We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST music store in the MS Delta!”

Cat Head Delta Blues & Folk Art
Ranked #3 of 13 things to do in Clarksdale
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“BEST music store in the MS Delta!”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The owner Roger is a walking encyclopedia when it comes to the blues. His store has wonderful funky local art, great books on the Delta and a record collection that is amazing. Cannot say enough good things about this store.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetheblues67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    42
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Cat head is a must see!”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

While visiting Cat Head I had an enjoyable chat with Roger Stolle the owner and creator of cat head.

Roger is extremely talented, friendly and passionate about Clarksdale blues music scene.

He has helped breath life back into the Clarksdale blues scene at the same time peaking more interest world wide.

Roger has also written a book about the history of the Mississippi blues, which I was lucky enough to get a signed copy from his shop.

Cat Head has a unique music vibe and I thoroughly enjoyed my visit here!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank curious24seven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Art Gallery/Gift Shop Must Go”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

If you are in Clarksdale, then you have to stop by Cat Head. Staff is incredibly nice and helpful with any questions that you may have about the town and the Blues. Awesome collection of prints/books/trinkets/music/dvds...Go check it out!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank queban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“If you want a great store AND talk to Roger about everything we don't know.”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Clarksdale has many fun, interesting shops. Our luck was to find Cat Head. We walked in, and Roger, the owner was there. I'm a quiet kind of person, I don't always engage when I should. My daughter and I met Roger and he was so cool, such a fount of information. He has his own story. He wrote a book, Anyone that visits Clarksdale, should really visit Cat Head. We're big fans of Mississippi Blues Trail, big fans of Clarksdale. The most fun, interesting shopping is Cat Head.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank grapevine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Beat, France
Level 6 Contributor
370 reviews
181 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Loved this place, great to chat to the owner”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I had bought my husband a book on the Mississippi for his birthday so imagine our joy when we realised that the author owned cat head in Clarksdale.

The shop is wonderful - lots of really interesting items and music and the owner delightful - gave us some great tips - like go to Oxbow as it is one of the two days a month when you can get Tuna Tacos!!

Now we have a signed edition and it has been brought to live by meeting the writer - great experience - do not pass it by - some lovely postcards on sale too and posters of events in Clarksdale.

Fab...u...lous.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ScooterJuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cat Head Delta Blues & Folk Art also viewed

 

Been to Cat Head Delta Blues & Folk Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing