We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil, perfect and beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bay of Many Coves

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bay of Many Coves
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurs Bay
Certificate of Excellence
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Tranquil, perfect and beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

The BOMC is located in the most tranquil setting and in in the most beautiful scenery. Access to the resort is by boat so one has the feeling of total peace and solitude. Everything is perfect and the BOMC is ideal for a relaxing break. The hosts Pip and Nick make you feel so welcome and nothing is too much trouble for them to ensure that you have all that you need. I cannot say any more other than go and try it for yourself.

Room Tip: All rooms (lodges) overlook Queen Charlotte Sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJC953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayofmanycoves, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
What a lovely review, with many thanks. Indeed tranquility and beauty are regularly uttered by guests. We love sharing 'our office' - this little peaceful part of New Zealand where many guests enjoy a break from the road; relaxing &/or exploring the Sounds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    39
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
226
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Bay of Many coves is absolutely superb. Top quality all around, and the units seem to hang out over the bay. The management team was very eager to help us at every turn and even equipped us with a last minute trail lunch for a walk on the Queen Charlotte Track.
We would highly recommend this fantastic resort!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayofmanycoves, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
We are glad you found us as a base to explore this beautiful region and hike a section of the Queen Charlotte Track. Last minute packed lunches are no problem, we love to be spontaneous and anticipate guest needs. Thank you for your positive comments on the apartments, the lodge in general and the welcoming team at the Bay. We appreciate your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

WOW, what more can we say. We stayed here for two nights on 20th and 21st Feb with the celebration package. The location is truly spectacular, we loved looking out over the sounds every morning. The food would have to be some of the best food we have ever eaten, the degustation dinner with wine matching was amazing!!! The service by the team here was top notch, they couldn't do enough for you. The highlight of our honeymoon!
Thank you very much, we hope to be back sometime soon!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveRabj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayofmanycoves, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback and we are especially pleased that your culinary experience was so outstanding, the Chefs are very passionate and they are thrilled that you enjoyed the Degustation and matching wines. A special honeymoon destination indeed, and we hope to have the opportunity to help you celebrate a future anniversary. We love it that you found our special place a real WOW,. thank you from the team at the Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Easily one of the best places in New Zealand. Exquisite rooms, unparalleled location, impeccable service, fabulous outstanding food. A great place from where we started our honeymoon! Very helpful with arranging for vegetarian food!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaurav M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayofmanycoves, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
धन्यवाद
Thank you for sharing your appreciation of your recent stay with us at the Bay of Many Coves. We are so happy that your honeymoon started off so well in NZ and that our creative team of Chefs were able to help with your dietary requests.
If there is an opportunity to return to Marlborough, we would be honoured to welcome you back for perhaps, an anniversary. Congratulations on your marriage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manukau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We took a 3 day celebration package for our honeymoon and were not disappointed in any way. The service was simply outstanding and the staff could not do enough for you. They went above and beyond on a number of occasions and any small issues (and they were small) were dealt with promptly and professionally. The staff were all very personable and happy to have a laugh instead of being stiff which you can find at other 5 star places.
The food was outstanding and we enjoyed a degustation dinner one night and a 3 course meal another which were included in the package. The inhouse snacks and drinks were not overpriced and the chocolates and bottle of Tattinger on arrival were scrummy.
Our room was spotless and we had all we needed in the room.
The view from the room was amazing and the entire complex was well laid out for the land they had available. Great to have the kayak, paddle boards and row boat available and it was lovely to kayak with a seal who played around us.
Overall outstanding with excellent service in outstanding surroundings.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayofmanycoves, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
We are grateful that your honeymoon at the Bay of Many Coves did not disappoint. The Staff enjoy the professional and yet relaxed 'kiwi' style of service at the Bay and we are glad you appreciated the stunning natural environment that the Lodge is blessed to be in.
We certainly hope to welcome you back for a Wedding Anniversary in the future - it sounds like the Celebration Package bears repeating in a year or three!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

First of all the location is amazing and the hotel is mostly really good. However a few small things could be better. The room cleaning was not good flies,crumbs and smears left.It can be noisy as conversation floats up the hill you can literally hear every word spoken. Balconies are separated only by a triangle of fabric and so are not private at all. The food is mostly great however starter of goat cheese,asparagus and strawberry was odd as it contained a large amount of broccoli and no asparagus. Breakfast was extremely slow waited 45 mins to be served. We were asked to come to dinner either earlier or later than our requested time which I did not mind except that the restaurant was then empty and did not get busy until very much later.in the room there us no mirror near a socket so you cannot dry your hair properly The general manager was excellent friendly and helpful. After our walk met us with cold drinks. Overall this was a good experience some of these niggles can be easily resolved others are more difficult because the rooms are too close together and so the noise problem cannot be overcome . Finally they should get rid of the Musak it is irritating and detracts from the peaceful setting

Room Tip: All rooms suffer from being badly overheard especially if windows are open
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthcarnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayofmanycoves, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
The time taken to detail your stay is very much appreciated, we always hope for the opportunity to improve. We are glad that overall you enjoyed the stunning location, and we apologise sincerely for the 'niggles' that you encountered. The dinner timing are a daily issue, we try to stagger the reservations however people do tend to come at their own time as opposed to the said reservation time. There is indeed no excuse for housekeeping leaving crumbs and smears, apologies, however we do have automatic bug sprays that can cause the odd dead insect after room servicing.
The a la carte breakfast should not take 45 minutes, again we are sorry you had a wait, we do have an extensive menu and all cooked fresh so occasionally the Chef does get a back log if guests come around the same time (despite breakfast being from 8 right through until 11am, it can get congested around the mid -morning time).
The Bay is a real amphitheatre and sound can travel so differently across the water and around the hills, I think it is exacerbated by the peace which makes voices and other noises seem louder. We are sorry you didn't sense the serenity we usually experience.
We note your comment about the music.
Thank you again and perhaps we will have an chance in the future to welcome you back for a more perfect stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights as part of our honeymoon three weeks ago. From reading the reviews, it seems that there's not much else to say, but it's worth reiterating how accurate everyone's reviews are. This place is simply fantastic! Apart from the beautiful accommodations and grounds, what really makes this place are the staff who are incredibly friendly and sociable, and willing to go above and beyond to make us enjoy our stay. We really felt that if we needed anything (and I mean, ANYTHING) that the staff (including Fern, who runs a tight ship!) could somehow arrange it for us. This hotel had the potential to be really stuffy, but it wasn't at all - it was so laid back and relaxing, and in all ways perfect.

What we also really appreciated was how reasonable the price of food/drink was. For an expensive property (worth every penny) with amazing food (probably the best hotel food I've ever had, as breakfast lunch and dinner were all phenomenal in their own right), BOMC could really gouge their customers because the place is so secluded. However, they do not, and we felt we got a good value for all our meals.

We will not hesitate to return or recommend this place to our friends and family!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yanks84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayofmanycoves, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
We do appreciate the time taken to write your review and for your positive comments about your visit with us in the Bay of Many Coves. We are very glad that you found the food and beverages to be value-for-money - with the high costs of running a more remote place and getting everything in and out by boat we do endeavour to manage this for a realistic and enjoyable stay for our guests. Thank you for 'reiterating' previous reviews and how you enjoyed the staff on site and the service. We certainly hope to welcome you back for an anniversary in the future and congratulations again, on your reunion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthurs Bay
7.8 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
8.5 mi away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
6.1 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#7 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
4.4 mi away
Punga Cove Resort
Punga Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Endeavour Inlet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
9.6 mi away
Te Mahia Bay Resort
Te Mahia Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Te Mahia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay of Many Coves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay of Many Coves

Property: Bay of Many Coves
Address: Queen Charlotte Sound | Private Bag 382, Arthurs Bay 7250, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Arthurs Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurs Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bay of Many Coves 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short water taxi ride from Picton Harbour, and within easy reach of all major New Zealand airports, you’ll find a slice of pure paradise.At Bay of Many Coves, we will make you feel right at home in the tranquil Marlborough Sounds. You’ll find a world of adventure waiting right at the end of our private jetty and in the bush-clad hills all around. Or you may simply want to relax within our luxury facilities and beautiful surroundings. So pure, so natural, so full of new experiences: at Bay of Many Coves, luxury has found a new expression. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bay of Many Coves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Of Many Coves Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing