We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely and calm place..”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bay of Many Coves

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bay of Many Coves
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurs Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A lovely and calm place..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

This resort is a very lovely and calm place. The room was well prepared with fresh fruits and cold white wine. Everything was very clean. The staff was very discrete and friendly. The food in the restaurant was delicious. A real paradise...but we hat bad weather with rain, so we couldn't explore all the tracks... and we didn't find the glow worm caves... ;-)

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DanielKneubuehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayofmanycoves, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
Thank you, Daniel, for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay at the Bay, it is pleasing to hear that - despite the poor weather - you enjoyed the meals, the apartment and our 'little piece of paradise' - we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for our usually fine weather (the top of the South Island experiences the most sunshine hours in New Zealand) so hopefully next time .....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    39
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
225
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would certainly recommend it to travelers who are both adventurous and in search of some quiet. The rooms are gorgeous and romantic, and the views are unparalleled. The staff are wonderfully friendly and the managers are fabulous and fun.

Our only caution is that if you wish to leave the resort, it can be costly. Cougarline Water Taxis run a fabulous and courteous business, but they're not cheap; so you end up isolated at the hotel for meals and activities unless you're willing to pay much more for day outings in South Island. One last caveat is that while the food at the Resort is absolutely fantastic, you can end up waiting close to an hour to get it (during high season). But overall, if you'd like to retreat and relax-- perhaps take a hike or go kayaking-- this resort is one of the most beautiful places you could possibly go.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaisySRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayofmanycoves, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
Thank you, DaisySRose, for the review of your recent stay with us at the Bay of Many Coves. Indeed a perfect location for R&R, or a little action! We apologise for the wait in the dining room, this is something we are addressing with the Chefs, who are passionate about the fine, fresh food they create - we really appreciate your comment.
Indeed the watertaxis can add up so it is good to enjoy the resort and it's environs for the time you are here, (although a 'same day return' ticket if you wanted to head back into town and see the wineries or go dolphin swimming is just $63pp). We are very glad you have good memories of your 'secluded getaway' in the Queen Charlotte Sound.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

WOW!!!! We had the opportunity to stay at this amazing resort for two nights and we could not fault anything from the time we arrived at the jetty to the time we left the jetty. The rooms are very well appointed, private, and offer amazing views of the cove. Although there were other guests we felt like the only ones staying at the resort. The only time we saw any other guests was at breakfast and lunch. The staff were very discreet, we never saw the house maid once, but know someone had been in our rooms to tidy and top up supplies. I could go on and on. If you get the opportunity, or want a quiet get away, go to the Bay of Many Coves.

Room Tip: Any room is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blondie101959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayofmanycoves, Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
We think the Bay of Many Coves is a unique and very special place in a spectacular location and it was heartening to read your review and know that it was also a great place for you. We hope to welcome you back to our little piece of paradise and thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

We arrived here via the sea taxi from Picton having sailed across from Wellington in the morning. That ferry journey and the subsequent sea taxi journey is spectacular and introduces the visitor to a wonderful part of the world. When we arrived at the resort we found we were the only people there for the three days we were there. I have to say this didn't bother us at all. Our welcome was extremely friendly (the people in this wonderful country add to it's attraction!) and the room luxurious, spacious, comfortable and with great views. We did some walks in the woods and my wife swam in the sea (with wet suit!) which were all lovely. The food from breakfast through to dinner was FANTASTIC. We have eaten dinners at signature restaurants (Gordon Ramsey, Gary Rhodes, Alain Ducasse, Rick Stein etc) but this was the best - outstanding. We had a great holiday in New Zealand and this was another outstanding place in a magnificent country.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayofmanycoves, Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
We are extremely pleased that your stay at the Bay of Many Coves was an enjoyable one and stood out as a memorable experience during your visit to New Zealand. We have passed on your feedback to our Kitchen team who are passionate about what they do and were also thrilled that you had a positive dining experience with us. We appreciate the time taken to share your views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Bay of Many Coves Resort, and are very glad to have found this gem of a place. The staff were fantastic, providing service that was warm, friendly and personable yet unobtrusive. Our apartment was very comfortable, equipped with everything one would need, and provided a haven of solitude with spectacular views. There are beautiful vistas from every part of the Resort, and the walks took us to some great vantage points. It was a real pleasure to watch the changing water views and sea birds from our deck, as well as from the cafe and restaurant. To top it all off, the food was fabulous and we enjoyed all our meals there. We look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CocoPops09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayofmanycoves, Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Your thoughts on our staff, location, vistas and facilities are greatly received and we are of course very please that your stay was indeed 'a great experience.' The nature on the doorstep in this wee haven is just fantastic and we are glad you appreciated it, along with the dining services. Remember this little gem for a return trip and thanks again for the fine words, on behalf of all our team at the Bay of Many Coves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton,NZ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

This is a magical place in an idyllic setting in Marlborough Sounds. The sounds of the surf, birds, and dolphin breath are all one can hear as you look out onto this gorgepous cove from your 6 star balcony. Hosts Nick and Pip and their All-Star staff make your stay most memorable. They are present when needed and "disappear" when not. The restaurant is "top shelf big city" with a well rounded wine selection. Many activities to select from. We went on the Luxury Package, which was a fantastic value. We had a private cruise on the Lady Karen, a 43 foot boat by Captain Gordy that took us around the many coves and bays and complete with scallop collecting, hand-made scones for morning tea (along with the fresh scallops!) and wonderful narrative. A must-do in the Sounds and for any trip to New zealand. It would be the special place for any celebration.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathryn_freyfogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayofmanycoves, Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
We loved reading your review of our little piece of paradise, we were so glad that your stay was special, memorable and a little bit of luxury during your time in the Marlborough Sounds. We are so fortunate to have Captain Gordon and the Lady Karen as a compliment to the Bay of Many Coves and happy that you had the opportunity to experience this excursion as part of the Luxury Escape Package. Thank you for sharing your feedback with such optimism, we hope to see you back one day and thanks again for spreading the word ....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

Absolutely stunning arrival via water taxi to this remote yet classy resort. We booked in for massage shortly after our arrival and it was truly the best swedish massage I've had in years. After a lovely dinner and a very comfortable sleep, we had breakfast overlooking the pier and took a very steep but picturesque hike up towards the lookout with the resident pooch. On our return back to our 1-bedroom villa, the front office rang to tell us that there were dolphins in the bay so we grabbed the binoculars and headed out on our deck to view. That evening, we were invited down to the waterfront bar to enjoy 2 different Marlborough Sauvignon Blancs and appetisers with the owners and the other guests. Bay of Many Coves does everything right!! Unobtrusive yet attentive service, great ambiance and excellent amenities!! We will be back!

Room Tip: All rooms have beautiful water views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank singaporestace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayofmanycoves, Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments on your stay with us at the Bay of Many Coves - we are thrilled to hear what a positive experience it was for you and it sounds like you made the most of your time here from steep hikes with the mutt 'Merlot' to some R&R in the Day Spa with Richelle.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you or your friends back to the Queen Charlotte Sound in the future, and thanks again for taking the time to provide a great review. We do appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthurs Bay
7.8 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
8.5 mi away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
6.1 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#7 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
4.4 mi away
Punga Cove Resort
Punga Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Endeavour Inlet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
9.6 mi away
Te Mahia Bay Resort
Te Mahia Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Te Mahia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay of Many Coves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay of Many Coves

Property: Bay of Many Coves
Address: Queen Charlotte Sound | Private Bag 382, Arthurs Bay 7250, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Arthurs Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurs Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bay of Many Coves 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short water taxi ride from Picton Harbour, and within easy reach of all major New Zealand airports, you’ll find a slice of pure paradise.At Bay of Many Coves, we will make you feel right at home in the tranquil Marlborough Sounds. You’ll find a world of adventure waiting right at the end of our private jetty and in the bush-clad hills all around. Or you may simply want to relax within our luxury facilities and beautiful surroundings. So pure, so natural, so full of new experiences: at Bay of Many Coves, luxury has found a new expression. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bay of Many Coves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Of Many Coves Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing