We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Not to be missed!”
other traveller has booked this property
The Honey Room in the Clarksdale White House. King-size bed. Comfortable sitting area. Private bath.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Honey Room in the Clarksdale White House. King-size bed. Comfortable sitting area. Private bath.
Door into The Honey Room in the Clarksdale White House. King-size bed. Comfortable sitting area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
The Honey Room in the Clarksdale White House. King-size bed. Comfortable sitting area. Private bath.
Door into The Honey Room in the Clarksdale White House. King-size bed. Comfortable sitting area.
Down-filled couch in The Honey Room in the Clarksdale White House.
Honey Room bathroom has marble sinks, shower and large bathtub. Kohler fixtures.
Honey Room bathroom has marble sinks, shower and large bathtub. Kohler fixtures.
The Honey Room has an extremely dreamy king-size Tempur-pedic bed. Look forward to a restful sleep.
The large private back yard and garden boasts several places to sit plus a wonderful hammock!
The front of The Clarksdale White House.
The private back yard and garden of The Clarksdale White House.
The private back yard and garden of The Clarksdale White House.
Lounge in the private back yard and garden of The Clarksdale White House.
Main Living Room in the Clarksdale White House
One of two living rooms in the Clarksdale White House.
Second Living Room in the Clarksdale White House
Staircase leading to the upstairs bedrooms in the Clarksdale White House
The Dining Room with Kitchen in the background.
Staircase leading up to the three private bedrooms in the Clarksdale White House.
Staircase leading up to the three private bedrooms in the Clarksdale White House.
Baby grand piano in the Clarksdale White House.
John Ruskey watercolor originals throughout the Clarksdale White House.
John Ruskey watercolor originals throughout the Clarksdale White House.
Lots of interesting artwork in the Clarksdale White House.
John Ruskey watercolor originals throughout the Clarksdale White House.
John Ruskey watercolor originals throughout the Clarksdale White House.
The back yard is shared by the Delta Bohemian Guest House and The Clarksdale White House.
The back yard is shared by the Delta Bohemian Guest House and The Clarksdale White House.
The picnic table in the private back yard. Hammock and lounge chairs too. Shared with DB Guest House
Front of the Clarksdale White House.
Looking toward the dining room and kitchen.
Main Living Room in the Clarksdale White House.
Interesting artwork throughout The Clarksdale White House.
Occasional greeter and mascot, 'Dandy.'
Occasional greeter and mascot, 'Dandy.'
Interesting artwork and artifacts throughout The Clarksdale White House.
Interesting artwork throughout The Clarksdale White House.
Guests like to place a pin  to mark their home on the vintage map in the dining room.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Clarksdale, Mississippi

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Edie H
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Not to be missed!”
Reviewed 30 March 2018 for a stay in June 2016

My daughter and I wanted the MS Delta experience. Born near and raised in Clarksdale, we wanted to hear some real blues music. The best decision we made was to stay at Madge’s B&B. The White House is a gem, and Madge is its mistress, the most gracious and friendly hostess! She was truly anxious to make our stay there as relaxing and comfortable as possible. It was like staying in the home of a friend. Everything about our stay was exceptional; why stay in a motel, when you can stay in a home!?

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2018
Thank you so much for this thoughtful and sweet review, Edie! I am glad you and your daughter felt so at home in your Honey Room at The White House! Your feedback is not only encouraging to me but helpful and informative for interested travelers considering a stay with us! You are so kind. Please come back again! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reiterjaz...
Cedar Grove, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exhilarating visit, friendly people, beautiful room, great town!”
Reviewed 30 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We loved staying in the Honey Room, run by Madge and Billy Howell, in Clarksdale, Mississippi. It felt like we were in a movie--the whole house is beautiful and our room was large with a wonderful king bed and huge bathroom with both shower and gigantic bathtub. There's plenty to eat for breakfast (you get it yourself, but they provide cereals, fruit, bread...). We took Billy's 3-hour tour, which was awesome, learning about the agriculture, blues music, the people (historic and present). We drove on a levee! Clarksdale has wonderful BBQ joints and cafes with great live blues music 7 days a week! Plus a great blues museum and wonderful blues stores (recordings, books, tee-shirts...). We will return!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2018
Richard, you and Susan truly bless us with this kind and informative review! You lit this town up with your outstanding saxophone! You blew everyone away!! We can hardly wait for y’all to come Barack! The Honey Room will be waiting for you!!!!
—Madge
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LLM1710
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“One of the most welcomin owners we’ve ever met!”
Reviewed 24 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Madge was a delight from booking to post-departure. Her home (the White House where she always wanted to live as a little girl growing up in Clarksdale) is lovely and the Honey Room was very comfortable with a great bed and a stall shower in the bathroom plus tub. Great value for the price, and a nice help-yourself breakfast with beautiful public rooms for your use. It is the best place to stay in Clarksdale. Just be aware there is a flight of steps to climb, but Madge’s husband, Billy, took our bags up, which was very kind. But do not doubt — the star of this place is Madge! And Billy’s 3-hour Delta Bohemian tour of Clarksdale and environs will be a highlight of your trip to the Delta (see separate review). We will remember Madge and Bilky’s kindness and conviviality for a long time to come, as will our British travel partners. Thank you, Madge!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Nov 2017
What a delight finding your review this morning upon waking! Thank you so much for taking the time to share thoughts from your experience with future interested travelers! The four of you were a total delight and I relish the brief moments we got to share together.

Your travel pasts fascinate me; you have all traveled the world! How exciting! I am so very grateful you felt led to stay at the Clarksdale White House and that you were pleased with your accommodations.

Billy was delighted by your company as well on the tour. Your genuine interest in learning about this fabled place rang through.

We hope our paths cross again some day. We send our best to all four of you!!

Madge
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxandSue...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 27 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Warm, friendly...welcoming. Nicely appointed room and home.
Billy and Madge make you feel like you right at home!
Great stay with special hosts!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2017
Thank you for sharing your experience staying the The Honey Room of The Ehite House with future interested travelers!! We hope y'all will come back for another visit! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“24 Hour Runaway with Gal Pals”
Reviewed 19 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We rented all of the rooms for one night! What a treat it was for all of us! It was perfect & so much fun to look at all of the cool things in the White House!
Lovely hostess & wonderful location! Yes, I would stay again in a heartbeat!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
Marianne, it was a complete delight having all you girls stay with us! The White House is ideal for those types of get-togethers! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience staying with us here on our TripAdvisor page. It truly means a lot and I do hope you will consider a return reunion in the future! Thank you, too, for taking one of Chilly Billy's Delta Bohemian Tours. He had a ball with y'all! Much love!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonBowman
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Trip”
Reviewed 21 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This was our first visit to Clarksdale and The Clarksdale White House but it won't be our last. We booked the Honey Room and it was perfect for our needs. The White House is close to all of the downtown clubs and restaurants but far enough away that you can relax and enjoy the beauty of the century old home and it's grounds. Madge was so helpful from before our arrival to even checking on us after we'd left. We've been spreading the word on Clarksdale ever since we returned home and planning future trips. We feel so fortunate that, as music lovers, we've found another weekend destination and a place that we can call home during our trips.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2017
Oh, Ron! This review truly blesses me. Thank you so much for taking the time to let future travelers know what it was like for you staying in the Clarksdale White House's Honey Room!

It was my pleasure meeting you both and I do hope you will return again!! Y'all were wonderful guests and truly embraced our town! Thank you for spreading the word about Clarksdale. That really matter!

We will see you soon, I hope!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chambersb...
Fayetteville, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The only place in Clarksdale to stay”
Reviewed 27 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

You will be missing out Madge's warm hospitality if you chose not to stay at the Clarksdale White House. We were so pleased with all the special touches when we checked into the Honey Room. A very nice bed for sleeping, large, clean bathroom, a comfy sofa, and Mississippi Blues playing on the radio. Don't hesitate to stay here; you will not regret it!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2017
Reading your review just made me smile BIG TIME! Thank you so much! Your words are encouraging and are so affirming. I want our guests to feel at home and comfortable during their stay! The Honey Room is my favorite!

We hope you will be able to return to the Clarksdale White House some day for another visit! You are welcome. Always!
—Madge :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing