We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolute gem - peace, traquility and a resident dog/guide” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay of Many Coves

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Bay of Many Coves
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurs Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“An absolute gem - peace, traquility and a resident dog/guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

I was between jobs and had a few days before starting the new one. Was looking for a new part of New Zealand to explore and came across this resort. And what a find it is. Nestled in the bays and hills at the top of the South Island it is a true retreat. In fact I debated whether to write this review as I do not want the resort to become too popular!

First impressions count and when our seaplane was not there to meet us at Auckland Airport a quick call to our travel agent who then spoke to the hotel had all of our travel arrangements re-done and charged on to our room. This included a small flight and the water taxi transfer. A great start after being let down by another transport provider.

We were met at the jetty by Nick and Pip and bags were taken off us and up to the room. Ours was a two bedroom (we only needed one) at the top of the resort which afforded privacy and stunning views.

The room is essentially a wooden chalet which fits into the surrounding landscape. Furnishings are quite comfortable but not overly luxurious. Great to be able to open the wide door onto the balcony and enjoy some of the freshest air in the world. There is also a dining table and kitchenette if you wish to self cater - we did not but gorged ourselves in the restaurant! I know it is about enjoying the scenery but the television is quite small and oddly located if you do decide to watch a DVD of which there are a number available.

Bedroom was a nice and a good size, also with windows that opened widely. Good quality linens really finished it off nicely. Bathroom was also a good size with decent ventilation. Local NZ toiletries seemed of good quality too.

First night we dined a la carte in the restaurant and had a great feast with lovely wines from a decent cellar. We were also impressed with the range of champagne available - one of our weaknesses. A hint, if you want the degustation this has top be organised 24 hours in advance. We did this for our second night. A nice touch was that one of the team (our waiter whose name I have now forgotten) took us for a walk after dinner to see the glow worms - very much worth it, even after a few wines!!

Great also to experience the breakfast which was extensive (and for us included). Nothing was too much trouble, including the fact we were running a bit late. In fact, we were being pushed to try everything on the menu!! I recommend trying the dumplings!!

There are also a number of walks around the resort which are generally well marked. IF there is any doubt then I recommend that you take Merlot, the resident guide dog, with you. He is always eager for a walk, knows the way and will look out for you after he has darted on ahead. This was definately the case when we took the second path, also known as the path less travelled (!!), and Merlot was very helpful and encouraging. Best part for me was that he cam and raced down to the boat when we were leaving so he could say goodbye!

I should also thank Pip for cleaning our boots whilst we were at dinner - a very kind and warm touch and appreciated.

Second night was our degustation and I would highly recommend this. The beauty of this is that it will change all the time depending on what ingredients the chef has and of course seasonality.

We also had room service on our last night and enjoyed some delicious burgers washed down with a red wine.

I could not more strongly recommend this resort. It offers a relaxation in a beautiful setting with wonderful hosts and dining.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wockinwod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayofmanycoves, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for your recent review, very extensive and we are thrilled that overall it was a memorable experience - a 'gem' as you say, funnily enough the Lodge at the Bay of Many Coves was in it's previous life called the 'Gem Resort'!
Sadly the floatplane let you down (he now has a new plane and is operating more reliably - perhaps for your next visit!), we were glad we could assist with getting you in on Sounds Air from Wellington. The two bedroom apartment is a nice upgrade so you can spread out and get more of that extra fresh air.
The Kitchen team are grateful for the feedback on the food and the Degustation dinner is available nightly all summer (only in quieter times do we request a day's notice). It is popular and a special meal, changing seasonally as you mention. Our natural NZ Bathroom products are made by 'Evolu.'
We are glad the wild-life, as in Merlot plus the Glow-worms, featured in your Bay of Many Coves experience. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    38
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
218
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Resort. You have to catch a water taxi from Picton to the resort as there is no access by road, and this makes for a tranquil back to nature stay.

We arrived on sunny Friday. It was enjoyable to sit on the balcony of the accommodation and take pictures of the Coves/scenery, watch the birdlife and read a book. Saturday morning was almost a mini cyclone with very heavy rain and wind. Staying indoors was nice anyway and the inclement weather certainly didnt detract from the resort.

The restaurant meals were delicious. Nightly specials as well as dishes available on the menu. Staff are more than obliging.

If you are looking for a relaxing getaway, this surely fits the bill. You will come back from your holiday refreshed and relaxed. We stayed 2 nights but didnt want to leave.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Verity L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayofmanycoves, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for the lovely comments and your thoughts on your recent relaxing getaway at the Bay. Yes the 'summer' weather has ensured some 'compulsory' relaxation days for guests! Not a bad place to be 'stuck'; in inclement weather however. Luckily now it is gorgeously summery. The Kitchen team are very happy that your enjoyed their cuisine. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Bay of Many Coves in the future - and for a little longer next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

We spent a few hours at Bay of Many Coves as part of the Cougarline "Sounds Spectacular" cruise (which included lunch in the Bight Cafe and a 1-hour spa treatment. It's in a beautiful area, which I suspect would have been much prettier if it hadn't been raining. Can't comment on the rooms as we didn't stay overnight, but they looked great from the outside and would certainly have great views, given that they're all in the side of a hill, looking out to the Sounds.
Cons: LOTS of stairs, which was hard for very unfit people like us (and probably anyone who has problems with mobility); staff did not stay around in the cafe, which made it a bit hard to get their attention when you wanted something.
Pros: Food was great and filling, and we weren't charged for the extra drinks, which was a pleasant surprise; massage was EXCELLENT with a capital E, the best thing about the trip. The masseuse sure knows her stuff, and introduced me to hot stones, which is something I think I need regularly from now on!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateBarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bomcresort, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we were disappointed that you felt lonely at our Cafe, normally on a fine day it is buzzing and the staff did try and pop down regularly to see if you required anything
We are glad the massages and meals were top-notch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We had the most beautiful weekend at Bay of many coves in the Marlborough sounds. We had abit of a noisy night at the restaurant the first night as there were a group of english travel agents experiencing first hand the resort but the staff were very accomodating and offered for us to have room service. We declined and were entertained by the loud english antics. Food was superb. Amy was our hostess and we couldn't fault the service. We went kayaking and lounged by the pool. If you are looking for a quiet relaxing weekend this is a great venue. You can take your own food as the apartments have kitchens but the breakfast was so big we didn't need lunch and there is a less expensive Cafe were local s can visit by boat which adds some interest too. Hopefully we will be back to visit in the not too distant future. Forgot we had a massage each in the spa and the therapist was great.

Room Tip: Don't stay by the pool as it could be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andreat851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bomcresort, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your weekend escape to the Bay of Many Coves. On behalf of the rowdy English Travel Agents on a famil that first night, please accept our apologies, a group of 13 is large in our intimate dining room of course, and it is a very rare occurance! We are thrilled that the overall experience was a positive one and especially the day spa, relaxing by the pool and the service of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Queen Charlotte Sound at some stage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Unique location in one of New Zealand's most beautiful areas, set in a small bay with boat access only. The accommodation is very good quality and as in other reviews we experienced outstanding service and fantastic food. Stayed two nights and should have stayed five. Highly recommended

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brien C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bomcresort, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay at Bay of Many Coves. We are extremely glad that you enjoyed your time with us and received good service. We agree that our location is unique in the Queen Charlotte Sound - the 'no road access' is perfect for a retreat into nature and with the lodgings around the hillside making for stunning views of the Bay.
We hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We expected the location and the facilities to be fantastic; and they did not disappoint. What really made the Bay of Many Coves stand out for us was the fantastic service we had from all of the people there. Amy was extremely helpful in helping us to plan our itinerary before and after we arrived, and when we met her she was delightful. Nick and Pip were great hosts; everything was taken care of in an extremely discrete way; we were spoiled without ever being made to feel that somebody was doing us a favour. There was nothing pretentious or overstated about the Bay of Many Coves, it really was just lovely. Food was great, especially the beef and lamb, and the apartment was fabulous. We will certainly visit again if we are lucky enough to have the opportunity.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleF325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayofmanycoves, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
The team at the Bay of Many Coves are humbled and thank you for your kind words. We strive to run a very professional and high standard operation and yet with a relaxed and personable environment so hopefully we achieved that for you. If you are back in the region hiking again, or want to relax in the day spa or by the pool, you know where we are now, thank you both for taking the time to share the views on your recent stay in the Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadcaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

This accommodation was suggested by our travel agent. She couldn't have suggested anything better. We had a relaxing time, with the most perfect view. The food was excellent and the staff, who work long hours, were exceptionally helpful and flexible on every occasion. Totally courteous and attentive, we absolutely loved it. We were lucky with the extra 'Wow' factor in that a school of dolphins passed through the bay on our 2nd afternoon and we were taken out in the resort launch to get up close to them. Would certainly go back given the chance, thank you Pip and Nick.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayofmanycoves, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
We are thankful to Audley Travel for suggesting the Bay of Many Coves as part of your itinerary in New Zealand, and we are extremely grateful for the positive comments of your stay with us. We love to ensure the guest stay is an enjoyable one, when you travel so far across the world then it should be a warm welcome and full of great memories, of course the dolphins are always an added bonus, we never tire of seeing them playing in the bay. On behalf of the lodge team, thank you and we are so pleased that your visit to the Queen Charlotte Sound was a great one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthurs Bay
7.9 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
6.1 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
8.5 mi away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#8 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
4.4 mi away
Punga Cove Resort
Punga Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Endeavour Inlet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
9.6 mi away
Te Mahia Bay Resort
Te Mahia Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Te Mahia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay of Many Coves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay of Many Coves

Property: Bay of Many Coves
Address: Queen Charlotte Sound | Private Bag 382, Arthurs Bay 7250, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Arthurs Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurs Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bay of Many Coves 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short water taxi ride from Picton Harbour, and within easy reach of all major New Zealand airports, you’ll find a slice of pure paradise.At Bay of Many Coves, we will make you feel right at home in the tranquil Marlborough Sounds. You’ll find a world of adventure waiting right at the end of our private jetty and in the bush-clad hills all around. Or you may simply want to relax within our luxury facilities and beautiful surroundings. So pure, so natural, so full of new experiences: at Bay of Many Coves, luxury has found a new expression. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Bay of Many Coves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Of Many Coves Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing