We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Clinton
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Clinton
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor Management”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

On Wednesday, May 8, 2013, after driving for 13 hours, I arrived at this hotel expecting a suite (which I had reserved) only to find that they had given it away to another guest. What I got instead was a regular room, at the same price as the suite, with a broken television and hair in the bathroom. When I initially suggested a discount, I was told " You have received the rate for a regular room". I received a $25 discount for my room only after complaining. In all actuality, according to Holiday Inns own advertisement, "Best price guarantee or your first night is free" my room should have been free. The keys to my "new room" even had someone else's last name written on them. I come to this area 2 or more times a year and I guarantee this was my first and last stay at this hotel!

Room Tip: The rooms are ok, if the front desk doesn't give it away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imalojack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Clinton, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Dear imalojack,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding customer service and for the room confusion. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    46
    20
    13
    9
See reviews for
63
29
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fulshear, Texas
Level Contributor
111 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

When I arrived late after a long day I was tired. The room I "thought" i reserved was not what I got. Being an idiot I raised a little stink. Turns out I made the mistake and did not reserve the room I wanted but the room I got. No matter to the hotel. I was moved first thing the next morning. They were pleasant and made the change without any hesitation.

When I apologized to the staff for my mistake they brushed it off and continued to work hard to make my stay great.

The hotel itself is nice and clean. The rooms are clean and comfortable The bathroom is very clean and well supplied. The TV had two remotes which took me a minute to figure out. Nice channel selection.

Over all it was very quiet.

The staff is first rate.

When I am in Clinton again, I will certainly stay here, but I will double check that I reserve the room I want to avoid looking like an idiot again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fbhfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Just needed a place to crash and this fulfilled. Free wireless/free breakfast. Make your own pancake machine was different. Had eggs, ham, yogurt, fruit, bread and cinnamon rolls. It was clean so score!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Javatourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Arthur, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

This was my first time stay at a Holiday Inn and Suites. I was very pleased and satisfied. The rooms are very nice and clean, the staff is nice and friendly. I was very comfortable and relaxed at this hotel, I'm usual always disinfecting and wiping down things over and over again in hotels. Everything looked well kept and clean so I was very satisfied. Well worth my money.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calhoun City
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

This was my first visit to this property in Clinton, and I must say I was treated with royalty! The customer service specialists were very nice and professional. They made sure all of my needs were met. The room was super nice, with great cable channels and a nice large space to relax when I wasn't working. The breakfast and the evening social were great extras to add to my stay. Ms. Patricia in the food service department made sure that we were taken care of and my overall stay was a success. I absolutely have no complaints!! I felt and was treated with PRIORITY!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neeky555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

average hotel hard to check in. the man doing check in did not know what he was doing. tried to use my priority club card, he did not know how to use it. had to give him all the information over again

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bev34464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland ME
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

I've stayed at many Holiday Inn properties over the years and have been generally satsified with what the chain offers. I know exactly what to expect. They're mid tier, located everywhere and good value for the money. The Holiday Inn Express in Clinton, MS, was an exception. I had two issues with this hotel. Had the second issue not occured, I would have overlooked the first and would not be writing this review. However, taken together, I've concluded the hotel's housekeeping and management staff seemed indifferent to their guests and incapable of responding to the simplest requests.

First Issue: I spent three nights at this hotel. When I checked in, I found out that only one lamp, of the three lamps in my room, had a light bulb that worked. Housekeeping staff was off duty so the front desk scrounged around and found a light bulb tucked away in drawer. This was burnt out as well. No problem. I said I would ask housekeeping to take care of it the next day. I unscrewed the burnt out bulbs and left them by the lamps along with a written note for housekeeping to replace the bulbs. When I returned to my room the following day, I found the bed made, the room cleaned and the burnt out bulbs exactly where I left them along with the note. Still one light bulb. Hmmmm. I read my book in semi-darkness with a portable book light. On the third day, I returned to my room to again find exactly the same thing -- burnt out light bulbs and note untouched. Three nights in a hotel room with one light bulb! I wasn't sure what to think. Are light bulbs being rationed? Maybe the hotel can't afford to buy light bulbs? How man staff does it take to screw in a light bulb?

Second Issue: I'm almost certain I left a left a portable DVD player in the room when I checked out because it was not in my luggage when I unpacked. I called the front desk and asked that they check with housekeeping to see if one had been truned in by their staff. She assured me that she would check and call back. No call. Two weeks and no call! I called again and ask to speak with the manager. The manager was unavailable so I left a message. Several days later I got a call from the manager. I explained what the problem was and that I had received no response from my first request. He seemed harried but apologized, and assured me that he would check and call back. Now, again two week later, I'm still waiting for that call. Meantime, I went out a bought another portable DVD.

The light bulb episode is not just weird, it's unacceptable. It means housekeeping is not doing its job. When front desk staff say they're going to call back but don't or worse, when a manager promises to call back but doesn't, then management is not doing its job. The only conclusion I can draw is that both either view their guests with contempt or they just aren't interested in doing their jobs well. I cannot recommend this hotel because of the indifference and sloppiness on the part of hotel's housekeeping and management staff.

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank dwp94609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Clinton, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Dear dwp94609,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Clinton, MS. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clinton hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Jackson Clinton
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 9 in Clinton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Jackson Clinton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Clinton
Days Inn Clinton
#7 of 9 in Clinton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Clinton
Super 8 Clinton
#6 of 9 in Clinton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Ridgeland Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Clinton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Clinton

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Clinton
Address: 495 Springridge Rd, Clinton, MS 39056-5602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Clinton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Clinton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Brand New Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clinton, located near Vicksburg and Mississippi's state capital, Jackson. In addition, our Clinton, MS hotel provides easy access to I-20 and I-55.Business travelers value our location close to Entergy Mississippi, AT&T, Comcast, FEMA, State Tax Commission, and Board of Education. With easy access to these locations, you can make it to meetings on time.Students and educators will enjoy our closeness to many colleges Jackson State University, Mississippi College, Milsap College, Wesley Biblical Seminary, University of MS Medical Center and Belhaven College.Just a quick 30 minute drive with its brick streets and magnificent homes, antebellum Vicksburg offers the opportunity to step back 100 years to savor the history of the South. Also, visitors can appreciate our proximity to modern attractions such as Vicksburg casinos and Trustmark Park Stadium.Our Jackson hotel is minutes to Jackson's City Hall, Governor's Mansion, State Capitol, Old Capitol Museum, Alamo Theater and Mississippi Museum of Natural Science.While visiting Holiday Inn Express Clinton, stay connected with free high-speed Internet and relax in the heated indoor pool, hot tub and sauna. Our fitness center will give you a great workout. Try our hot Express Start breakfast, free every day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Clinton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Clinton Hotel Clinton
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Clinton
Holiday Inn Express Clinton
Clinton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing