We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Natural haven on the Natchez Trace”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in French Camp
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
French Camp Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 French Camp B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Natural haven on the Natchez Trace”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stay in the big house or in a cabin. Reasonable price and breakfast included. Very friendly staff with entertaining stories of their history...It is a very small area, so make sure you eat or arrange for food, as the town shuts down early...

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRealMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    20
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
62
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Very quiet with good food, very different style of accommodation as well which was nice for us as we tried to see all aspects of the south in a brief 10 day road trip. Good value too which adds to the charm. No one likes being ripped off and French Camp is as far from that as you can get. It is nice to stay on the Trace as well which let's you stay in the peaceful world that bit longer. Breakfast was great too.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool but I couldn't delete the rating so ignore that
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davros222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Wow! A highlight of our trip. Beautiful cabin, historic village, friendly staff and great food. A great place to stop if you are driving the Natchez Trace. Cabins provide privacy. Loved the place! Not too expensive with breakfast included. Chef was superb. Muffins, frittata, and more! Can't spend the night ? Stop anyway to visit and grab a bite at the cafe.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingTeacher7272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tupelo
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

What a delightful place to spend the night. This is a rustic lodge without TV, but it does have Wifi, although reception is slow and intermittent. I stayed in Sallies Room, which appears to be one of the larger rooms, upstairs in the main log house. Sallies Room and all of the main house were very clean, neat and comfortable. Sure the floors and bed squeak, which would be expected and only add to the rustic ambiance and character of this old log structure. The bed was quite comfortable with lots of plush pillows and clean, white bed coverings, a ceiling fan and air conditioning. It was totally quiet as I had the entire main house lodge to myself.

I strolled down the boardwalk out back to the Carriage House restaurant which has a limited menu of sandwiches, soup and desserts. It was all that I needed and I enjoyed the walk to and from the restaurant. They close at 7 sharp so come early enough to be finished and your bill paid by 7pm.

The large, log-walled dining room with large windows has a stone fireplace and seats 20. A superb breakfast of crepes, fresh fruit, fresh-squeezed OJ, sausage links, and scrambled eggs was served promptly at 8am...and I was the only guest. Every staff member I met was extremely polite, friendly and eager to please.

I will definitely stay here again and recommend it to my friends. Don't come expecting a Hilton because this is a rustic B&B, not part of a chain. And, all the proceeds stay in the community to help the French Camp Academy.

Room Tip: Annie's Room would be my first choice if staying in the main house. It's upstairs on the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCA_Guest_Services, Manager at French Camp Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us, John. We certainly appreciate your review and your room tip. In your tip I think perhaps you were referring to Sallie's Rooms as we don't have a room named Annie's Room, though that would make a good name, too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2013

French Camp B&B is located in the middle of the Natchez Parkway, in a small village known for its Christian boarding school. The log cabin style rooms are well-kept, clean, and equipped with a slow but functional wi-fi. The breakfast was delicious, but there's only one option for dinner and it closes at 7PM. Safety could be improved, as the main building is unlocked with no guardian, and individual rooms only have a simple door lock. Hopefully, the numerous Bibles in the B&B are sufficient to keep you safe.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My husband and our two children (ages 9 and 13) stayed here for the weekend. The kids loved the log cabin, (especially the loft) we loved having them all to ourselves with almost no interference from electronics. Great way to get back to nature, we went hiking, and explored around town. Wonderful breakfast included each day but would recommend bringing additional food/snacks as availability in town is limited. A great stay if you want to recharge and "get away from it all"

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCA_Guest_Services, Manager at French Camp Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad you found your time with us restful and relaxing. Thank you for mentioning the ceiling height of the rooms in the Main House. For anyone wondering, the ceilings in the Main House rooms are all around 7 feet tall.

Hope to have you with us again soon!
Summer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastaboga, Al.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Our Stay!

Margaret and I have never enjoyed a stay anywhere that we enjoyed more. I have no suggestions as to how it could have been better. We plan to come back in Oct. and to bring friends with us. Sissy, Summer and Felecia were like family and could not have been more helpful and kind. All, really southern ladies. Comfortable room, great food, both in the B&B and the restaurant. We were impressed with the Academy and the kids that we were able to meet. Our prayers and support go out to the entire Academy staff and faculty. Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trull H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near French Camp
18.0 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Eupora
30 reviews
20.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 3 in Kosciusko
44 reviews
19.9 mi away
Super 8 Kosciusko
Super 8 Kosciusko
#3 of 3 in Kosciusko
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 3 in Louisville
33 reviews
24.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona North
20.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Kosciusko/North Carthage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Camp Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Camp Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: French Camp Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 100 Robinson Drive, French Camp, MS 39745
Region: United States > Mississippi > French Camp
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in French Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
French Camp Academy’s Bed and Breakfast is one of the few B & Bs located adjacent to the Natchez Trace Parkway. In 1986, French Camp Academy moved two clerestory log cabins built between 1840 and 1870 from Eupora, Mississippi, to French Camp. They were placed side by side and joined together with an addition matching the period architecture. Some of the original pine logs are 18 inches in diameter. The inn officially began receiving visitors in March 1987. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing