We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay March 24 2013”
Review of Motel 6 Columbus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Motel 6 Columbus
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Columbus
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I agree with the previous poster, this was a nice motel at a very inexpensive rate, considering it is near MSU (about 20-25 miles) I rated excellent due to price, location, condition of room and FREE WIFI. I was put in the back of the motel, I thought on my this is not a good sign (room 156). Got to the room, didn't take bags out of car and opened the door. I was pleasantly surprised. The room was clean, looked as though had been recently painted (no odor though). I pulled the bed sheets back and all was clean. I went to the car a retrieved my belongings. Turned on the TV and just hung out on the computer for a while (FREE WI-FI) with a GREAT signal. Snuggled in for the night, no load noises, no noise from traffic on the front side of the main building, had a good nights sleep after a long drive. Got up the next morning and ready for a shower. I was surprised by the good water pressure and hot water. Only downside, which didn't matter much to me is the shower head seemed a little off center with the tub/shower and the water ever so slightly puddled at my feet. But for 39.99 (before tax) a night, who cares? Certainly not me, I have certainly stayed at worse for much more money (like the Days Inn in Starkville). It is worth driving to Columbus and staying at this Motel 6. You can not beat the nice lady at the front desk (told her the rate I saw on the internet, she said it's for 1 person and was prompt and pleasant) or the room. There is no breakfast or coffee pot in room but for the $30 I saved from going to another hotel, I can buy my food all day and pay the gas to go back to MSU for the day. Would highly recommend for those of you going to MSU for anything. I also hear there is a Krispy Kreme somewhere here in Columbus, as that is my sons favorite, I think with the money I saved I'll buy him a box. YOU WILL NOT GO WRONG STAYING HERE

Room Tip: All one level, no upstairs to bother with. I stayed in the back of the hotel and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeorgiaInvestigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2013

Decent hotel for the price, I had a corporate discount so it was actually less then $40 a night. No breakfast service, but there is coffee in the lobby in the morning. Waffle house right across the street and a Ryans steakhouse in the same parking lot. There are restaurants all up and down this street. The room was fine, the bed was clean. the shower was hot and the water pressure was good. There was a Microwave and a Mini-fridge. Overall I had a good stay, and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Fair accommodations, better than I expected with easy access to the highway. Only hotel I could find in the region with a vacancy on a football game weekend. Waffle House across the street made for a great post game snack.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TurboVol89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

This is my second time staying at this location. Both times I have been pleasantly surprised. Its an older motel, but rooms are spotless. All of the staff is wonderful. I had a small maintenance issue in my room & they were very quick to take care of it quickly. If my travels brings me back to this area this motel will be my first choice.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank just_my_work
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This is an older style Motel 6 with all rooms on one level, but the rooms are clean and comfortable to the usual Motel 6 standard. For anyone not familiar with this chain, they are basic but cheap and provide good value at the bottom end of the motel market.
There are restaurants within walking distance - a buffet style offering good choice and a Waffle House, of which I am a fan.
The desk clerk, Sandra, was extremely helpful and very friendly and an asset to the property.
I'd use this Motel again if in this area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManicUSAVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

The hotel was inexpensive, clean; had fridge and microwave. The latter could be a BIG plus, and I was frankly surprised. They did not have hair dryers or shampoo, so you better bring your own or make a short trip to the Walgreens up the street for shampoo. Very good value and I would stay here again for a stopover...even longer.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2008

The stay was very nice. The desk clerk was very helpful we come for the death of family member. My mother and I thought it was very quiet and peaceful. After a long day the rest was just what we needed. And if you want a decent place to lay your head then for the price it's very nice. The rooms may need some update. But thats not important when your tired and you just want take bath and rest your head. Thank Motel 6.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank chattiekathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 14 in Columbus
118 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbus
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbus
Hyatt Place Columbus
#2 of 14 in Columbus
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Columbus
Courtyard Columbus
#5 of 14 in Columbus
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Columbus

Address: 1203 Hwy 45 North, Columbus, MS 39705-2107
Region: United States > Mississippi > Columbus
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range: £33 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Motel 6 Columbus 1*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Columbus Mississippi is located near James Trotter Convention Center, Mississippi University for Women, and Columbus Air Force Base. Amenities at this location include Free Wi-Fi and Micro-Fridges in all modern guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Motel 6 Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Columbus
Columbus Motel Six
Columbus Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing