We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful honeymoon”
Review of The No Road Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Furneaux
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The No Road Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Furneaux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful honeymoon”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed here in January 2013 as part of our honeymoon in NZ. We travelled to some amazing places in NZ, but the one place that we loved best of all was No Road Inn. We stayed for just one night whilst trekking the Queen Charlotte, but we could easily have stayed for a month!

The setting is great, on the shore of the water and right in the bush. It is so peaceful and soothing there. The rooms are HUGE and 5 star quality, no kidding. Our room was in the corner, with a great balcony area with hammocks, plus a superb bathroom with Eco shower (hot!) and a bathtub with a one way mirror looking out into the bush.

The best of all was the hot tub, tucked away in the bush by the side of the house.

The hosts were excellent, really nice people and just the right balance of hospitality and friendliness, whilst still respecting your space and privacy. We really felt that this must be the sort of deluxe getaway that film stars opt for when they want to be somewhere private and peaceful but still get pampered like royalty.

Special mention to the excellent cooking - Gary really is a master chef and we had our best meal of the honeymoon sitting on the balcony watching the sunset and listening to the water and drinking delicious local wines. If we had a time travel machine, this is where we would return to every few months!

We are from Russia and Gary even had some interesting information and newspaper clippings on a russian ship that sank in the sounds in the 1980s in mysterious circumstances.

Marina and Ian from Russia

Room Tip: All the rooms looked good but the upstairs room in the corner (our room) was best of all
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina and Ian I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    6
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
88
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bowral
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at The No Road Inn at the end of October and loved every minute - owners Barb and Gary made us feel very welcome and cooked a spectacular 5 course meal accompanied by great wine. Our room was very spacious with a beautiful view plus a large bath which was perfect after a " day on the track" - highly recommended!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BowralJc1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Great food and location and wonderful hosts. The rooms have a magical view and are very luxurious. The hot tub is a treat for those weary legs after the first day on the track! Not much more i can say....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Luxurious room (we booked the Queen Charlotte suite) - claw foot bath with a one way window so you can look out at the fab scenery while taking a bath, large balcony facing the Sound with two comfortable hammocks, wonderfully soft mattress, cook-your-own breakfast so you can decide when you want to wake up. And they have this wonderful hot tub in the private garden - perfect for a post walk soak! Home style dinner was fab as well.

The only minus? We missed the grilled paua Gary cooked for us as a pre-dinner snack as we left for dinner too early! We hope to be back for another wonderful stay in future.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purpledino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

My girl friend and I really enjoyed staying at No road Inn. There's not much to say as everything was perfect, all details taken care at the highest. no road inn offers luxury though pleasantly understated rooms, spacious, full of light, with great sea view. Barbara and Gary put a lot of efforts to create their own paradise. Food was very good in quality and abundant... We felt No road Inn worthy every cents we spent and would definitively recommend to anyone looking for an exclusive kiwi home staying experience.
The location is magic, queen Charlotte sounds is incredibly beautiful and the Inn made our trekking memorable. Thanks!

Room Tip: Choose the corner room with large bathroom window on the forest
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

What a wonderful place! The owners made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived and the freshwater hot tub after a long day on the trail was jperfect. Great wine selection, the food was terrific and the room was large, quiet, and had spectacular views (we were upstairs). The bathroom was also big and immaculate. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Try for upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
141 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We stayed at No Road Inn just before Christmas when we were walking the QCT. It's set in a fabulous location. We received a lovely welcome upon arrival from Gary. The room was fantastic, with wide decks overlooking the water, comfortable bed and even wireless headphones for the TV. The bathroom was brilliant, with one way glass and it felt like you were amongst the ferns. Nice touches like bath salts to alleviate weary legs by a good soak. Dinner was a relaxed affair and hearty. They catered to my dietary requirements and tailored the menu to suit. We had breakfast provisions in our room so we made our own breakfast in the morning before setting off again. This was very pleasant as we sat and ate looking at the scenery. We asked for a packed lunch and it hit the spot during our walk. Would recommend No Road Inn and would stay here again ourselves.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isobella_D_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Furneaux
7.1 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
13.6 mi away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Punga Cove Resort
Punga Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Endeavour Inlet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mahana Lodge
Mahana Lodge
#1 of 2 in Endeavour Inlet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Furneaux Lodge
Furneaux Lodge
#18 of 81 in Marlborough Region
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The No Road Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The No Road Inn

Property: The No Road Inn
Address: 1 Endeavour Inlet | Queen Charlotte Track, Marlborough Sounds, Furneaux, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Furneaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Furneaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing