We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Little Slice of Heaven on Earth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shadowlawn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Columbus B&B and Inns
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
“A Little Slice of Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My family and I came to Columbus for a wedding and after researching the rates of nice hotels in the area found that this Antebellum Bed and Breakfast home had rates that were comparable to those large chain hotels with so much more than just a bed to sleep in. We decided to give this lovely local business owner our business and are so happy that we did. When we arrived, we were overwhelmed by not only the estate but the warmth in which we were greeted by the owner and her assistant. Even though we had met that moment, it felt as if we had known them always. The beautifully peaceful home is inviting and full of all kinds of treasures to see and learn about. Our 10 year old son and 18 year old daughter were more than entertained while staying in this living history lesson. The homemade breakfasts were absolutely delicious and each course was presented with such detail. We cannot wait to go and visit Shadowlawn, our friend Ms. Burnette and Caesar the precious door-dog again!

Room Tip: All are unique, but the French Doubles connected to the King Suite is the BEST!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
38
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Caledonia
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I thought Shadowlawn was truly delightful! A remnant of the old south in a beautiful, quant, small southern town. The atmosphere was delightful and the people who run it are a national treasure. Great food, a wonderful reception, a truly unbelievable venue. I would recommend Shadowlawn to anyone who wants a great experience and a taste of a bygone ere. Columbus Mississippi is a magical place with whispers of the past on every corner but with a modern attitude. The people are very polite and helpful and our trip was a smashing good time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I recently had the privilege of attending a wedding at Shadowlawn Bed and Breakfast in Columbus, MS. It was lovely in every aspect of the word. The beautiful antebellum home and treasured antiques accented the wedding perfectly. What a precious sight to see the gorgeous bride walking down the historic stairs arm and arm with her sweet young grandson. After the ceremony, we sat down at a gorgeous table set with beautiful silver and stunning flower arrangements for an absolutely delicious dinner served by our gracious hostess and owner of the home, Burnette Avakian and her staff. The wedding and evening were perfect in every way. I would fully recommend Shadowlawn Bed and Breakfast to anyone looking to have a memorable and quaint southern wedding.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeRidder, Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

On July 21st a friend surprised my sister in law and I to a stay at Shadowlawn Bed & Breakfast. We were in awe of the beauty of the home upon our arrival. This is just not a bed and breakfast, but a home that is warm and inviting. During the tour of the home we heard the personal stories behind many of the antique pieces. Having been to several B&B's, this one has the best collection of antiques. The rooms are large, comfortable and quiet. The next morning we drank coffee on the back porch in our pj's and then was treated to a delicious breakfast of strawberry soup, baked figs and monte cristos. The table setting was beautiful. The owner, Brunette, is a precious Godly woman. She made us feel so welcome as if we were part of her family and answered all our questions. I'm already planning my next stay with a group of girlfriends and possibly even an anniversary trip. Can't say enough positive things about this place and the owner.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tawill0513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We were so impressed with Shadowlawn during our son's wedding in 2012. Therefore, it was the first place to come to mind when pondering a special outing for special friends. We were NOT disappointed! The rooms and food were outstanding. However, the grace and hospitality of Burnette, the owner, is the real draw here. Her charm and willingness to share her home, her beautiful treasures, and the wonderful stories connected with them will keep us coming back. My friends and had had a most memorable, blessed girls night out.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Mississippi
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My husband and I had our wedding at Shadowlawn in July. Burnett, the owner, was so helpful with the planning of our wedding ceremony and sit-down dinner. She went beyond what we expected our special day to be and even gave us a room for the evening as a gift. The room including a bathroom was spacious and very neat and clean. The next morning we had a beautiful breakfast of strawberry soup and Lobster Newberg over cheese grits. Thank you, Burnette for seeing to the finer details throughout the wedding.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springville, Utah
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We want you to know we had a marvelous time during our stay at Shadowlawn B & B on May 17 in Columbus, Mississippi. An all white Georgian mansion from the 1840's filled with antiques and serviced by the probably the most gracious hosts we have ever met--and our room and mattress were worth every minute we spent there. So, we were blessed by grace and good management under the same roof.
And breakfast was unique in offering choice and taste you don't encounter in a restaurant. What a delicious way to start the day!. We have only told all of our friends about this gem in east Mississippi so thought a few others may want to know what we discovered and so glad we did.

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs and experienced no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbus
Hyatt Place Columbus
#2 of 14 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Columbus
Courtyard Columbus
#4 of 14 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbus
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 14 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadowlawn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadowlawn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Shadowlawn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1024 College St, Columbus, MS 39701-5807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shadowlawn Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the elegant antebellum accommodations of Shadowlawn Bed & Breakfast Inn. High Speed Wi-Fi Access. Awesome Gourmet Breakfast. Plush Bedding, Professionally Laundered. Located in Columbus Historic District. Christian Owned and Operated. Weddings, Rehearsals, Bridesmaids Luncheons, Honeymoons, Private Luncheons & Dinners, Bible Studies, Garden Clubs, Retreats, Theme Parties, Girls' Getaway. “Do not neglect to show hospitality to strangers for thereby some have entertained angels unawares.” - Hebrews 13:2 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Shadowlawn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing