We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange yet lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Midgard Country Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Midgard B&B and Inns
Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Strange yet lovely place”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Midgard is a massive property with lovely surroundings. I do think that it is an establishment suitable for a family visit during summertime only. We stayed there during the month of August and were quite surprised that we were one of only two rooms occupied (out of a 60+ room establishment).
The sheer size of the property makes it quite difficult to maintain and there are a few signs of decay.
The rooms are extremely spacious and clean (and a bit more modern than the exterior of the property) and in my opinion is the best thing about Midgard.
The breakfast is also very good compared to lunch and dinner that were below par.

I do not think that it is a first or last night stop for your trip to Namibia, but more suitable for a summer family trip if you have 6-12 year old children. It is also more suitable for conferences in my opinion.

I am torn about what rating to give Midgard as the potential for a great establishment is certainly there. Will stick to average for now.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSAWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    29
    15
    9
    0
See reviews for
30
14
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Turlock, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

My mother-in-law booked us at Midgard for another taste of Namibia. Again, I continue to be amazed by this beautiful country.

After a drive over 60+ km of gravel road to get to Midgard from Windhoek, someone from the US or Western Europe may feel a bit tired from the bumpy drive. Welcome to Africa! There are a lot of roads like this in Namibia and other parts of Africa. At the end of this drive, there were some initial reservations about the Estate when entering because of the old building that need serious attention. However, once you arrive at the Guest House and facilities, it was amazing.

The Estate has recently undergone an ownership change from what we understand. The staff and especially Manager's went out of their way to ensure we had a truly fantastic stay. There is a lot to do already at this retreat in the Namibian wilderness, ... and I would welcome any family to come and stay.

I know that I would like to come back here for a longer stay next time.

Truly remarkable!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jdl-Expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Namibia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I visited Midgard several times and each visit was like a breath of the fresh air! Estate is situated right in the Namibian bush, near scenic hills and rock formations, adding to the "special feel" which Midgard already has. Hotel and restaurant is set among beautiful, old trees in quiet and restful atmosphere. I enjoyed swimming in sparkling pools, outdoor dinning, bowling, game rides and just walking through these amazing place. It feels as if so much stories, memories, history and indescribable aura was all "locked up" at Midgard, making it a very special and unusual place! You will definitely rest and refresh there, either alone or with family or friends. It's just one of those exceptional places...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaSmaNa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Namibia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I stayed at Midgard with my wife and my son, nearby Windhoek is deffinetly the best place to stay.
The property is beautiful, the gardens huge and green, 2 big swimingpools, a very big and safe playground for children next to the pool allowing the parents to relax at the pool while watching the kids, a bowlling house is available complementary for all the guests, very nice to spend some time, in the night we can watch the stars with a very good stargeyser.
The service is very good and the food above average. I strongly recommend to anyone that likes quietness and relax. The property also offers some game and 4x4 drives are available.

Room Tip: Luxury rooms, very good, very big with a comfortable balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francisco-Namibia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swakopmund, Namibia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Midgard Country Estate is the most peacefull, quiet location just outside Okahandja, to get a well deserved rest. This lodge gives you value for money as well as style incorporated. The food is just out of the books and with breakfast served under the trees in the garden if you like, it cannot get any better. Your bedtime is splended with white linen to dream of, spoilt every night with a chocolate on your pillow so many things to see and do there.... do yourself a favour and book now please......
Okkie & Nicci Theron

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank okkie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paarl, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Don't let the 60km's of gravel road leading up to Midgard Country Estate make you turn around...arriving at Midgard we were welcomed by an extremely friendly staff member (Julian) in a golf cart with some ice cold wipes to freshen up on a hot summers day in Namibia. At reception a round of refreshing drinks were served and our luggage was taken to our rooms in no time. I've been to a few places in Namibia, but the friendly and kind service at Midgard is in another league! The gardens, pools and rooms are in a mint condition and a family holiday paradise. Air conditioned rooms with private entrances and crisp white linen ensures that you get a wonderful night's rest. The buffet dinner and breakfasts are both very generous and again the service of the staff blew me away. We had a 3 year old that wanted ice cream (not on the buffet) and it was no trouble for the staff to get some for him. We will make this an annual family holiday destination from now on!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiezelF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

had a fantastic fun stay, the staff could not be more attentive and friendly without hassling. My colleagues and I certainly enjoyed the bowling alley! Location can be difficult but worth it!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeresaM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midgard
0.0 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
326 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
Mokuti Etosha Lodge
#3 of 35 in Etosha National Park
791 reviews
0.0 mi away
Leopard Lodge
Leopard Lodge
#56 of 80 in Windhoek
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Damara Mopane Lodge
Damara Mopane Lodge
#1 of 5 in Khorixas
402 reviews
0.0 mi away
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge
#1 of 80 in Windhoek
373 reviews
0.0 mi away
Namib Desert Lodge
Namib Desert Lodge
#5 of 29 in Namib-Naukluft Park
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midgard Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midgard Country Estate

Property: Midgard Country Estate
Address: Farm 191 | 90 Minutes from Windhoek or Okahandja, Midgard 9000, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Otjozondjupa Region > Midgard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Midgard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Midgard Country Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acquired in 1937, Carl Werner List originally farmed the 12 000 hectare estate and eventually developed this private and intimate world into a household name in Namibia. Today you are invited to enjoy the tranquility of Midgard. Midgard Country Estate offers 46 fully equipped rooms, Carl’s Dining Room & Bar, two swimming pools, a gym and sauna as well as Namibia’s one and only private skittle alley (Kegelbahn). Choose between one of our 35 Standard Rooms, 5 Family Rooms or 5 Luxury Rooms with views overlooking the swimming pools, gardens, courtyard or mountains. Our self-catering units at the trains offer an alternative for all guests who prefer a true “camping experience” at highly affordable rates. The estate is spaciously situated in a sprawling country garden, bordering the Swakop River Valley. At Midgard we invite you to relax and have fun; feel free to soak up the ambiance and simply unwind; or explore the outdoors on our hiking and mountain trails, play bowling, volleyball, tennis, table tennis, pool or outdoor chess or view our vintage car collection. One of the estate’s major attractions is a Hilltop Sundowner Drive, where you can enjoy a stunning 360° view over the Otjihavera Mountains with a refreshing sundowner in hand. We also offer morning or afternoon Game Drives through the separate 2 000 hectare nature reserve, along the Swakop River. Our game park is home to giraffes, blue and black wildebeests, oryx, kudus, hartebeests, eland, smaller antelope species, warthogs and baboons. If luck is on your side, even brown hyena and leopards can be spotted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Midgard Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing