We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning location, food and service!!”
Review of Bay of Many Coves

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bay of Many Coves
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurs Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning location, food and service!!”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed here on our honeymoon in June/July. This seemed to be off season for the region so it was quite quiet. As result we had absolutely fantastic and such personal service.
The room we had was lovely - overlooking the water. Food was fantastic. Fantastic choice of wine and the waiter spent quite some time with us over trying various types - literally it was like going on one of the Marlborough wine tours! In fact i think we learnt more about NZ wines staying here than on our day touring the region. There was also a lovely outdoor hottub that we were lucky enough to have to ourselves each night before dinner.
The management (a couple who lived on a boat by the hotel) were so welcoming and kind. We went on a walk one day and got quite muddy and Pippa (one of the managers) even had our boots cleaned for us when we got back. This hotel is on a stunning location and I hope that we will be able to return one day to to same welcome as we did on this trip. Thanks to all the staff for such a memorable stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamazical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayofmanycoves, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us as part of your honeymoon just over a year ago. We are extremely pleased that it was a memorable stay and that you felt well looked after. Even though it was a quiet time of year when you visited we are fortunate that even when the busy summer season is upon us we are still small and boutique enough to take personal care of all our (maximum 34) guests. We are really looking forward to welcoming you back to the resort for a special anniversary in the not too distant future. Remember we reward our return guests with a discount so let us know ahead of time and we will be able to spoil you again in the Marlborough Sounds!
From Pip Goodhew and the team at the Bay of Many Coves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    39
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
228
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Picton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I had the good fortune of attending an evening put on by the Bay of Many Coves Resort last Saturday. It was a 'Tattinger' full degustation dinner accompanied by an evening of great laid back Jazz. by 'Club Sandwich'.
The meal was absolutely the best that I have tasted, the staff were brilliant and could not have run things better.
I have eaten here before on several occasions and each time the standard of the food and service is second to none.
Top marks guys, you are a credit to tourism!!

Room Tip: THey are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayofmanycoves, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your dining experience with us late April during our special Jazz Weekend in Association with Taittinger. Our Chefs and Sommelier love the process of matching the food flavours and the wines and we are glad that you enjoyed it, along with the great sounds. We are looking forward to a full-house again at the end of August for our second Jazz Weekend for the year, this time with Fran Barton & Kevin Clark. It will be another great night. We look forward to your continued patronage and thank you again for taking the time to review the Foredeck Restaurant at the Bay of Many Coves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
172 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the BOMC for two nights, where the theme was jazz music. Appropriately, the three piece band was playing on the jetty when we arrived, and when we left, and again during the two evening meals.

This is a superbly tranquil spot, where we slept with both the curtains and the windows open to ensure the sound of gentle waves on the beach lulled us to sleep, and birdsong woke us in the morning.

There is no road access, which is great, and transport from Picton by boat is fast and comfortable.

It's difficult to articulate how much we enjoyed this place without gushing. Suffice to say, we have already booked to return in August.

The food is sensational and the service is perfect. Two things stick out - staff know you by name and address you by name. Sure beats being called sir and madam. Secondly, I had brought several shirts which required cuff links but had left mine at home. The manager readily offered me the use if his - a family heirloom for which I was eternally grateful.

The resort facilities are appropriate to the venue and readily available. We've come away feeling very relaxed and rejuvenated.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank BruceFarquhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayofmanycoves, Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Thank you, Bruce, for your positive feedback on your stay with us during the Jazz Weekend late April. We are passionate about the experience we offer to our domestic and international guests year-around at the Bay of Many Coves and we were thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us. We are really looking forward to welcoming Kathy & yourself back to the resort at the end of next month, for some more R&R. On behalf of the team, best regards
Pip Goodhew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We stayed for 2 nights prior to walking the 71km Queen Charlotte Track. What a great find! Set in an absolutely stunning location in the Marlborough Sounds the resort is reached by a water taxi ride from Picton. The complex has been built to give everyone views of the bay whether you are sitting in your room, on your deck or dining in the restaurant or cafe. Our one bedroom apartment was beautifully appointed and very comfortable. The staff are exceptional - they are professional, friendly and very helpful. If you enjoy good food then this is the place to be. The chefs created the most beautiful food and after having the degustation menu would say it is a "must do"! The cooked breakfasts were lovely and the fresh juice combinations very memorable. We would highly recommend Bay of Many Coves Resort whether you want to just relax, kayak, hike or get out and about in the Sounds via the frequent water taxis.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeaPodAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayofmanycoves, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Thank you for the kind feedback. We hope you enjoyed your days on the QC track when you departed the resort, we were impressed to see you were carrying your packs with you, what an effort - well done! The chefs are glad you enjoyed the cuisine during your stay , the degustation is a wonderful treat for the senses.
All the best for your next wilderness adventure, it was our pleasure to host you both.
Regards
Brooke and the team at BOMC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston bean
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Wonderful setting! Must take a boat to this hotel set on an island north of Picton. All inclusive setting wth beautiful views. Kayaking and hiking are the main activties. Don't be surprised by a pod of Orcas while kayaking to a secluded beach!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayofmanycoves, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed the sense of adventure here at the Bay of Many Coves resort. We are indeed accessed only by boat, helicopter or floatplane - however we are part of the mainland but the roads do not stretch this far out the Queen Charlotte Sound which makes you feel like you are heading out to an island.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.
Kind regards
The team at BOMC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timaru
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Excellent facilities and management and staff. From our welcome when we arrived we were impressed with the thoughtfulness of all involved. Would recommend the resort highly to others. It was a weekend to remember and many happy memories will remain. Gorgeous scenery to match the comfortable one bedroom apartment.

Room Tip: All have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryTimaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayofmanycoves, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
What a special way to celebrate 40 years, we loved the opportunity to welcome you back and we are so pleased to hear that you had a great weekend with many happy memories.
Thanks so much,

Pip and the BOMC team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Found by accident while out cruising the Marlborough Sounds on a friends yacht and will be coming back to this extremely stunning resort with accommodation and restaurant. A real 5 star location - which can only be reached by boat, helicopter or sea plane - we live in the area and did not know it was here but we will certainly be back to indulge.

Room Tip: Did not stay on this trip - but will be back to try the rooms soon and will report back then.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brynkoru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayofmanycoves, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you for your review, fabulous to hear we have you hooked and look forward to seeing you back again soon!
From the team at BOMC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthurs Bay
7.8 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
8.5 mi away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
6.1 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#8 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
4.4 mi away
Punga Cove Resort
Punga Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Endeavour Inlet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
9.6 mi away
Te Mahia Bay Resort
Te Mahia Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Te Mahia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay of Many Coves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay of Many Coves

Property: Bay of Many Coves
Address: Queen Charlotte Sound | Private Bag 382, Arthurs Bay 7250, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Arthurs Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurs Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bay of Many Coves 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short water taxi ride from Picton Harbour, and within easy reach of all major New Zealand airports, you’ll find a slice of pure paradise.At Bay of Many Coves, we will make you feel right at home in the tranquil Marlborough Sounds. You’ll find a world of adventure waiting right at the end of our private jetty and in the bush-clad hills all around. Or you may simply want to relax within our luxury facilities and beautiful surroundings. So pure, so natural, so full of new experiences: at Bay of Many Coves, luxury has found a new expression. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bay of Many Coves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Of Many Coves Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing