We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Water had an odor with a rust color to it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Greenville
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Water had an odor with a rust color to it”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I was in room 102 ground floor facing the back side, very quiet location.

The staff were friendly and the price was only $50.00 dollars. Had all the amenities you would expect in a 2 star motel except a coffee machine. The rooms were clean, bed was comfortable, the wifi was strong, came with a free basic continental breakfast.

The only thing I could fault was the water had an odor with a rust color to it, probably from rusting pipes or the water here has a high mineral content, decided to brush my teeth with bottled water and skip the shower.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank curious24seven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    5
    11
    10
    8
See reviews for
9
11
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2014

After reading reviews, about this hotel, I almost didn't stay here. However, the price was so good, I took the chance. I am so glad we did. Our room was spacious and nicely decorated. We had a very comfortable king size bed, a nice tv and refrigerator. There was a partition with a couch. The vanity was wide and easily accessed by two people. When I made the reservation I requested a ground floor room away from the highway and that is what we got. It was nice and quiet. The continental breakfast was just that-- a nice selection of pastries, cereal, milk, juice and coffee. I would definitely stay here again. Other hotels very close to this one were much more expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for room around inner courts
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia Heights, MN
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

I needed to stay in Greenville for one night and initially checked out Harlow's and Greenville Inn & Suites but I did not want to pay their rates for just a good night's sleep. So I settled for the much more reasonably priced America's Best Value Inn, located on U.S. 82, and am glad I did. Everything I needed and more was provided. The bed was comfortable with clean somewhat new linens. The television, while an older model, had a good picture and came with a variety of basic cable channels. The room came with an iron, board, coffee maker, hair dryer, microwave, and refrigerator. The free internet access was excellent. The morning breakfast was basic but filling.

I only had two complaints and they were not enough to affect the rating. First, there were no tissues in the tissue dispenser. Also, I had a room (#201) that faced the highway. While not disturbingly loud, you can hear cars passing by. If that bothers you, I would request a room that faces inward towards the pool (which was not open on the April day that I was there). All things considered, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank twocars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

After a long travel day, it appeared to be decent. Plenty of large vehicle parking for just about everything from campers to semi trucks. The evening Attendant was a very nice lady. She issued me the towels for the room at the check-in desk.

The room was a typical low-budget room. (Thrown together quickly with paint and minimal attention to details). The carpet needed to be vacuumed by someone who cared about doing a better job. The shower tile was racked with mildew as was the trailing edge of the disgustingly filthy shower curtain. (Most hotels WASH their shower curtains BEFORE they get THIS BAD..)

The bed was, however, quite comfortable.... Once I got past the odor coming from the air conditioner unit for the room.

So... I guess, this one gets a POOR review... Except for the check-in Lady. She was pleasant and apologetic.

Will I stay again...??? ONLY IF THE OTHERS ARE BOOKED AND I REALLY HAVE TO.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carbontravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mineshp1382, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 13 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. I have discussed the issues you had with our HK staff and have asked Maintenance to check out all the A/C units. Please give us another chance if you are ever in our area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Greenville hotels

Jackson, Wyoming
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2012

I'm confused as I read some of the previous positive reviews. I can only conclude that maybe I got a room that had not YET been remodeled. This hotel should be shut down now! They should not be allowed to continue operating under a chain name. The lobby is desserted, the hotel is in desperate need of remodeling, and there was pubic hairs in the towels. I'm from Greenville and this hotel is UNKEPT! You may as well continue down the road and find a sleezy hourly rate type of place for nightlife. Ammenities are a joke. Who would want to eat there after seeing the rooms? I wouldn't even call that continental breakfast.

Room Tip: Go somewhere cheaper. You will get the same value. They are Overpriced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msshan601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mymorgan2008
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

As a Greenville native, I have seen most of the hotels come and go. This hotel was the Ramada Inn for years. The new owners have made great improvements to the property since the rebranding. I have always used this hotel when family or clients come to town. I average twice a month booking a room there. The rates are always around $50 and the staff has always been very friendly. Yes, some rooms could use a little work but the owner is steady making improvements. I would rather stay somewhere that the people are friendly, the location is safe, and restaurants are close by. Shoney's is directly across the street. McDonalds is 1/4 of a mile down the street. A local BBQ place is next to K-Mart, which is also across the street. 1/2 a mile down the street is Huddle House and Kroger. The location is prime the rooms are usually very clean. Yes there may be some noise from the US Hwy 82 but just ask for a room away from the hwy. With the owner/managers on site, there should not be any problems that cannot be resolved in a timely manner.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mymorgan2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mineshp1382, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 13 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. if you are ever in our area again we welcome to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnemucca, Nevada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We booked this hotel online because we were attending the Leland, MS Blues Festival. Got there around 1:00 pm and got checked in no problem. I had asked for 2 first floor rooms and we got those. The lobby area looks nice, and so does the front of the motel. Our room was on a corridor of rooms that surround and over look the pool. Which is a nice concept except in this case. The pool looked like it's been out of use for years and wasn't completely drained, so you had a layer of green moss and mold that looked really bad. They would do better to at least tarp it, or better yet, fill it in and make a nice patio area out there. The rooms were big, ours had a king size bed which was wonderful! You could tell it had been recently replaced. The sheets, bedding and pillows were great, nice and crisp. They had replaced the bathroom vanity with what looks like granite countertop. It had a coffee maker, ironing board, iron, hair dryer, nice tv, refrig and microwave. Can't complain there...
The bathroom is another story and the carpeting in the rooms...the bathroom ..the toilet seat appeared to have been around for 40 years..it was broken and their was no lid. The veneer skin on the door was peeling in big strips, vent fan didn't work..carpet throughout was frayed, definitely needs replacing..
They offer a continental breakfast, and that's exactly what it is. You can have toast (white) cereal, instant oatmeal, the basics. There appeared to be a bowl of fruit at the end of the counter, and I saw people going over to get an apple, but it was plastic.
The young man who checked us in was friendly, there was another older man who we saw a few times (assuming he's owner or something) not friendly at all, avoided all eye contact with us. We actually heard him berating one of the housekeepers when we first got there..very unprofessional.
Greenville seems to be a very depressed town, lots of fast food places but very few restaurants. Shoneys is across the street, but I would definitely AVOID that place for sure. You will see I have reviewed our horrible experience there.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kenneth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Greenville
Econo Lodge Greenville
#4 of 9 in Greenville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Greenville
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Greenville MS
Days Inn Greenville MS
#5 of 9 in Greenville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Harlow's Casino Resort & Hotel
17.0 mi away
Days Inn Lake Village
Days Inn Lake Village
#1 of 2 in Lake Village
3.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
22.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 5 in Indianola
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Property: Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Address: 2700 Highway 82 E, Greenville, MS 38703-8215
Region: United States > Mississippi > Greenville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Greenville. We are near the Leland Chamber-Henson Exhibit, Arkansas State University Heritage Site, Bayou Caddy's Jubilee Casino, Lighthouse Point Casino, and Washington County Convention Center. After a fun filled day in the area, enjoy a tasty meal at one of the local restaurants such as Catfish To Go, How Joy Restaurant, or Shoney's. Our professional 24-hour staff is here to help make our pet friendly Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Greenville your home away from home. Start your day right with our free continental breakfast and a free in-lobby newspaper. Take advantage of our four on-site meeting rooms. Rest in the privacy of your own guest room with amenities including free wireless high-speed Internet access, microwave, mini-fridge, coffeemaker, cable TV with HBO, iron, and free local calls. Children age 16 and younger stay free in their parent's room with existing bedding. At Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Greenville, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing