We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 16:00
Save
Review Highlights
Great Small Zoo

Small but very clean and well planned. Great experience for all ages. Well planned for kids with... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
willieds
,
United States
Great place

Small zoo but staff is friendly and the grounds are maintained I was impressed for such a small zoo... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
David P
via mobile
Read all 254 reviews
  
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveller rating
155
69
23
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
155
69
23
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train ride splash pad ropes course small children merry go round small town cool off playground area well worth the price couple of hours perfect size a great place to spend new orleans enjoyed our visit great price concession stand friendly staff
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 254 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

Small but very clean and well planned. Great experience for all ages. Well planned for kids with areas for them to play and learn, Fun experience

Thank willieds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaH5719, Director of Marketing at Hattiesburg Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hello! Thank you for visiting our zoo! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time. Please come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Small zoo but staff is friendly and the grounds are maintained I was impressed for such a small zoo definitely a place for the kids or a date night

Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaH5719, Director of Marketing at Hattiesburg Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, David! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit! Please come back to see us anytime! Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Haven’t visited Hattiesburg Zoo for many years and was pleasantly surprised to see many improvements in the way the animals were kept and the general facilities. A climbing facility was enjoyed by my grandson doing his monkey impression and we all enjoyed the train ride.

The animals looked healthy and were being kept in clean surroundings. A very pleasant visit.

Thank SuzyPurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaH5719, Director of Marketing at Hattiesburg Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello, Suzy! We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your recent visit! Thank you for sharing your story! We hope to see you again, soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

We absolutely love the Hattiesburg zoo. The grounds are very clean and the animals look happy. It isn’t very big but it isn’t expensive either. Wonderful for small kids and bring a swim suit for the splash pad!

Thank Ariel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaH5719, Director of Marketing at Hattiesburg Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi, Ariel! Thank you so much for visiting our zoo! We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your time with us, and hope you will come back to visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

This ZOO is not a big one, but Hattiesburg is not a big city.... so, the ZOO is (proportionally) as large as the city is -- in relation to other places... however, this is a nice place to, like, go with your small kids, see some animals and not be dead-tired ;-)

2  Thank MarcinDrP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaH5719, Director of Marketing at Hattiesburg Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello! Thank you for stopping by to leave us a review about your visit to the zoo! We are glad you enjoyed your time in Hattiesburg!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

This is a cute little zoo with a small time feel. Staff were all friendly and the animals were well cared for. It was very hot, and they had plenty of cooling off places for the guest to experience.

3  Thank keboehmer64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H, Director of Marketing at Hattiesburg Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Hello! Thank you for stopping by and leaving us such nice comments! We're glad you came to visit and had a wonderful experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

Very pleasantly surprised how big the Zoo was, and how many attractions they had. I enjoyed the fountains you can go get into to cool off. I was very impressed.

2  Thank bcagle4542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H, Director of Marketing at Hattiesburg Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Good morning! We appreciate your lovely review! Thank you for coming to visit us, and we hope to see you again soon. Glad you enjoyed your trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018

The Hattiesburg Zoo is really one of the most unique things to do in the city. Although it is only about 2 acres, they have really come a long way in recent years with their events and things to do everyday in the zoo. They have such cute sitting and eating areas, and tons of play areas for children. They have a huge range of animals now, and offer amazing experiences like the Sloth Experience which I just did last week with my family. We were able to go behind the scenes and help prepare food for the sloths, and see all kinds of animals that hang out away from the everyday visitors. Then we were able to pet, hold, and feed the most adorable sloth Chewy! We also got a up close and personal look at the new, very precious, baby sloth which most people do not get. The zoo just has so many opportunities that large zoos can't really offer. Many of their animals you get to know on a personal basis after multiple visits. If you are looking for something to do on your own, with a significant other, with kids, or with anyone I highly recommend checking out the Hattiesburg zoo! (I mean...its only $5 to get in!!)

1  Thank Mallorylaine13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H, Director of Marketing at Hattiesburg Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Hi, Mallory! I am so glad to hear that you enjoy visiting the Hattiesburg Zoo! We are thankful to have customers like you to visit and leave such kind words about your experience. We hope to see you again, soon! Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

The grandkids were asking for a zoo on vacation but we kept ending up not around one. Saw this one in Hattiesburg so we stayed the night to go early next day. Yes it is small but the kiddos 4yr, 5 yr and 10 yr all thought it was awesome. They enjoyed the train ride greatly. The younger ones were especially excited to see the tigers so well. Plus petting area. It’s a two hour adventure and yes small, but cost is small $5 and what was there seemed healthy and well adjusted.

1  Thank CLTLRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H, Director of Marketing at Hattiesburg Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Hi! We are THRILLED to hear that you all enjoyed the zoo! Thank you for leaving us a nice review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

I highly recommend going to this zoo. It is small, but it's just the right size if you're looking for something to do with your kids for an hour or so. Always love visiting!

1  Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H, Director of Marketing at Hattiesburg Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Hi, Sandra! Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving us a lovely review! We appreciate it, and hope you visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews