We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK but not the best...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bay of Many Coves

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bay of Many Coves
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurs Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“OK but not the best...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

Was staying there for a 2 weeks South Island road trip with a bunch of friends. Considering the price, it's OK but not the best resort that I have stayed. The rooms are bit tired when i was there. Special mention to the food and staff. And Merlot! Best resident dog! Had fun fishing for blue cod and tarakihi.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waterina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayofmanycoves, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this review, 23 December 2011
Thank you for your review, we are thrilled that you enjoyed the cuisine and service during your stay. Merlot loved playing fetch with you, thanks!
We had been planning for the last few months and have just completed a soft refurbishment of the rooms as we did realise that they were becoming tired.
Thank you for your feedback, it is appreciated and we hope to welcome you again to the new and fresh look of the Apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    39
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
226
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

We stayed here on our very last night in NZ, which in hindsight turned out great as it was the perfect place to relax and indulge. Throughout our two-week holiday, we did so many activities from kayaking and tramping, to horseback riding and canyoning and so it was awesome to have nothing planned for the day and just do nothing. The most we did was a 30-minute row boat ride to see a bird's nesting area nearby, and the rest of the time, we feasted on delicious food and enjoyed the amazing views of the idyllic cove from our balcony. We also loved playing with the dog, Merlot -- what a cutie! The photos of the room on the website are exactly as they are - so no mismanaged expectations there. It was truly a treat staying here.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millie_expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

We had been toying with staying at The Bay of Many Coves for some time, but seemed like a bit of a pain to get there .... well back the truck up, getting there was both easy and part of the fun.
The Bay of Many Coves was truly amazing.
Quiet ( did I mention the peace and quiet ), rooms are lovely, food is exceptional, staff were friendly and down to earth and the dog was a world of fun.
I want to be there right now, one of the nicest ( if not the nicest ) resorts I`ve ever stayed at.
Go there ....

Room Tip: Just grab a cab from Blenheim, less mucking around than shuttle, similar price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZAvery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

We recently had the most unforgettable 3 nights here. It is the most relaxing & picturesque hotel, with beautifully appointed rooms overlooking the bay. Pip & Nick were wonderful hosts -a very warm, helpful professional couple with a great team of staff. We ate in the restaurant each night & were so impressed by the high standard of the menues, wine list & the end product - divine food. It is in our opinion one of NZ's most beautiful lodges but with a more relaxed & friendly atmosphere. And a trip out on the Lady Karen is a must - Gordon was our skipper & host who caught & then cooked scallops for us on board. All in all it was a perfect holiday & we will certainly return next year.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 430Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayofmanycoves, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Thank you for your lovely feedback, it was so nice to finally meet you both. We very much look forward to seeing you again next year, we'll make sure Gordy is free - he enjoyed the cruise and we have passed on your thanks.

All the best for the year ahead,

Pip, Nick and the team at Bay of Many Coves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

We stayed 2 nights between 9 to 11 in October and were very kindly upgrated to a 3 bedroom unit . This is a super stylish resort and the perfect place to stay combining elegance ,luxury and excellent service in one of the most beautifull landscapes in the South Island. This is a real jem offering great hospitality with very personal touch ( especially Brook& Jacob ). The food was superb in a beatifull setting overlooking the Sound. We enjoyed a great walk on parts of Queen Charlotte treck and saw dolphins on the way with the water taxi. We hope to come back to this magical resort.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theLevins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayofmanycoves, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Thank you for your kind review, it was a pleasure having you and your family stay with us here at the resort. I hope your son has enjoyed showing his friends that great shot of the dolphins! We loved that picture. We would love to see you again in the future.

All the best,

From Brooke, Jacob and the team at Bay of Many Coves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

OK, I am going to be tough on this place. They promote themselves as 5 stars and as I had just come from Kauri Cliffs (6 stars) I feel well placed to compare...

Firstly the location is fantastic, unique and awe inspiring. The young chef is worthy of any 5 start restaurant/hotel in NZ - very impressed with the dinners.

Now what I am not impressed about was the very undistinguished and unclean rooms. We have a 2 room apartment and the lounge suite had stains, loads of dust under the beds, old washing powder under the washing machine. The cups had to be rewashed by us before use. Our bed sagged in the middle. Not 5 star in any way!

The lighting at night is v. poor and the steepness of the incline made ascending and descending a reals OH&S issue plus the gardens need work. The pool/spa was out of action too.

Also turns out the resort had a special deal for Sept/Oct which they didn't bother to tell us about and had to be brought to their attention.
The manager has an extremely relaxed attitude to his guests. He didn't make us feel welcome or go out of his way in this a - 5 star resort...

The Lady Karen boat trip and Gordon the skipper was the highlight of the trip - dolphins, sav blanc, trawled for fresh scallops (which he cooked plus scones) and skeet shooting...fantastic!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anniexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayofmanycoves, Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Thank you for your feedback Annie. We have addressed the issues with our housekeeper and we note your valid comments about the lighting and pathway to the upper level apartments.

We receive great feedback about our beds, so we are disappointed and do apologise that you did not have a comfortable nights rest.

Our landscaper is creating steps to the upper apartments at present and we are sorry that you had difficulty with the steep incline of the path. Our aim was to give you the very best view, which is why we had you placed in the beautiful upper level location. We do note however we offered to relocate you to a different room on your arrival and you declined this gesture.

The pool was covered during your stay as we open this from October onward unless otherwise arranged, but the hot tub is operational year round and was indeed on throughout your stay.

Regarding our September Special which was advertised on our website, this was a last minute deal which is a very common occurrence in business and not applicable to bookings confirmed 5 months prior. Again, we do note that we did however offer you a complimentary dinner for your party of four out of good will.

We are glad you enjoyed the cuisine here at the resort, we do pride ourselves on fine dining and we have passed your feedback onto our chefs.

Once again thank you for your feedback, we have taken it on board and do hope to see you again in the future.

From Nick, Pip & the team at Bay of Many Coves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

We used our two night stay at the Bay of Many Coves to relax and get over our jet lag, and it turned out to be ideally suited to the task!

We took the water taxi from Picton, and spotted some seals and dolphins on the way, which was a wonderful start to the break. We were welcomed by name at the pier, and from that point on the service was fantastic.

We were there in the off-season, so the cafe wasn't always open and the pool wasn't yet open. However, being one of only a handful of guests was brilliant, and we really felt that we had the place to ourselves!

The food was outstanding, and we can thoroughly recommend splashing out on the degustation menu. We also both had massages, which were just amazing.

The accommodation is superb. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The bathroom was also large and had a great shower. Light flooded into the bungalow and made it a joy to be in. The balcony was beautiful, with glorious views.

We were surrounded by native New Zealand plants and animals, and were constantly hearing and seeing new things.

We loved taking the resident rescue dog, Merlot, for a walk and spending a gorgeous evening soaking in the hot tub (minus Merlot the dog). There's plenty to do here if you want a more active break, but we wanted rest, luxury, food and a good massage - we weren't disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VJPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthurs Bay
7.8 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
8.5 mi away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
6.1 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#8 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
4.4 mi away
Punga Cove Resort
Punga Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Endeavour Inlet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
9.6 mi away
Te Mahia Bay Resort
Te Mahia Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Te Mahia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay of Many Coves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay of Many Coves

Property: Bay of Many Coves
Address: Queen Charlotte Sound | Private Bag 382, Arthurs Bay 7250, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Arthurs Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurs Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bay of Many Coves 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short water taxi ride from Picton Harbour, and within easy reach of all major New Zealand airports, you’ll find a slice of pure paradise.At Bay of Many Coves, we will make you feel right at home in the tranquil Marlborough Sounds. You’ll find a world of adventure waiting right at the end of our private jetty and in the bush-clad hills all around. Or you may simply want to relax within our luxury facilities and beautiful surroundings. So pure, so natural, so full of new experiences: at Bay of Many Coves, luxury has found a new expression. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bay of Many Coves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Of Many Coves Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing