We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
Review of Bay of Many Coves

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay of Many Coves
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurs Bay
Reviewed 29 January 2012

The Bay of Many Coves Resort is possibly one of the most tranquil places I have ever stayed. I love the fact it's only accessible by boat, which makes it feel very special, as if you are really "getting away from it all". There isn't a whole lot to do when you're there, but that's kind of the point!

The food in the resort's restaurant is spectacular, but on the pricey side. A minor gripe but read on for another option.

The rooms are well furnished and decorated, with stunning views across the bays. The sunsets are awesome. They come with fully equipped kitchenettes, something we were not told by our travel agent unfortunately. Once you are on the resort, you no longer have access to shops so our top tip would be to buy some basic provisions in Picton before getting on your water taxi to the resort. This way you can have some light snacks available for brunch or for the afternoon. If money's no object by all means eat in the restaurant three times a day, but it is nice to have the option.

The pool and hot tub are very pleasant and a great place to unwind. You just can't stop taking in those views. If you feel the need to walk off breakfast, try the Queen Charlotte Track - you feel like you're on top of the world looking out over one of the most beautiful places you have ever seen.

Finally the service - very good. From the moment you arrive, your bags are carried from the jetty, and the staff really make a fuss over you. They always acknowledge you and ask how you're enjoying your stay. It all felt very professional if not necessarily all that personal.

All in all, a very special place - expensive but worth every penny.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2012

The sheer beauty of the Marlborough Sounds is probably enough to make this luxurious sanctuary a perfect place to visit, but the owners and staff at Bay of Many Coves resort makes sure there is no stone left unturned to make sure your stay is everything you could want.
Whether you were after a romantic sanctuary to just share each others company and soak up the beauty, or if you wanted to get out amongst the surrounding bush and spectacular views or out on a boat fishing, Pippa and her staff make sure you get the best advice, service and provisions.
The accommodation was very well appointed and from taking care of the laundry you tried to get done or bringing your hot drinks after a big days hiking to your room, nothing is too much trouble.
The amenities are slightly limited by the location with the pool and spa being tucked away but the access to everything the Marlborough Sounds has to offer more than makes up for this.
The restaurant has a stunning view of the evening light on the water and with the extended twilight of summer there is no rush to get down to the restaurant to enjoy it. The food was superbly presented and prepared and whatever the time of day or request, nothing was too much trouble.
Access to the QUeen Charlotte track is challenging by foot so dont make this a stopover destination on your hiking trip but boat access to points on the track is easy if you need a place to relax before or after your hike.
This is a beautiful get away spot but the efforts to make your stay everything you want it to be but the owners and staff really make it a perfect location if the Marlborough Sounds is your destination.

Room Tip: Proximity to the "lodge" makes it easier to come back and forth as you please.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orthodocnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Stayed four nights with the family, upgraded to a 3 bedroom apartment on arrival. Per arrival administration was professional and prompt responses were always received. Found the team here extremely helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. It is a beautiful spot with a range of activities if you are so inclined. We focused on the many walks around the resort and some kayaking to fill the days between sitting on the balcony eating or drinking,soaking up the wonderful view. Rooms are well appointed and in good condition and have everything that you need. Cell phone coverage is very scratchy but wifi is adequate to allow you to keep in touch via email etc if you need to. Overall a very relaxing few days, well worth the effort to reach the resort. Will definitely come back one day and certainly recommend it to anyone who listens.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Razored61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Our daughter had attended a wedding here last year, and recommended it to her aging but active parents as the perfect spot for all the things we like- kayaking, walking, photography, indulgence in good food and wine, hot tubs, lazing and even massages.
It certainly lived up to all our expectations.
The location is spectacular, wonderful views to be enjoyed from every part of the resort, and even better when you climb to the lookout, visit Motuara island bird sanctuary,or walk a section of the Queen Charlotte track ( after a ferry ride ). The walk up out of the resort, especially if you continue past the lookout to the QCT is certainly enough to justify a hearty meal at night! Kayaks are available for guest use, and exploring the many coves before breakfast when the water is glassy was most enjoyable. Soaking in the hot tub (again with those views) after returning from our expeditions was heaven, and seemed to prevent muscle aches and pains the next day.
The accommodation was delightful - spacious, well equipped, light and airy. Bed and bedding superbly comfortable. Nice to have a cable connected to the sound system for audio input from our laptop. Spacious lounge area for relaxation.
Wonderful staff, led by Pip and Nick, who are helpful and on hand whenever you need anything, or have questions. The restaurant is wonderful, and four nights there saw us working through the menu, with every dish a success. Breakfast and lunch were provided in a relaxed lounge area, and on the days when we were out walking over lunchtime, an excellent picnic lunch came with us. There are also good cooking facilities in the rooms, which we used to cook up some food we brought in with us.
A bit of excitement when the wind blew up on the day we left - the ferry was delayed, and then the trip took over three times as long as usual, in very rough conditions. It is quite remote, so be sure to allow plenty of time to make ongoing travel connections out of Picton.
My only disappointment was not seeing any dolphins, so perhaps we need to come back!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgsSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayofmanycoves, Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2012

There is a huge pod of dolphins playing off the resort jetty as I write and thinking of you guys. Thank you for your feedback, we are thrilled that your stay was memorable, we look forward to welcoming you back,,..... Nick, Pip and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I recently returned to Bay of Many Coves with clients and I was really impressed with what I saw. The new managers, Pip and Nick, are fantastic people and they have got a great little team at the resort. I liked the new layout with the addition of the cafe at the waters edge and the seperate cafe for house guests only. I would recommend this place to anyone wanting a stunning location to go and escape to. The resort is close to many great attractions that can be accessed by water, like the Queen Chalotte Walkway and Motuatra Island. At the resort itself it is more about relaxation and soaking up the atmosphere. There aren't as many activities onsite so it could be challenging entertaining kids over a long stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great as they all get an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liamtaylor_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

If you are anywhere near this place you MUST stay. Everything about it was superb. The service was world-class and friendly like only kiwi hospitality can be. The rooms were extraordinary and well serviced quickly. The chef may be one of NZ's finest food artists with no pretentions....just incredibly, insanely, amazingly great food. The views are incredible and you will find yourself wanting to stay longer and return often....I will.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KiwiBeechBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

The bay of many coves resort is utter bliss. The staff are pleasant and friendly. The rooms are divine and well furnished with everything you need. The food at the restaurant is delicious and it is a great way to relax. And Merlot the mutt is a delight! There are walks to do, kayaks to use, and you can take day trips on the water taxis.
A few things to take note. The walk to the lookout is not for those that like gentle strolls, so watch out for that. There is a walk to see glowworms at night which is great - the resort has little torches in the rooms for you to use - although i think they should leave two in each room.
The only other criticism i have and it is very very minor, is that the area below the staff cottage is a bit of a mess rubbish wise, but otherwise a pleasure to stay there!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank azzawebbnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthurs Bay
24.4 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
654 reviews
8.5 mi away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
7.8 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
4.4 mi away
Punga Cove Resort
Punga Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Endeavour Inlet
342 reviews
23 mi away
The Marlborough Lodge
The Marlborough Lodge
#13 of 32 in Blenheim
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay of Many Coves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay of Many Coves

Address: Queen Charlotte Sound | Private Bag 382, Arthurs Bay 7250, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Arthurs Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurs Bay
Price Range: £431 - £1,069 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bay of Many Coves 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short water taxi ride from Picton Harbour, and within easy reach of all major New Zealand airports, you’ll find a slice of pure paradise.At Bay of Many Coves, we will make you feel right at home in the tranquil Marlborough Sounds. You’ll find a world of adventure waiting right at the end of our private jetty and in the bush-clad hills all around. Or you may simply want to relax within our luxury facilities and beautiful surroundings. So pure, so natural, so full of new experiences: at Bay of Many Coves, luxury has found a new expression. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bay of Many Coves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Of Many Coves Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing