We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Treat”
Review of The No Road Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Furneaux
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The No Road Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Furneaux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a Treat”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed here 1 night after our first day on the QCT. Our room was outstanding and the gorgeous bath looking out over the bush just sublime. Beautiful food and wine cooked and served by Gary and Barb supervised by Archie. I was having foot problems and Gary went the extra mile organising Blister Plasters to be transported to our next lodgings by the end of the day.
Thanks Gary much appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    6
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
88
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2014

great place to find at the end of a day of tramping. Wonderful hosts thanks Gary and Barb), excellent food, fascinating building, very high levels of comfort with personal and interestingly little quirky touches that made the whole experience perfect. Actually staying here the night was for me the highlight of the whole track experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The No Road Inn isn't really an Inn but it does offer superb accommodation to anyone walking the Queen Charlotte Track on the South Island of New Zealand. It is situated in Endeavour Inlet, right on the beach and near to Furneaux Lodge. Gary and Barbara are friendly hosts offering great hospitality in luxurious accommodation. All 3 rooms have great views. If your lucky you will get to eat some of Garry's freshly caught and prepared scallops washed down with good quality NZ wine and/beers.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

This is a charming B & B in a beautiful setting. Our hosts, Gary and Barb, were delightful. They prepared a delicious dinner of fresh fish and lamb four us. We traveled NZ for a month and this was our favorite!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

After our first day of "tramping" on the Queen Charlotte Track, a big bear of a man in a soiled tank top greeted us at the aptly named No Road Inn (which can only be reached by foot or boat). He was the innkeeper, Garry, and a true diamond in the rough who had been scraping barnacles from his boat. After serving us wine and beer on the porch, he showed us to a magnificently appointed room with an especially wonderful bathroom. The claw footed tub offered long views of Marlborough Sound through a large porthole. Garry also had a freshly filled hot tub ready for us in a secluded part of the property. Cocktail hour entertainment was provided by Archie, a mostly Cairn terrier who enjoys retrieving lemons. Dinner was superb, with two Kiwi delicacies for starters: whitebait sandwiches and scallops with roe attached. The main course was rosy NZ lamb rump with a divine salad and roasted root vegetables. Barbara's sticky date pudding sent this reviewer into fits of ecstasy. What Garry didn't know was that I received news of a dear friend's death during our stay. His gentle presence was a great comfort to me as we briefly sat together watching evening fall.

Room Tip: The two upstairs rooms with a private deck are the top choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blythe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful boutique B and B. Gary and Barb are friendly and welcoming hosts who have created a little bit of luxury on the Queen Charlotte track. We really enjoyed our stay here and recommend it highly.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SteveWeetman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

After a hard first day on the track it was great to be met by Gary who had the hot tub ready. The rooms and the views were fabulous. We had a very enjoyable dinner with hosts Gary and Barbara who made us feel very welcome. Highly recommended.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hugh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Furneaux
7.1 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
313 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
14.3 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
3.1 mi away
Punga Cove Resort
Punga Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Endeavour Inlet
319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Furneaux Lodge
Furneaux Lodge
#18 of 83 in Marlborough Region
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The No Road Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The No Road Inn

Property: The No Road Inn
Address: 1 Endeavour Inlet | Queen Charlotte Track, Marlborough Sounds, Furneaux, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Furneaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Furneaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing