We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, horrible wireless”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed here for a week for work. The room was comfortable and clean. The bed was great. The bathroom was spacious and clean. The staff were always helpful and friendly. The breakfast was good. There was a lot of variety including fresh fruit. My only complaint was the wireless. It was horribly slow. Half the time my iPad couldn't connect. It was never strong enough to allow me to video Skype with my family.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
Thank backpackerjmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2013

The young man that checked us in was the ultimate customer service representative--wish all front office personnel were as personable and helpful as he was--a real gem!
This was our second stay at this establishment and it is very nice and well kept. My only complaint was that starting early in the morning, the noise from toilets and showers were deafening and kept us awake--the pipes were really loud--know this isn't the hotels fault, but it is what it is.
The rooms were very nice and clean and the bed quite comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHIEF9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

My spouse and I stayed at this property for two days last weekend. We were in town to visit our son at Mississippi State and had originally booked a room closer to the college. When we checked in at the Days Inn in Starkville we were very unhappy with the upkeep of the Days Inn and how unclean it was. The management was rude, unprofessional and had no desire to correct any of my concerns. I immediately went looking to find another place to stay in Starkville but due to the high volume college weekend every room was booked. I had the good luck to run into Adam at the Hampton Inn in Starkville and he took my name and phone number and said he would make some calls to other properties outside of Starkville. A few hours later he called me back and told me he had a room at the Fairfield Inn in Columbus (23 miles from Starkville). We then drove to the Fairfield Inn after going out to dinner with our son and his girlfriend. When we first arrived, (10pm) we were greeted with a smile, and a clean and lovely lobby. Our room was also clean and an incredible haven after such a long and unpleasant experience at the Days Inn in Starkville. We had a very comfortable bed and a hot tasty breakfast each morning.
The entire experience from arrival to departure was top rate and I will recommend this property to everyone.
I also want to mention the staff at the Fairfield Inn went above and beyond their call of duty with my family. They made us feel safe, secure and like family. Their customer service went beyond working at a hotel, it extended into our lives and we will be always thankful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Great service. When I arrived they were very friendly and actually referred a delicious restaurant. The rooms seem pretty new/updated and the location by the freeway is very convenient. The free breakfast doesn't hurt either.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

This is the nicest hotel in town. Oddly, though, for a new hotel, its wireless and wired internet access is ABSOLUTELY UNUSABLE.
I politely complained on my first stay a few weeks ago. The friendly desk agent apologized and assured me it was being fixed and that there wouldn't be any problem when I returned in a few weeks.
I returned a few weeks later. Upon check-in I asked the nice employee about the wireless. I didn't describe any sort of problem, but she immediately replied that it had "been upgraded."
I went to the room. The hopeless nature of their system was unchanged. As a simple example, I had to download two small xls files from our corp server (about 150kb each); this took 34 minutes!!!
I don't know quite what to do. The other hotels in town are pretty dumpy; this is a very nice hotel. To get any work done, however, I HAVE TO LEAVE THIS HOTEL FOR THE EVENING and maybe sit in McDonalds or Panera where there is a functioning connection?!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tph_atl_atl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina T, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Dear tph_atl_atl,


Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback of our hotel. I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced with our internet service. As a corporate guest, it is important to our team, that we provide you with all the necessities needed for you to get your work completed comfortably, and successfully. I am sorry that you have had to go out of your way and that you were told repeatedly that the internet had been upgraded. We are currently in the process of updating our internet service and installation should be completed by the end of May 2013. If you have any other questions, comments, or concerns please reach out to me, and I would personally like to invite you back to the hotel to experience our new upgraded, business class (20 Mbps) internet service, even if your just in the area for the day. Thank you again for your feedback of our hotel and we look forward to seeing you at the Fairfield Inn and Suites by Marriott in Columbus, MS very soon. We have a team that is willing and wants to serve you!


GM
hgiles@peachtreehotelgroup.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Our project team stayed in 5 different hotels in Columbus, Mississippi and Fairfield Inn by Marriott is the best:
1. Good value for money
2. Helpful staff
3. Clean Rooms & Facilities

Breakfast is fine. Breakfast area can get crowded. Only one washer & dryer in laundry room.
Walking distance to Logan's restaraunt.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbdavis99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

I am a platinum member with Marriott Rewards and very rarely darken the door of a Fairfield property due to bad experiences in the past. When I had to stay at this hotel over the weekend with my family, as it was one of my few options, I was skeptical at best. However, when I arrived that evening with my family, I was shocked. The service was OUTSTANDING, the breakfast was great and the room was very clean and comfortable. I would recommend this location to anyone looking for accommodations at a great price. I plan to stay there again this summer when we go back to see family there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the non-highway side are best, but it is not really loud on the highway side either. Check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbus
Hyatt Place Columbus
#2 of 14 in Columbus
247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Columbus
Courtyard Columbus
#5 of 14 in Columbus
94 reviews
0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbus
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus North
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 14 in Columbus
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus

Address: 2011 6th St N, Columbus, MS 39701-2301
Region: United States > Mississippi > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range: £73 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy upgraded and custom designed appointments throughout the hotel, guest rooms and suites. Our color palette is warm and inviting, and we anxiously await the opportunity to share our Mississippi hospitality! Delicious free, hot breakfast included in rate; 24-hour business center, 24-hour fitness center and 24-hour market for snacks and beverages. Lobby seating areas, internet bar, and outdoor patio provide social space to extend your stay beyond your room and enjoy everything our hotel has to offer! Located near Logan's Roadhouse and Cracker Barrel restaurants, right off Hwy 82 at the 18th Street Exit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus Hotel Columbus
Fairfield Inn And Suites Columbus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing