We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Above Bored Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Brownelea Holiday Apartments(Perth)(Great Value!)
US$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Northbridge(Perth)
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$56
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Nest on Newcastle(Perth)(Great Value!)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Citylights Hotel(Greater Perth)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Four Points by Sheraton Perth(Perth)(Great Value!)
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Alex Hotel(Perth)(Great Value!)
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Peppers Kings Square Hotel(Perth)(Great Value!)
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
45
13
5
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
13
5
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bthe ownercity centreshort strolllittle thingsgarden roomeggsbreadking roomjuicedog exerciseaccessperthprivacysarahgarageaccommodation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Small but comfortable. The garage conversion was well done and compact. Nice to be able to come and go at will. Bed was comfortable and facilities adequate for a short stay. Continental breakfast supplied for first morning, but feel that the classification was Bed & BREAKFAST, therefore should have been supplied on a daily basis. Otherwise enjoyable stay Sarah, thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahRossetti, Owner at Above Bored Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Hi Robert,
Thanks so much for taking the time to review the Garden room, which is our most popular room even though it is smaller than the rooms in the guest wing of the house, which also share a guest only lounge dining room, and the Master and King room do receive every day breakfast and room cleaning, as they are extra large B&B rooms, and have no dishwasher. The reason why there are not every day breakfast provisions for the Garden room is that it is advertised as a self-contained room with it's own kitchenette and dishwasher, and it receives weekly linen changes and cleans like a serviced apartment. We try to offer a balance of pure B&B rooms and a self contained cottage room to suit all tastes, and also suit the needs of pet owners, and in the knowledge that we have earned our AAA 4 star rating on all rooms for good reason: our standards are high and we are only a 5 minute drive from the centre of Perth CBD in a quiet street, so it is a tranquil place to stay, easy walking distance from an array of interesting restaurants and a great dog park, an inner city suburb with an arty 1927 Federation home feel. We are proud to have made it into Lonely Planet Australia this year also, a recommendation for travelers that money cannot buy. We do hope you will come and stay again us soon. We also offer a 3 minute video tour on our website which all can find at the top of this listing.
Best Wishes,
Sarah Rossetti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This pet-friendly accommodation has only one good thing going for it and that's the fact it allows pets. Oh yes, and if you like water features, there's a nice little pond with some very large gold fish in it which is about the only feature worth mentioning. The promotional information for this garage conversion is misleading. There are a couple of options to choose from within this B&B facility. The owner recommended we go for the one with access to a 'private' garden area (which is not very private). On initial glance the garden and exterior wall of the place we were to inhabit, looked quite quaint. However the inside is a total let-down. It is a totally inadequate space, cheaply modified to sleep a couple in a confined space and that's about it. The bed takes up most of the room and as its only a double, that gives you an indication of how tiny this room is. From the street outside, you see a clinker brick double garage. On the inside you quickly realise your 'room' is in fact one half of that garage. Within, there is a tiny bathroom. No room to put your toiletries or hang a towel. If you want bench space, you have to put the toilet seat down. The area called a kitchenette, provides a little sink to wash a dish or two. Advertised as a B&B we expected a little more than the 2 slices per day of thin sliced bread in a plastic Glad bag. Its the little things people notice most and the few pieces of kitchen paper left on the roll with no replacement was just another one of those noticeable annoyances. The smallest fridge Ive ever seen contained miniature containers of the following: Watery marmalade, mouldy jam, a blob of vegemite and a thumbnail of butter that looked like it had been left there by the previous visitor. As a result, we couldn't trust the 2 eggs. No cooking facilities except a micro microwave. Cutlery from the Op Shop. So too were the pictures badly placed on the garage and the room walls. In this severely under-sized room, there is not even enough space to open a suitcase or to get dressed. There must be an expectation for visitors to utilise the adjoining garage space (which is also used as the owner's junk-storage facility), because the suitcase rack/stands are already set up in there. There is a wardrobe in the room, but one half is locked for the owner's own use. We had a young dog with us who excitedly ran beneath the bed only to come out the other side carrying a hairy ball of dust and fluff from someone's effort to sweep the remnants of a past visitor under the bed out of sight. I went to wipe up some spilt water from the wood-grain vinyl flooring only to discover how filthy it was. To confirm this finding, I wiped another area and to my horror, found it equally as dirty. There are a few entries in the visitor book including one that mentions their dog finding a bone in the cupboard ! We couldn't wait to leave and when we did, we knew we would never return.

Room Tip: I can only comment on the room we stayed in. The main house might provide something a little more enticing or acceptable but I wouldn't take the chance after the experience we had.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerrinkarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahRossetti, Owner at Above Bored Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

We thank all reviewers for taking the time to review our rooms, however, I must point out some glaring mistakes that this reviewer has made in the representation of our Garden room.

Firstly, we must point out that the Garden room is really popular and most reviewers write glowingly about it, so we are puzzled when a review such as this one comes in, especially if the guest chatted nicely with us and did not bring anything to our attention during their stay, as was the case with this reviewer. We cherish the opportunity to be of service to rectify anything if anything comes to our attention, and we love dogs who always seem pleased to see us also!

I usually recommend pet owners to this room because it has complete privacy from other guests and the use of the fully enclosed back yard for the pet, as well as the pet being able to sleep in the room, which makes it popular, and whilst it is a smaller room (25sqm) it compensates for this by having a remote controlled garage (an additional 25sqm) for its exclusive use, which is not something most rooms come with. Because we allow pets to sleep in this room, we make sure that it is vaccumed and the floor washed after every guest.

The clinker brick room was custom built and the second garage door from the street side created for street aesthetics and at the behest of the council, so it is not a garage conversion, but a clinker brick building which houses a car on one side and a fully insulated and enclosed air conditioned room in the other side with en-suite and kitchenette. This room has high ceilings and lovely views to the garden from its two sets of windows, as seen in the photos we have provided. The bed is queen sized (not double as reported) the kitchenette not only has a sink but also a dishwasher (not reported) the cutlery is from Ikea (not Op Shop as reported). There are towel rails in the bathroom (misrepresented as nowhere to hang a towel) and there is a vanity with drawers for guest toiletries in addition to the free toiletries that we provide (not the top of the toilet as reported).

Regarding breakfast things, we can only vouch for our condiments being fresh in the fridge, nothing is old or mouldy, and the fridge is a bar fridge which is a normal size for hotel rooms. This room also has a kettle, microwave and dishwasher and the use of the new gas BBQ right outside its front door in the garden. We include Harvey fresh orange juice, fresh muesli, yoghurt, fresh fruit, condiments, eggs, and cookers to make poached eggs in the microwave, and bread of course, good quality tea coffee and biscuits are also provided (all not reported). Any time a guest asks for more of these food items, we are happy to provide.

We do place two luggage racks in the garage as people often want to spread out when unpacking. There is a massive wardrobe of the modern sliding door variety built into the room. The right hand side is for guest use and the left hand side is locked as we like to keep our linen for the room pristine, as this is linen storage for the room. We find it really amusing that this reviewer did not report 100% glowing comments in our visitor's book for this room, with one even commenting on loving the squeaky toy bone we leave for dogs to play with in the cupboard, (misrepresented as a real bone by this reviewer). We can only state what is correct and let the reader decide.

We are always happy to address any questions or concerns and so anyone should feel free to contact us at any time.

Best Wishes,

Sarah Rossetti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

As I am a country person, staying at this B&B made me feel so at home. Sarah, the owner, is so welcoming and caters to your needs with a personal touch.
The Garden Cottage is a must stay, so quaint and private. I felt so at home, and the location is perfect as it is close to the city, and is situated in a lovely quiet suburb.
Thank you Sarah. I will be returning because of your warm hospitality and delightful premises.
Deborah C

Room Tip: Cottage room is private with own en suite, dishwasher, fully self contained with garden Excellent parking spaces Other rooms are large, high ceilings
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahRossetti, Owner at Above Bored Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank-you so much for taking the time to review our property. It is a delight to accommodate guests like yourself, lovely personable people from all over the globe.
Best Wishes,
Sara Rossetti - Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Wow. A hectic busy trip (again) to Perth is never something that overly delights me; stuck indoors constantly looking at the gorgeous sun outside, client sites based in not overly convenient locations and by the time I usually get to the standard hotel room, I do what I need to do, stare at the hospital colored walls and off to sleep.

Not any more! This week, albeit very busy, was a total dream.

Stayed in the Garden Room, gorgeous. Ate in the stunning garden setting outside my door; relaxing. Had a beer (OK, maybe more than one) strolling around the garden admiring the relaxing beauty and sounds from some very impressive goldfish hiding in a lovely garden water feature. All this on a busy work trip - never in 25 years travelling have I enjoyed my lodgings like this.

Sarah, professional, thoughtful, courteous, a pleasure to speak with - what a great home and B&B you've created. I've added this to my SatNav today - I've most certainly found my new WA home away from home. You totally made my week - hopefully we can chat a bit more next time over.

Oh, almost forgot - room was cosy, lovely and clean, fittings and amenities, great. Bed was really cosy and was awesome waking up to absolutely no noise except for some birds chirping in the garden; just like home!

Room Tip: Garden Room with your own remote control garage and stunning garden - great to make it "your own" and relax in beautiful surrounds
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahRossetti, Owner at Above Bored Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

It is always a delight to accommodate guests, particularly personable ones like yourself who have taken the time to review our property which we take great pride in keeping to high standards. Thank-you so much,
Sarah Rossetti - Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This B&B was recommended to me by Murdoch Veterinary Hospital. My large dog requires some major surgery and several ongoing appointments so I needed pet friendly accommodation that was also very safe & secure. This place is fantastic with enough garden for the dog to follow smells and be happy. I stayed in the master room which also has direct access to the garden. The room and house is very clean and tastefully presented yet extremely comfortable. Sarah also has plenty of menus on file for the surrounding restaurants whether it be formal, takeaway or home delivery. This B&B is in a nice quiet street, close to a good park for walking the dog, but close to many conveniences, and easy access to the city or the freeway for further excursions.

Room Tip: I don't think any room would disappoint.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahRossetti, Owner at Above Bored Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank-you so much for taking the time to review our B&B. We love pets here, and their owners. We understand that dogs who travel are loved by their owners like the third child, and we are one of the few places in Perth where you can bring them. We clean daily, so they can sleep in your room, the gardens are lovely, and there is a wonderful dog park around the corner, with friendly dogs and nice owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews