We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Te Mahia Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Te Mahia Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Te Mahia
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
286 reviews
225 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Stunning location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

What is a resort? Well Te Mahia is a Motel plus. They have a variety of room types set in a stunning location with brilliant views over Kenepuru Sound in the Marlborough region of North Island, New Zealand. Like most motels in New Zealand the units are equipped with a small kitchen but you are not left entirely to your own devices - they have a small store/coffee place with a range of groceries and offer pizzas and frozen ready meals in the evening. Just as well - the nearest store is over 30 minutes away on winding roads!
We had a waterfront motel unit - not waterfront in the sense that you can jump out of the door and into the sea - there is a rather attractive garden in the way! But very spacious, huge windows to help enjoy the view, high level of furnishing and equipment.
Te Mahia is quite close to the Queen Charlotte walking trail and the owners organised a water tour for us with Pete who operates the local water taxi which included harvesting some green lipped mussels from his mussel farm (we ate them for dinner - yum!) and dropping us off for lunch at the Raetihi lodge on the opposite shore and picking us up afterwards.
The only niggle would be charging for Wi-Fi (which struggled to get as far as our unit anyway) - when you're paying NZ$178 per night for the unit it's an irritating extra.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedHeadPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jann H, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Te Mahia, but just to clarify we do provide Internet access free of charge to all our guests. But keeping in mind our remote location, we do need to advise that we do not have high speed internet fiber optic cable in the Marlborough Sounds so data use is limited.
Regards Jann and Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    25
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
61
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

An amazing place, queen charlotte drive for you car enthusiasts will enjoy 20kms of winding roads. Those with motion sickness, pack a spew bag, and those winding roads are heaven to some, but a nightmare to others. Amazing venue The owners are very accomodating and a perfect backdrop for a special occasion or a place to get away. Pack your fishing rods and snorkelling gear, you can feed yourself straight off the rocks or the jetty with natures finest seafood. You will not go wrong at this place

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lukianp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jann H, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
We are so pleased that you had a fabulous stay and our unique location right on the water's edge lends itself to an array of wonderful water activities with a water temperature of 20 degrees at the moment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Recently spent a couple of nights here for a friends wedding and really loved the place.

The water in the bay is glass smooth and great for swimming or borrowing the paddle boards from the resort. We stayed in one of the waterfront motel units which are high quality and have amazing views out into the bay.

There is a small shop on site where you can buy coffee, pizzas and snacks and both the coffee and the pizzas were delicious. All of the staff we spoke to were very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed everything about our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lhallowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jann H, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review, all of our staff here at Te Mahia take pride in their work and their environment, so we are very pleased that you have had the opportunity to experience this first hand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

We spent a night at Te Mahia during our walk of the Queen Charlotte track and will hope to return for a longer stay someday. Our room was just above and set back from the beach and the bay was expansive and alluring. The rooms are tidy and comfy and well equipped and the small store provides tasty options for walkers on the track. Great and helpful hosts too. This would be a perfect base for exploring the sounds.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SolanaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jann H, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
We are pleased that you were able to enjoy the ambiance and all the wonderful facilities that Te Mahia has to offer, hopefully next time around you will be able to stay just a little longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed at this wonderful place on our way to Abel Tasman National Park from Wellington. Had we have known have stunning the area was we would have booked more than one night here. The accommodation was perfect, clean, tidy and very inviting, the staff was were helpful and had a great knowledge of the area. I would love to return here sometime, and spend more time in this wonderful place.

Room Tip: If possible get a water front room, the views are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chad24uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jann H, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments, we shall certainly pass these on to our staff and we hope that you can return once again to the beautiful Kenepuru Sound. We look forward to hosting you once again at Te Mahia in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

I can only describe this place as wonderland. We have just had the most amazing week end At Te Mahia for 40 plus people for Nigel's 70th. It is situated on the waterfront and all apartments face that way. The water laps the steps at high tide and you go to sleep with the gentle noise of the waves. All the apartments are very well serviced and many of them have three bedrooms with extra beds so can easily accommodate several families...they also all have balconies overlooking Kenneperu Sound. There are two fabulous luxury apartments which also have balcony s looking out to the Sound and fully equipped. But all the apartments are great and you only have to turn around and get the magical view over the Sound. The kayaking is fantastic..the shop has the most amazing coffee...and Jann makes fabulous Pizzas to order. There are also gourmet dinner selections from her freezer. Mine Hosts..Trevor and Jann are naturals at running this place and I actually thought I was at their party! We had a marquee on the water front lawn and Jann decorated it beautifully with two fabulous urns of flowers and all the extra bits..we have had a letter from one of our guests that said they felt that they had landed in wonderland for the w/e. the walks around are magical..waterfall bay ..and queen Charlotte track are on your doorstep. It has to be an absolute must stop for anyone visiting that area of The Sounds. We will definately be back.

Room Tip: Heritage Block is great for families..if you want a twosome..go for the waterfront apartments ..or o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harriet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jann H, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
It was truly a wonderful pleasure to host you all for such a magical celebration. Here at Te Mahia it is all the little things that are important to us, fresh flowers in the rooms, rosemary sprigs on your towels and the attention to detail, and of course our great New Zealand hospitality that is part of our Te Mahia ethos. We are thrilled to be able to live and work in such a unique environment and to be able to share this experience with all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
502 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Te Mahia Bay is absolutely beautiful and the gardens enhance this. It is very tranquil with some very pleasant outdoor terraces to sit in to admire the view. A jetty nearby is useful for water taxis.The host, Trevor, is a former DOC officer and is very knowledgeable about birdlife etc. and very helpful.
Two of the units are very up to date and excellent but the rest are a mixed bag. We stayed in a very 70s unit with poor lighting and the shower was not very good and lino on the floor. Poor quality floor coverings and curtains. Other friends were in one which was really 1950s but with 2013 prices!! The outside of the units are all well-painted and enhanced by the lovely gardens. The shop is very disappointing & poorly stocked and lots of pretty dreadful souvenirs and custom jewellery. However, the coffee for sale is absolutely spot on...excellent and it is roasted locally in Renwick. With fewer nicknacks for sale and better quality foodstuffs this would be much better!!!
Many of the units are obviously being updated so it would pay to make inquiries when booking. It is a real paradise on a lovely day though!!

Room Tip: Seabreeze with modern facilities are the best and the rest need to be checked out carefully.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maturity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jann H, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
We are glad you appreciated the stunning environment that is Te Mahia Bay Resort. The Waterfront Motel units you stayed in were built in 1997 and have been refurbished in 2008, with new shower units installed just this last year.
Our heritage motel units have also been refurbished over the last 4 years and enhance the ambiance and peaceful nature of Te Mahia.
It is with pride that each year we select stock for our gift shop that hopefully reflects the eclectic nature of our sounds environment where the bush meets the sea. A lot of the product that we stock is superbly crafted by New Zealand jewelers and crafts people and proves to be a unique selling point to attract our many visitors both national and International.
It is true that our coffee by Ritual roasted locally at Linkwater is the best in the sounds, and this is enhanced by our selection of cakes, slices and gourmet quiches. We do also offer Stone Grilled pizzas and an array of Frozen Gourmet meals to tempt the taste buds up to 7.00pm each night. Our shop also carries a selection of grocery lines if clients wish to prepare their own meals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Te Mahia
1.6 mi away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
3.6 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
9.6 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
2.8 mi away
Raetihi Lodge
Raetihi Lodge
#6 of 83 in Marlborough Region
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
5.3 mi away
Okiwa Bay Lodge
Okiwa Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Anakiwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Mahia Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Mahia Bay Resort

Property: Te Mahia Bay Resort
Address: Marlborough Sounds | Kenepuru Sound, Te Mahia, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Te Mahia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Te Mahia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Te Mahia Bay Resort- …” The Place of a Special Happening”… Take the time to savour those special moments that only happen at Te Mahia. Naturally Beautiful…Te Mahia is nestled in the most picturesque secluded bay in the Marlborough Sounds. The perfect place for swimming and other water based activities which include boat launching and moorings as well as kayak hire for our guests.Jann & Trevor offer you a choice of Luxury Seaview Apartments, Spacious Waterfront Motels or Gracious Heritage Units. All of our accommodation styles are fully self catering, specializing in those added personal touches which make us truly unique.We have the pleasure of offering you: A small store for your grocery needs, an on-license for your beverage requirements, a selection of Delectable Frozen Gourmet Meals,Stone Grilled Pizzas,a selection of wonderful coffees and cakes and a delightful array of gift items.Easy access to the Queen Charlotte Track and other scenic bush walks, allow yourself the luxury of time to drift off to sleep with the lapping of the waves and then wake up to the magical call of our resident native birds. Traveling is a breeze… only one hours drive from Picton or 1 1/2 hours from Blenheim, or a convenient 15 mins by water taxi from Picton.Relax in the beautiful peaceful atmosphere at Te Mahia, where we have established beautiful gardens and quaint outdoor barbeque areas for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Te Mahia Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Mahia Bay Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing