We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of this world”
Review of Shack Up Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clarksdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shack Up Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Clarksdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Well...myself and two friends were traveling up through America and stumbled across this in the lonely planet while deciding where to stay that night. Luckily when we called they had a room. It did take us a little while to find as by then it was dark but once we did we got invited into the hall for drinks with some of the locals, some of who were still in contact with even though we are all now back in England. They gave us lots of information about the area we were in and showed us around a few places too. The staff were very helpful and the place was just incredible. I have never stayed anywhere like it. Absolutely loved the quirkiness of the whole place. Would defiantly go back for longer. Thank you for having us stay with you

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerriew710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

511 - 517 of 1,143 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

Exceeded expectations. The shacks look as if a tornado had dumped them there, but in fact are insulated and air conditioned and have fridges, microwaves and wifi. The whole site is full of quirky artefacts such as bottle trees and salvaged farm machinery. This is the funkiest place you'll ever stay. If possible, try to stay on a night when there is live music in the huge converted barn that serves as a bar.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

There is not a lot of places to stay while visiting Clarksdale. The place has a lot of character. We stayed in one of the bins for three nights. We thought being a guest we would have gotten a discount on the cover charge to see the acts performing. I could have set on the porch and still enjoyed the music. The very basics are offered. I think we would try it again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lostandhungry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had a great experience at the Schack up inn. Great staff, good food at their restaurant Rust and a cool schack. With this being said, this hotel might not be for everyone, its truly genuine and something out of the ordinary, but if you`re into five star hotels with luxury this aint for you! We loved everything about the place and Clarksdale is one of the most friendly places we have visited. We wanna give a special thanks to Barry the shuttledriver who gave us great tips on what to do in Clarksdale and a cd to listen to on our way to Nashville. ( wich btw isn`t nearly as cool as Clarksdale). Many thanks from the Swedes

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Madeleine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed at Shack Up Inn several times. I highly recommend it. Shack Up is as advertised, not a fancy hotel, but a comfortable place to rest. Rust, a new addition, provides wonderful dinners. Delta donuts each morning are a local bonus.

Room Tip: The Bins are like hotel rooms. The Shacks are the main attraction and a great stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We had a wonderful stay here: 10 of us in 5 shacks. After driving up from NOLA we had a great meal at the Rust restaurant by the shacks and a great night. We all wished we could have stayed longer, and most of our 6 teenage boys swore they'd be back. I recommend this highly, and advise allowing time to sit and enjoy the surroundings and artifacts. So cool.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank FionaRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Second time to stay, this time with my son. We booked for 2 nights 2 shacks, Pinetop and Robert Clay. Both have 1 double and 1 single bed. Both have a piano which is nice if you have a pianoplayer in your party. The Robert Clay has a seperate kitchen with bar.
Both great.
The stay was marvelous, get a taste of the old atmosphere. Owners are great people. They serve some food and live music on a stage.
Really a place not to miss if you are into a historical or blues trip or simply like something really different!

Bob
The Netherlands

Room Tip: Pinetop or Robert Clay if you are 2 or 3! Spacious rooms with piano!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarksdale
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 6 in Clarksdale
130 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Clarksdale
Hampton Inn Clarksdale
#1 of 6 in Clarksdale
229 reviews
23.4 mi away
Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Lula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
High Cotton Condos
High Cotton Condos
#2 of 5 in Clarksdale
5 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bluestown Inn
Bluestown Inn
#3 of 5 in Clarksdale
10 reviews
3.2 mi away
Delta Cotton Co. Apartments
Delta Cotton Co. Apartments
#5 of 5 in Clarksdale
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shack Up Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shack Up Inn

Address: 1 Commissary Cir, Clarksdale, MS 38614-8701
Region: United States > Mississippi > Clarksdale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Clarksdale
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique B&B (bed & beer) comprised of restored sharecroppers' cabins, dedicated to the Mississippi Delta blues. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shack Up Hotel Clarksdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing