We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Older building but great staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of River Chase Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
River Chase Inn
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Columbus
Lamar, Mississippi
Level Contributor
170 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Older building but great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

it is an older hotel, but room was neat and clean.
The breakfast was very similar to most comparable hotels. Biscuits and gravy, sausage and eggs, pancake maker, etc...

We had about 75- 100 folks in our group there and everyone seemed pleased. we will return in the future for other events.

Room Tip: I had 2nd floor back corner. it was quiet and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ss309556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    5
    8
    3
    6
See reviews for
9
4
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Locust Fork, Alabama
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here once back in august and had a wonderful experience. Good pricing and easy interstate access. However the second time was terrible. Not only was the continental breakfast pretty much nonexistent and cold, They promised us 2 rooms for $50 a night for 2 nights totaling just over 200$. We ended up getting charged over $400!!!! They wouldn't refund it. And when we called and questioned them they were unreasonably rude. We would never stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank southernwolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Columbus hotels

Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

I saw some of the less than stellar reviews only after I checked into this hotel and for the life of me cannot see any of the problems they cite.

The room was clean, the breakfast was decent and I liked that they have a fitness room with a TV., The lobby includes a business center and the staff was super courteous.

As it is Columbus, Mississippi, I found this hotel to be a real pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morrisovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Hotels in Columbus, Starkville were all sold out - football game. Which left us with this hotel... never again. I'll sleep in the car before spending another night in their completely unacceptable rooms. Dirt in all heating/ventilation ducts, stains on carpet, non-smoking room that smelled strongly of smoke - and something that died, fridge with mold, micowave with no turn-table and food remaining from who knows when, checked the bed for bed-bugs, which I did not find but did revel many other stains, cigarette ashes, food particles, very loud highway noise, people hanging out in the shadows late at night drinking out of paper sacks...

Do not even consider this hotel in Columbus. Based on this experience, if this Brand has other properties I would place them also on a very strict no-stay list.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy1098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenore B, Regional VP of Hotel Operations at River Chase Inn, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us. I want to apologize for your experience and assure you that I will be following up with the property. Our goal is to make your stay as comfortable and friendly as possible and comments like this help us to identify areas we need to continue to work on. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Didn't see the mildew until I was ready for my bath. Showed Angela the next morning and she said the manager would give me credit for half of the 97.01 I paid. Get my visa and no credit, call to manager Deborah and she said no way was it promised to me. Take my advise and don't book this hotel, I have paid less and had cleaner rooms. I will never stay here again. I will post pictures of the mildew. I guess the maid have never cleaned the bath. You know what manager would have credited me if she wanted my business again, that tells you something. You only stay here if all the other hotels are booked and you have no choice. Sad.
J. Moore

Room Tip: If you want a clean room don't stay here. Very noisy too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, Mississippi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

We had to book a last-minute room for a graduation in Starkville, MS.

The room wasn't fantastic, but it wasn't terrible, either. I felt safe and it was clean enough. The TV worked, the A/C worked (perhaps a little too well; we were freezing), the toilet worked, the shower worked. The bed was comfortable. The room came with a considerably sized mini fridge and an old, but functional microwave. Everything important was there. I wish they would pay a little more attention to their bathroom; it was far from sparkling clean and I felt rather grossed out walking around in there barefoot. The tub mat was halfway peeled up, too.

My mother complained about allergy problems in the room, but neither my father nor myself experienced the same problems while we share most of her allergy problems, so I'm inclined to think it was psychosomatic. Still, if you have bad allergies, you might want to consider a room elsewhere.

Most, if not all, of the rooms are entered from outdoor walkways, not indoor hallways. I felt safe, but I know some folks have problems with those types of rooms.

Breakfast was worse than average for most free hotel breakfasts I've had before. The choices were very limited, and the stuff that was supposed to be hot was lukewarm at best. Stick to the cereal. On the other hand, they were booked to the gills for a bass tournament that same weekend, so it could have been that their breakfast buffet was ransacked before we even got a chance to visit it.

The front desk service was very friendly.

If there are other places open in Columbus, I would recommend them over River Chase, but if this is the nearest hotel with rooms available, it's definitely not a terrible place to stay.

Room Tip: If you can choose a room, go for the second floor. As the rooms open straight to the outdoors, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snazaretian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biloxi, Mississippi
Level Contributor
219 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

This motel was previously a Hampton Inn. Average rooms were ok but spots on carpet and mice traps on floor were disconcerting.

Breakfast was a disgrace, Cold sausage, no egss left and stale cold biquits at 7:00 AM.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martinibill7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbus
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Columbus
Days Inn Columbus
#9 of 13 in Columbus
3.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 13 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbus
Hyatt Place Columbus
#2 of 13 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Columbus
Courtyard Columbus
#4 of 13 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Chase Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Chase Inn

Property: River Chase Inn
Address: 2015 Military Road, Columbus, MS 39701-3617 (Formerly Hampton Inn Columbus)
Region: United States > Mississippi > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River Chase Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your River Chase Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Chase Hotel Columbus
Hampton Inn Columbus
Columbus Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing