We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“low key relaxation in beautiful surrounds”
Review of Bay of Many Coves

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bay of Many Coves
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurs Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“low key relaxation in beautiful surrounds”
Reviewed 3 January 2010

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in December as part of a visit back to NZ to see his family, for some "couple time". We had walked the Queen Charlotte track previously so knew the area was beautiful, but the resort was in a particularly pretty location in a secluded bay. We liked the lay out with only a small number of rooms, and these being well spaced out, with fantastic water views. The apartments were well set out with balconies, day beds, very comfortable bedrooms and fresh fruit left each day. Ideal if you are happy in your own company, reading and napping as we were.

We had room service one night, then ate in the restaurant for the second night, which is the same menu so it may become limited for longer stays. We had lunch in the cafe which was lovely, and the breakfast was fantastic with great coffee. You could certainly plan to self cater as the kitchens are very functional but apart from a few nibbles and wine we didn't bother. The activities that we tried were the walk to the lookout (a tough 45 minutes uphill, then 20 minutes down) and the waterfall (an easy 10 minutes) and kayaking which was great. The pool was cold, but it is NZ, and the hot tub very pleasant. I had a massage (hot stone) which was very pleasant and I would recommend booking in.

The staff were very friendly and relaxed, Cameron and Pip were always on hand to answer queries. During our stay the majority of guests were American, and there were children at the resort, which we didn't expect but were well behaved so not an issue for us.

The eco policy of not replacing linens was fine with us, but the towels in the bathroom were not hung up, and the toiletries not replaced, when the room was serviced. This was really the only negative that I can report from our stay, and we were not bothered enough to report this but it may irritate others more.

Overall, a wonderfully relaxing break, great for couples more than singles or families in our opinion. We would love to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gingermegs79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    39
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
234
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2009

This was a beautiful place to stay for a luxurious break with my husband and our two kids, (8 & 12) over christmas. On arriving there, I initially thought, 'Oh God, I'm going to want to live here!'. However, despite its fantastic-ness, 3 days and 3 nights really were enough. By then, I was maxed out on the peace, the 5 star food, and 5 star service, and was kinda ready to return to normal life.

The location is extremely beautiful, with incredible views from all the apartments. The apartments are also very tastefully decorated, and well equipped. I'd recommend considering taking enough of your own food to make at least one simple meal, as it was nice the one night just to stay in the apartment and kick back with some pasta and TV.

You'll enjoy your stay here, without question. Very relaxing.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpunkyPumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 14 December 2009

Bay of Many Coves was the nicest places we stayed in NZ. I see some reviews say its expensive, but we stayed in much more pricey places that didnt come near. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The views are just beautiful. The food is also worth commenting on. We eat out a lot in good restaurants and we thought the meals here were of a very high standard and very reasonable, which really made the stay perfect. I would highly recommend a few days here.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evar_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2009

We were two couple traveling together and we spent two days in a two bedroom suite. It was like a little bit of paradise. The staff was unfailingly helpful and attentive. We not only enjoyed their service, but also meeting and speaking with them. Lovely surroundings, good hiking and very relaxing. The food was good too, and compared to other meals we had in NZ, quite reasonable as well.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMK240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2009

If you can afford it, this is a fantastic location to enjoy a great part of NZ. While expensive, if this resort was loacted in most other countries the cost would be significantly higher.

I would suggest 2-3 nights here would suffice - not sure what you would do if you stayed longer.

As a coffee addict, having a great cafe in such a remotre area was a real bonus.

I was puzzled to read the review from someone (who didn't stay at the resort) who claimed management to be 'arrogant'. We found the exact opposite.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nightwatchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2009

Bay of Many Coves is in an amazing location on the Marlborough Sounds on the very northern tip of the South Island of New Zealand. The restaurant and chef cook amazing food every night, and all of the rooms are one-bedroom suites with beautiful views of the water.

This is an amazing place to relax for 3-4 days, as you must keep in mind that the only way to get to the resort is via water taxi, which isn't cost effective if you are going back to the main island every day. There is great access to the Queen Charlotte track from the resort, and they are in a great spot for fishing trips, kayaking, and other ways you might choose to enjoy the water. Don't necessarily stay here if you are planning to tour the Marlborough Wine Region, although a one day trip can be coordinated, and it would work out just fine, you just have to invest extra travel time.

The staff were amazing, and went out of their way to help us coordinate every aspect of our trip well in advance of our arrival. There is one nice restaurant and one more casual lunch spot on the property. Both locations have day visitors who arrive via boat when they are touring the Marlborough Sounds, which definitely gives this spot the feeling of a true vacation.

Bottom line: I would recommend Bay of Many Coves to anyone looking for a place to stay on the North End of the South Island, and it's worth planning a trip around, if you are looking for a place to visit before you make the jump to the North Island.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VT_Traveler802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brit in the US
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2009

OMG, stay here! The was the best place we stayed at in NZ by a fairly comfortable margin. Not only is it a gorgeous location, it is the nicest place to stay along the QCT, with excellent rooms (every one is a suite), each with views to die for, a wonderful restaurant, exceptional service (helped that we were the only guests for two of the nights!), really, just perfect. We hiked in from Camp Bay, although I don't think that this is how many of the guests arrive, it made our arrival there seem all the more special. The pool was nice, the hot tub nicer, the staff perfect...really can't say enough. If you can afford it, stay here.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abates25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthurs Bay
7.8 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
8.5 mi away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
6.1 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
630 reviews
4.4 mi away
Punga Cove Resort
Punga Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Endeavour Inlet
325 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Sounds Retreat
The Sounds Retreat
#2 of 5 in Anakiwa
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay of Many Coves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay of Many Coves

Property: Bay of Many Coves
Address: Queen Charlotte Sound | Private Bag 382, Arthurs Bay 7250, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Arthurs Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurs Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bay of Many Coves 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short water taxi ride from Picton Harbour, and within easy reach of all major New Zealand airports, you’ll find a slice of pure paradise.At Bay of Many Coves, we will make you feel right at home in the tranquil Marlborough Sounds. You’ll find a world of adventure waiting right at the end of our private jetty and in the bush-clad hills all around. Or you may simply want to relax within our luxury facilities and beautiful surroundings. So pure, so natural, so full of new experiences: at Bay of Many Coves, luxury has found a new expression. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bay of Many Coves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Of Many Coves Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing