We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Event and Executive Housing Choice”
Review of Jackie O' House

Jackie O' House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jackie O' House
Ranked #4 of 5 Columbus B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The Jackie O House is a great B&B choice for Columbus. It is very clean and has modern amenities. The upstairs suite with its own day room is very special.
They also have a large event yard with a well thought out electrical supply to power the biggest sound system and lighting. Cathy will take great care of you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CastleM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 8 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

I am a bit late writing this review as we stayed at the Jackie O house a few years ago after our wedding night. We are both from Columbus, but wanted to stay somewhere away from all the wedding stuff and our familes. Our room was amazing. The rooms keep the charm of the home, but with modern conveniences. We were so comfortable we almost didn't want to leave for our honeymoon! Breakfast in the morning was also amazing. Perfect, romantic place to get away.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I grew up in this house, and the buyers of it from Dad's estate have done a phenominal job turing it into a B&B. It is more than this, however. In this small town, this is simply the best place to stay, and the owners have done all that can be done to be a part of our community.

This gem is well worth the stay. I bought the lady that rose me ( aThe Help thing), and her twin sister, a night at the Jackie O. Ella and I were amazed at the transformation. You will be pampered in this home, and encounter beauty at every turn.

David Owen

Room Tip: it has no pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lawyerowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This is more than just a house! The beautiful outside is just a start. The house and grounds look welcoming, and that doesn't change when you get in. The house is beautifully decorated. Every room has it's own style, with beautiful antique furniture, combined with nice decorations and very comfortable, modern luxuries. There are just a few rooms, and every guest gets special treatment. We were planning to stay here one night, but decided to extend our stay because it was so nice. Most houses won't allow small children. This is one of the few houses where we were welcome with our three year old daughter. She loved the house and staff and was made to feel like a little princess. Cathy, Joe, Annie Pearl and Rhonda couldn't be more friendly, helpful and welcoming. We had fantastic breakfasts, always with fresh fruit, nice silverware and linens. One morning Cathy made us two casseroles, one with meat and one without. I had the one without meat, and it tasted spectacular. Fluffy and warm and at least as good, if not better, than any fresh croissant I've eaten in France! We stayed in the largest room, with a huge, beautifully outfitted bathroom with a bath on lions claws. There are very thick and comfortable terrycloth bathrobes and towels. Everything feels very luxurious. Staying here made me feel like dressing up every day. The stairs go two ways and there are very nice hallways upstairs and downstairs. There are some windows with glass in lead, worth a look. Downstairs there's a beautiful formal dining room. A very nice detail is an original, very ornate, radiator with a special compartment to keep food warm. Next to it there's a very modern, spacious, friendly kitchen. In the front of the house there's a porch where we spent one early morning in the sun playing on the lawn under the old trees. We're already married, but if I had to do it again, I'd pick this place! The grounds just ask for a stylish party. It's big enough for a few hundred guests, but because of the trees and hedges it doesn't look too big. I'd love to sit outside in the evening and listen to a string quartet, because that's just the kind of place it is.
They have arrangements with a nearby spa. Someone will come over to give a massage or other treatment but unfortunately we didn't have time. They will also arrange for anything else you might be interested in, just ask!
Columbus has a lot of beautiful antebellum houses as it was spared during the civil war. We had a great time touring a few of these houses. Also the Tennessee Williams Welcome Center is definitely worth a visit. If you don't have much time, just driving around town is worthwhile. There's a very nice riverside walk. In town thare are a few nice places to eat as well.
This is a great place to stay if you appreciate beauty and history or if you want to relax and enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank imke2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus
2.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbus
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbus
Hyatt Place Columbus
#1 of 14 in Columbus
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 14 in Columbus
116 reviews
2.2 mi away
Days Inn Columbus
Days Inn Columbus
#9 of 14 in Columbus
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jackie O' House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackie O' House

Address: 1700 9th St S, Columbus, MS 39701-6900
Region: United States > Mississippi > Columbus
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Columbus
Price Range: £117 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Jackie O' House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing