We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Grande Maison d'Arthenay
Nearby Hotels
Auberge Bienvenue(Doue-la-Fontaine)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Dagobert(Doue-la-Fontaine)
US$78
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel de la Saulaie(Doue-la-Fontaine)(Great Value!)
US$116
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rocaminori Hotel(Louresse-Rochemenier)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Les Bacchusiennes(Saint-Georges-sur-Layon)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Le Relais Du Bellay(Montreuil-Bellay)
US$99
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel le Bois Joli(Thouars)(Great Value!)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
108
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
108
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine tastinglovely hostsfamily roombeautiful loireshort drivebeautiful locationla grande maisonthe main housewine makinglocal villagedifferent winestop classlonger staya real treaton footdelicious foodmany times
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I can only add to the endless list of compliments for this place...

Although we found it quite difficult to find, it felt like we finally found a secret place full of treasures... from the warmth of the welcome, to the food, the comfort of the place, we only wish we could have stayed longer.

We stayed with our four month poppy who was very welcomed to...

The table d'hotes is not to be missed!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ptatworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

La Grande Maison was an especially welcome addition to this year’s family holiday. Having driven up from the Pyrenees for a 3-night stay, the pot of coffee on arrival was much appreciated. Michaela and Sue were very helpful, brilliantly knowledgeable about the local area and particularly the wines on offer. Sending us to a nearby vineyard (Fosse-Seches) we thoroughly enjoyed learning more about wine in 45 minutes of halting French and regular reaching for the dictionary than we have learned for many years. The honey is excellent too. Our room was extremely comfortable and well furnished. We were the only guests staying with Michaela and Sue during our visit. Initially disappointed with that fact we began to appreciate being on our own that very evening for dinner. What a treat! Sue is a really talented chef and Michaela great at front of house. Breakfasts were something special too. Visitors do have to be prepared to like 3 quite boisterous Spaniels but for us that was not a problem at all. Lots to see and do in the area too; we intend to visit again just as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

At Le Grande Maison we found peace, quiet and wine. Sue and Micaela are relaxed and knowledgeable hosts who are happy to advise on wine, restaurants, local visits and cycle routes. We certainly recommend having the supper and wine tasting. This includes a tour of the caves and tunnels under the property - conducted halfway through the delicious meal.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WR14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

La grande maison is as rustic and elegant as it gets. Off the beaten path, this establishment offers a quiet and relaxing atmosphere with excellent hosts. Michaela and Sue were very welcoming and attentive to details. Breakfast was fantastic and the wine pairing dinner exclusive. We had the chance to stay with them for 4 nights. It is the best place to wind down after visits of the Loire country and castles. The only issue we had was the musty smell in the master room due to higher than normal rainfall before we arrived. It was somewhat addressed by Michaela by adding a dehumidifier in the room. I highly recommend this B&B for those who will venture in the region.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelHard2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

You have to be in the right frame of mind to appreciate this place. You are a good walk away from most things, in a secluded oasis. It is peaceful and relaxing, the owners are extremely helpful, their lovely dogs extremely friendly. It's a home from home, very welcoming and somewhere we would happily return to.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank CCP1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews