We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Luxury on Kenepuru Sound”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Te Mahia Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Te Mahia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2013

A spot of luxury in the beautiful setting of Kenupuru Sound. This fabulous resort, comfortable, spotlessly clean, right on the beach, fabulous views, the most helpful hosts and staff. I could go on, but it's perfect, come and see for yourself.

Room Tip: Appartments face the wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeithP66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

We had a great stay. Most amazing view of the sound right from the bed! Rooms older style but very comfortable. Had pizzas from the cafe for dinner which were fine. Great spot to stop off along the queen Charlotte track!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FionaJane82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed for three nights with family members from the US and could not fault the accommodation, location, amenities, hosts, Jann and Trevor and their staff. We parked the car when we arrived and didn't move it until our journey home. We came prepared to self-cater and found a very well equipped kitchen with the back-up of home-made pizzas delivered to our door. Our apartment gave us access to a deck overlooking the water. We could enjoy a drink at the end of the day, listening to the lapping of the waves. We appreciated the closeness to the Queen Charlotte track and thoroughly enjoyed our tramp to Portage and the water taxi back. The next day we took the James Vogel Track to Mistletoe Bay through the remains of a magical podocarp-hardwood-beech forest. This was our first visit and it won't be our last.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elysian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

As a family of five we have stayed here numerous times for our summer vacation. We love the waterfront apartment setup which makes you feel like you are right on top of the water. There is always something going on in the bay with boats coming and going. The water sports are numerous with a water ski lane right next door . 90 pct of the time every morning the water is so calm you can ski non stop for miles. With the blue cod fishery now open we do not have to boat to far to get our limit of cod, scallops and Green Lip mussels. . Snapper are reknown in Kenepuru and they are still there if you use a bit of stealth. The shop is well set up with a pizza lunch or a coffee on the deck a must. We love holidaying here with our teenage kids. Trevor and Jann are wonderful hosts

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Owen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We rented one bedroom apartment that was situated behind the reception in the last building. W could park the car close to the door. The apartment is modern decorated in pastel colors, spacious, with wonderful open kitchen (fully equipped), dining table, sofas, and bedroom separated by the curtain. Te front of the apartment is much higher off the ground and there is a beautiful terrace with round table, chairs and sun chairs. Big bathroom has a shower, washer and dryer, big cabinet and the semi-separated toilet. It's a walk through, one door lead from the entrance and one from the bedroom, very convenient.
When traveling with a child we would prefer solid wall between bedroom and the rest of the place but we understand that the layout would suffer and apartment would lost its spaciousness.
It's a very romantic place like whole area of the Sounds and I can definitely recommend it to couples. By we would not come back with the child since there is not much to do for children. The beach was fine but the water carried a lot of mud and plants and it wasn't pleasant to get in.
Children aside, for boat lovers and these looking for romantic gateway I recommend this place without hesitation, it's great quality accommodation, nice service, beautiful views and Queen Charlotte track to hike.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magdalena Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Thought as the occasional trip advisor writer I had better write a review on our favourite family summer holiday place. We have just returned from our 16th summer holiday here with our 3 boys, now 22,19 and 15. From the very start it was never a count down to Christmas but how many days until we get to Te Mahia. We stay in one of the Heritage units on the water front and it really is water front..the high tide is lapping under the balcony!! The units are equipped with everything we need and there are also BBQs a few steps away for cooking the scallops, fish and mussels that we
bring back from our fishing outings. The easy access to the Queen Charlotte is great for walking and mountain biking .Jann and Trevor are fantastic hosts and are able to point people in the right direction for anything they need. We are able to get our daily coffee fix from the shop which has been a very welcome addition in the last few years. We are grateful that we are able to have two weeks here but even for a night or two on your travels it is a stunning spot not to be missed.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoTaylor11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Basic accommodation in a less than basic location in NZ! - absolutely amazing part of NZ.

We stayed in a modern hotel apartment which was comfortable tho provided little privacy with other stayers walking past the lounge and bedroom windows.

Kitchen does not provide hotplates or oven which is unfortunate with shower only and no bath in the bathroom.

No cooking oils or sauces provided either for the kitchen and there is no zipping down to the supermarket - take absolutely everything food wise for your stay and only coffee, tea, milo, S&P provided, with small milk.

Loved our few days there tho likely would not return.

Room Tip: Take absolutely everything food wise and drink wise as there is nothing for miles!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjlavender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jann H, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

There may be some slight confusion from this guest on her travels as here at Te Mahia Bay Resort we have self contained motels and apartments, not hotel rooms. All of our accommodation styles here at the resort contain hobs for cooking, as well as electric fry pans, microwaves and a full contingent of kitchen utensils, pots, pans and crockery, cutlery and even a choice of champagne, red or white wine glasses.
Our onsite shop here at the resort does have a selection of oils, sauces and a whole array of other products fresh and frozen for sale should our patrons wish to cook for themselves. Our café which is open from 8.00am sells delectable cakes, slices, quiches, gourmet pizzas and fabulous coffee and alcoholic beverages. We even offer the service of delivering your pizza or choice of frozen gourmet meal to your room for your convenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Te Mahia
1.5 mi away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
3.6 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
9.6 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
20.4 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
654 reviews
2.8 mi away
Raetihi Lodge
Raetihi Lodge
#7 of 86 in Marlborough Region
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Mahia Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Mahia Bay Resort

Address: Marlborough Sounds | Kenepuru Sound, Te Mahia, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Te Mahia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Te Mahia
Price Range: £85 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Te Mahia Bay Resort- …” The Place of a Special Happening”… Take the time to savour those special moments that only happen at Te Mahia. Naturally Beautiful…Te Mahia is nestled in the most picturesque secluded bay in the Marlborough Sounds. The perfect place for swimming and other water based activities which include boat launching and moorings as well as kayak hire for our guests.Jann & Trevor offer you a choice of Luxury Seaview Apartments, Spacious Waterfront Motels or Gracious Heritage Units. All of our accommodation styles are fully self catering, specializing in those added personal touches which make us truly unique.We have the pleasure of offering you: A small store for your grocery needs, an on-license for your beverage requirements, a selection of Delectable Frozen Gourmet Meals,Stone Grilled Pizzas,a selection of wonderful coffees and cakes and a delightful array of gift items.Easy access to the Queen Charlotte Track and other scenic bush walks, allow yourself the luxury of time to drift off to sleep with the lapping of the waves and then wake up to the magical call of our resident native birds. Traveling is a breeze… only one hours drive from Picton or 1 1/2 hours from Blenheim, or a convenient 15 mins by water taxi from Picton.Relax in the beautiful peaceful atmosphere at Te Mahia, where we have established beautiful gardens and quaint outdoor barbeque areas for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Te Mahia Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Mahia Bay Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing