We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome local piece of culture”

Ohr-O'Keefe Museum of Art
Ranked #16 of 58 things to do in Biloxi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: We invite you to enjoy all that makes our museum unique: the artists, the architecture, the history, and the landscape. The Ohr-O'Keefe Museum of Art celebrates the innovative, independent and creative spirit of our namesake Mississippi master potter George Ohr. In a fitting tribute to Ohr, artist and architect Frank Gehry designed an award winning campus of bold intriguing self sufficient structures. The campus consists of our Mississippi Sound Welcome Center, three art galleries, the reconstructed home of Pleasant Reed, and our City of Biloxi Center for Ceramics. These buildings and the exhibits therein offer visitors separate but not isolated experiences - together creating a single unified vision connected by the expansive brick plaza and the majestic Live Oaks.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome local piece of culture”
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

Such a cool story of the "Mad potter of Biloxi". Many folks seem to not like the design, but I think those people are not the type to enjoy this museum at all.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    65
    41
    17
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This small museum was recommended by a friend and well worth the short trip....the pottery was amazing and som was the art being shown this year....if nothing else the architecture of the museum itself is worth the admission

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank julie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haughton, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Loved the different types of art”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Learned alot about the "Mad Potter of Biloxi". Loved the different mediums of art displayed in the different buildings. Was very disappointed that the "Pods" were stilled closed (Katrina damage) as I have driven by them on many occasions but never could stop. Wonderful staff in each building eager to answer any questions. Interesting building architecture, too. Be sure to walk the steps outside. Also, good value for the money.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LaDonna2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Place & People”
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

We made it a point to visit this museum during our "drive-thru" Biloxi. I enjoyed seeing the Frank Geary design, even though its not finished. We're really drawn to his works (in Spain, NYC, and elsewhere). We heard the story of how the casino barge destroyed the original site during hurricane Katrina. I like the Ohr pottery and the story behind it - wasn't totally impressed until I looked it up on Antique Roadshow's archives - the first piece that came up was a small vase valued at $10,000!!! I enjoyed the local art work displayed too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Art and Architecture Gem”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Beautiful design, exciting art. Great view of barrier islands. I became a member just to help them out. Support them!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank lacoose504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ohr-O'Keefe Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Ohr-O'Keefe Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing