis
#1 of 4 in Bay Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
7.9 mi away
Silver Slipper Casino Hotel
Silver Slipper Casino Hotel
#3 of 4 in Bay Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
24.1 mi away
Treasure Bay Casino and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Long Beach
14.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Gulfport
1.4 mi away
Knights Inn Bay St. Louis
Knights Inn Bay St. Louis
#4 of 4 in Bay Saint Louis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Casino & Hotel Gulf Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Casino & Hotel Gulf Coast

Property: Hollywood Casino & Hotel Gulf Coast
Address: 711 Hollywood Blvd, Bay Saint Louis, MS 39520-1808
Region: United States > Mississippi > Bay Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bay Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hollywood Casino & Hotel Gulf Coast 3*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a stay at Hollywood Casino Gulf Coast in Bay St Louis, you'll be convenient to 100 Men D.B.A. Hall and Bay St. Louis Little Theater. This casino hotel is within close proximity of Historic L and N Train Depot and Saint Stanislaus College. Make yourself at home in one of the 291 air-conditioned guestrooms. Cable television is provided for your entertainment. Bathrooms have complimentary toiletries and hair dryers. Conveniences include desks and coffee/tea makers, and housekeeping is provided daily. While the golfer in the family is out on the course, try one of the other recreational amenities offered, such as a casino, lazy river and outdoor pool. Additional features include complimentary wireless Internet access and gift shops/newsstands. Satisfy your appetite at the hotel's restaurants,serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, or grab a snack at a coffee shop/cafe. Quench your thirst with your favorite drink at a bar/lounge. Featured amenities include complimentary high-speed (wired) Internet access, express check-out, and dry cleaning/laundry services. Event facilities at this hotel consist of conference space and meeting rooms. Free valet parking is available onsite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Hollywood Casino & Hotel Gulf Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Casino Bay St. Louis Hotel Bay Saint Louis
Hollywood Hotel Bay St Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing