We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to be great but has suffered lately”
Review of Shoney's

Shoney's
Ranked #37 of 67 Restaurants in Clinton
Restaurant details
Clinton, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Used to be great but has suffered lately”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This is the general Shoney's that you will see across US, it has a decent buffet but mostly it is lacking in well prepared meals. The service is generally average and the price is moderate. The building has seen better days and is poorly maintained.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank tbb603h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    8
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not pay with credit card!”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Decent buffet food - lots of grease. We were traveling and in a hurry, so we didn't want to order from the menu. Staff was friendly and attentive, but when we paid with a credit card, the manager/cashier left the signed cc slip on the counter with a couple others, and walked away. When we called him back, he looked at it, laid it back down, and walked off again. When we insisted he put it up (we had someone try to steal our identity one time using a signed cc slip - even with only last 4 digits on slip - don't be fooled - it can still be done!) he said Shoney's policy was to keep cc slips out until the end of the shift. We begged him to please put it away, and he gathered all of them up (many were sitting out in an open basket) and put them in a safe.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chw450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Ok, but not amazing”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This place is a bit tired, and has seen better days. It could use a deep cleaning and a coat of paint. The food was ok. If there is nothing else around besides fast food, I would probably choose this place first.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clocarzichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Breakfast buffet ok”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The buffet was well stocked with everything you might expect to find and the item I tried were all good but not great. The Resturant was showing signs of wear and tear and needed a makeover as did some of the staff unfortunately who talked the talk without walking the walk.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chrisclough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shoney's also viewed

 

Been to Shoney's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing