We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tallahatchie Flats

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenwood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tallahatchie Flats
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unique place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on our way down south ,it was a good experience ,I assume if you are intending a stay here you would have an idea of what not to expect ,it is not a five star hotel ,but the places are clean the showers and air conditioning all worked fine,they are all decorated in period style ,there were six of us and we had three units between us so we had our own little community,although we could have all fitted into one .nice to see loads of humming birds buzzing around the site ,spent a peacfull night chilling out on the porch ,take some beer with you as the bar was not open.
We could have stayed in any number of faceless hotels but this was a good choice and a good memory...recommended

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    14
    7
    0
    4
See reviews for
11
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

The Tallahatchie Flats are impressive and historically fascinating. Unfortunately the airconditioning did not work/had no effect in a very damp/moldy house... the humidity was a bit too much for this traveller and it took away from the experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frida K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

We loved our stay at Tallahatchie Flats - it remains one of the best experiences of our US trip.
This accomodation is not for everyone, if you like modern hotels with no character then this place is not for you, but if you want the quintessential Mississippi cotton plantation experience, and are not afraid of something a little different then give this a go.
The shacks, are just that - shacks. Ours had 2 bedrooms, a fully working kitchen and a small but adequate bathroom ( the shower is pretty tiny, but plenty strong and hot enough). The shacks are also decorated to reflect what they are eg wallpapered with old newspapers, or left rustic.
They also have a front and back porch where you can sit and watch the cotton grow.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frequentlyescapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

We were really torn about this place. The location was wonderful. The cabins sitting there along the river and among fields was a priceless setting. It was rustic and we were expecting that. The beds were comfortable and clean.

We really just had one big issue. The kitchen. Rustic and quaint is wonderful, but when it comes to food preparation we weren't interested. The kitchen in Aubrey's House was full of 70's looking rusty junky appliances. I understand the "rustic", but these appliances aren't of the era that the "look" is supposed to be. So, they just looked like junky appliances. I would say that if the appliances don't have the 40's era look, go ahead and put in a new mini-fridge and microwave and maybe even an expensive modern stove.

I hate to say that, as we loved the place otherwise, but that is how we felt. We ate out for dinner and breakfast.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyFlossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Oh my goodness this was a fun experience! The owners have restored and preserved old sharecropper cabins to stay in. They have so much of the original structure! So much history and so amazing to think about who has slept under the roof before you. Wonderful location near a supposed grave of Robert Johnson. The experience was magical! It was amazing to cook my supper there.

Room Tip: We loved Tush Hog's cabin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amelia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

Great to sit on the porch and watch the moon. Comfortable bed, relaxing place to stay.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

My husband and I drove down from Memphis for a Delta weekend getaway. I had seen something on this place back in 2008 and it had been in the back of my mind to visit ever since. I'm so glad I didn't forget about it and we were finally able to go.

Tabatha and Tim are more than welcoming and made us feel like family rather than guests.

Our cabin was quaint and had everything we needed. After dinner (either in town or make it yourself) gather around the bonfire, gaze at stars, and chat with Tab and Tim.

In the morning we made coffee in the cabin and walked down to the river.

We can't wait to come back. Maybe next time we'll bring a bunch of friends and chill for a full weekend instead of one night. This is a great place to go to get out of the city, relax, watch the stars, and just enjoy the quiet, simple life.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachelbaddorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greenwood hotels
4.1 mi away
Alluvian Hotel
Alluvian Hotel
#2 of 8 in Greenwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Greenwood
Hampton Inn Greenwood
#1 of 8 in Greenwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Greenwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Greenwood
Comfort Suites Greenwood
#1 of 6 in Greenwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Greenwood
BEST WESTERN Greenwood
#3 of 8 in Greenwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tallahatchie Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tallahatchie Flats

Property: Tallahatchie Flats
Address: 58458 County Road 518, (Money Road), Greenwood, MS 38930-7324
Region: United States > Mississippi > Greenwood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Greenwood
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing