We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Home Towne Studios - Gautier
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gautier
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We traveled down for a baseball tournament and had to book a hotel for at least 5 nights. We wanted a kitchen so price wise this was the best deal we could find. It wasn't until the night before I realized that it isn't a full kitchen just a mini fridge, microwave and stovetop. Since I planned on fixing a majority of our meals I was a little nervous on how a mini fridge would work.

The property itself is nice and looks clean. The rooms are small for an extended stay. Usually these kind of hotels give you a little more space in the rooms because most people tend to bring more stuff when they are staying more than just a few nights. I rearranged the room to maximize the space but it was still pretty tight. I was able to get all our food in the fridge but that was mainly because I scaled down what I brought due to it being such a small fridge. The stove was nice to have.

On the fridge was a magnet stating that they only service rooms on Wednesday and that is when you would get fresh towels. If you wanted towels any other time there would be an extra charge. (Our stay was Thursday-Tuesday) We did our best to hang up our towels so we could reuse and even resorted to using our beach towels we brought but after the 3rd day we bit the bullet and went down to ask for more towels. As far as I know we were not charged for the towels and the front desk lady told my husband that we could get fresh towels anytime we wanted, it would have been nice to know in the beginning.

The laundry is open 24 hours but the front desk is not. They do not have a change machine in the laundry room (this needs to be added) so the first night after a late game I had to wash my son's baseball uniform but couldn't get change. I had to run to a store just so I could get some quarters.

The pool was nice and even though it said girls had to wear bathing caps it wasn't enforced. (Good!)

The rooms was clean as well as the bathroom.

Overall, the hotel wasn't the best experience but if my family ever had to go down that way for an extended time we would stay again. The price is hard to beat. We would just be better prepared for the hotel next time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenya P, Front Office Manager at Home Towne Studios - Gautier, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Sir or Madem,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Property CHI
Guest Services Representative
Suburban Exteneded Stay
228-497-1722

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Had no problems booking the room at all and later realized that I never got a confirmation email or phone call like at several hotels I have stayed in before but I went with this hotel anyway. After a 4 and a half hour drive I made it there and the lady who checked me in was nice and helpful ( checked in on 6/27/14 ) could have been better but seems to be use to the norm, got to the room and yes it was normal size for this type of room but the building is old and poorly constructed because you can literally hear ever step someone takes up stairs and on the stair case near the room, the biggest problem was asking for more towels, I was told to bring my towels up which was three sets and I got only two back, it was you were bothering the staff when you ask for things that they should provide for guests, I was not pleased and can go on for hours but just to let you know I picked this hotel because my company has use it several times and we do get a rate and I didn't even ask for it thinking I was doing something good for your hotel but trust and believe I will pass along to everyone on our management team to never use this place again and FYI your rooms can be cleaner and teach you staff to unlock the gate to the picnic area on the other side of the pool instead of saying "I don't know but I will send somebody but it will be a while" (and Noone came). I really will contact someone about this and if not my money back at least show some type of change

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank 372terencel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenya P, Front Office Manager at Home Towne Studios - Gautier, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Sir or Madem,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Property CHI
Guest Services Representative
Suburban Exteneded Stay
228-497-1722

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

After having a horrible experience in pascagoula wrong was very pleased to find such a great room for our money. Very friendly staff. Sheets could have been cleaner but we had our own linens so not a big deal. After the horrible experience in pascagoula this was like a Hilton.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sheena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenya P, Front Office Manager at Home Towne Studios - Gautier, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Sir or Madem,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Property CHI
Guest Services Representative
Suburban Exteneded Stay
228-497-1722

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I worried a bit about booking this hotel due to some past reviews, but I needn't have worried at all. Front desk staff was pleasant and helpful, our room was 3rd floor at rear of hotel (there is an elevator) and was large, fresh smelling and clean. It had a kitchenette, which we did not use, but it was fully stocked and ready for someone who might be staying longer than overnight. We were right over the pool area, but we could not hear any noise from it in our room. It was reasonably priced, not too far from dining venues and quite a comfortable room. It was so worth the stay. A past reviewer complained about outlets, there were plenty to charge all our electronics , and the carpets were clean as could be. No bugs no problems at all.

Room Tip: Room 340, at rear of hotel gives some privacy as it is the last room on the upper floor and no one i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patsy44404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenya P, Front Office Manager at Home Towne Studios - Gautier, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Patsy,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Property CHI
Guest Services Representative
Suburban Exteneded Stay
228-497-1722

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I made reservation a month ahead as we only have reunion once a year. I'm 75 and my wife is 72.
we both have health problems and must sleep with breathing machines . I must sleep on an oxygen converter as I have copd.
we checked in and went to our room . There was no electrical outlets for us to plug in our sleep machines or my oxygen converter. management did not offer to try to find us a different motel. management said you did not make reservation through us so you will have to get your money $161.00
back from company you made reservation with. I told her we made reservation from internet phone number . the desk person told me we paid a
reservation fee of roughly $ 40.00 because we booked room on the internet. I think we should have been told about this fee when we reserved this room. We missed reunion and had to return home.I was in the marines for 21 years, and I've stayed in motels all over the world. this property is not
as good as some I've stayed at in poverty countries.

Room Tip: check out property before you make a reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenya P, Front Office Manager at Home Towne Studios - Gautier, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Sir or Madem,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Property CHI
Guest Services Representative
Suburban Exteneded Stay
228-497-1722

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Our reservations were made through an online website (Travelocity) and they made an error with the rate. The hotel representative, Jennifer Schrader, was very helpful in trying to correct the situation. Travelocity would not correct the error. Jennifer (front desk rep) made the adjustment and allowed us to check in. She was very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jwoulfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenya P, Front Office Manager at Home Towne Studios - Gautier, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Sir or Madem,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Property CHI
Guest Services Representative
Suburban Exteneded Stay
228-497-1722

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel because it had a pool even though we could not swim because we were not aware we had to have swimming caps to swim per the rules posted.Basically, Our room had roaches, I dont know how being as the over powering smell of Bug Spray practically knocked you out when you walked in. The bathroom floor was sticky and the tub was not clean, also there was dried toilet paper stuck to the wall by the sink. Another thing that was really weird was that they made anyone old enough that had ID had to give it to them so they could photocopy it. Made us feel very uncomfortable being as most of us had our ss # on our ID's. I know it is not the fault of the hotel but the water is completely brown and is very hard to get the soap off of yourself also you feel slimey when you get out. Plus side was our rooms had brand new mattresses which were very comfortable and the ladies at the front desk were very polite and helpful as well as the housekeeper.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsmc1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenya P, Front Office Manager at Home Towne Studios - Gautier, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Sir or Madem,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Property CHI
Guest Services Representative
Suburban Exteneded Stay
228-497-1722

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gautier
8.5 mi away
Best Western Flagship Inn
Best Western Flagship Inn
#2 of 9 in Moss Point
303 reviews
7.8 mi away
Studio 6 Ocean Springs
Studio 6 Ocean Springs
#4 of 9 in Ocean Springs
60 reviews
8.6 mi away
Studio 6
Studio 6
#2 of 6 in Pascagoula
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Singing River Inn
Singing River Inn
#3 of 6 in Pascagoula
24 reviews
8.6 mi away
Days Inn Moss Point Pascagoula
1.6 mi away
Ante Bellum Manor
Ante Bellum Manor
#2 of 4 in Gautier
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Towne Studios - Gautier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Towne Studios - Gautier

Address: 3491 Dolphin Rd, Gautier, MS 39553-5828 (Formerly Sun Suites of Gautier)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Gautier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gautier
Price Range: £31 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Home Towne Studios - Gautier 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in bustling Gautier, Mississippi, Home-Towne Studios of Gautier offers affordable extended stay lodging accommodations for business and family travelers at a weekly rate. Home-Towne Studios of Gautier has 126 comfortably furnished guest rooms equipped with full kitchens and living areas. The hotel has easy access to Hwy 90, bowling and beaches. The hotel boasts a friendly staff and excellent customer service. For added convenience, the hotel provides free parking, Wi-Fi, and guest laundry services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Home Towne Studios - Gautier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing