We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls' Night Out!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shadowlawn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Columbus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Girls' Night Out!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We were so impressed with Shadowlawn during our son's wedding in 2012. Therefore, it was the first place to come to mind when pondering a special outing for special friends. We were NOT disappointed! The rooms and food were outstanding. However, the grace and hospitality of Burnette, the owner, is the real draw here. Her charm and willingness to share her home, her beautiful treasures, and the wonderful stories connected with them will keep us coming back. My friends and had had a most memorable, blessed girls night out.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
38
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Mississippi
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My husband and I had our wedding at Shadowlawn in July. Burnett, the owner, was so helpful with the planning of our wedding ceremony and sit-down dinner. She went beyond what we expected our special day to be and even gave us a room for the evening as a gift. The room including a bathroom was spacious and very neat and clean. The next morning we had a beautiful breakfast of strawberry soup and Lobster Newberg over cheese grits. Thank you, Burnette for seeing to the finer details throughout the wedding.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springville, Utah
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We want you to know we had a marvelous time during our stay at Shadowlawn B & B on May 17 in Columbus, Mississippi. An all white Georgian mansion from the 1840's filled with antiques and serviced by the probably the most gracious hosts we have ever met--and our room and mattress were worth every minute we spent there. So, we were blessed by grace and good management under the same roof.
And breakfast was unique in offering choice and taste you don't encounter in a restaurant. What a delicious way to start the day!. We have only told all of our friends about this gem in east Mississippi so thought a few others may want to know what we discovered and so glad we did.

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs and experienced no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Booneville, Mississippi
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on business trip. Breakfast was wonderful, hospitality was amazing. Burnette is the sweetest, friendliest lady ever. She loves her home and it shows. The nicest rooms ever, beautiful large rooms with private beautiful bathroom, this B&B is a must stay. Thank Burnette you are truly amazing.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flowood ms
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

It was a great b&b to stay . Room was clean roomy bed very comfy temp was good, the food was outstanding. Miss Burnette was very friendly and a fine Southern lady. She made us feel very welcome and very attentive. She really made us feel welcomed. Would definitely stay there again

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charlenebullock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Point, Mississippi
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Me and my husband went here on our honeymoon and were completely overwhelmed with hospitality from Ms. Burnette. The house is simply beautiful and our room was exquisite. Anything that we needed, Ms. Burnette was happy to oblige. The best bed I have ever slept in, hands down. For breakfast we had apple crumble and monte cristo and it was fabulous. We hated to leave. I recommend that when you stay here, you stay the whole weekend. We can NOT wait to come back.

Room Tip: The Masters Sweet is worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Mississippi
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed here earlier this month. I really enjoyed the house as a whole and my room in particular. Slept better than I had in months. I thought having others in the house might keep me awake, but I did not here anything. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCP321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbus
Hyatt Place Columbus
#1 of 14 in Columbus
222 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbus
2.1 mi away
Best Western Executive Suites
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 14 in Columbus
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadowlawn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadowlawn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Shadowlawn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1024 College St, Columbus, MS 39701-5807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shadowlawn Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the elegant antebellum accommodations of Shadowlawn Bed & Breakfast Inn. High Speed Wi-Fi Access. Awesome Gourmet Breakfast. Plush Bedding, Professionally Laundered. Located in Columbus Historic District. Christian Owned and Operated. Weddings, Rehearsals, Bridesmaids Luncheons, Honeymoons, Private Luncheons & Dinners, Bible Studies, Garden Clubs, Retreats, Theme Parties, Girls' Getaway. “Do not neglect to show hospitality to strangers for thereby some have entertained angels unawares.” - Hebrews 13:2 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Shadowlawn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing