We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet, restful, good service, and Krispy Kreme's!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge - Hattiesburg / Highway 49 N.
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Hattiesburg
Tyler, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet, restful, good service, and Krispy Kreme's!”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Located next to the Cracker Barrel restaurant and near the Interstate, this motel was easy to find and was very clean. This was a surprise to find such a nice, quiet place in a traditionally lower standard brand of Choice Hotels. After all, it is named 'Econo-Lodge' after all! Nicole was very helpful with check in and had a super personality. The room was very clean, and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was minimal (Continental), but the Krispy Kreme donuts and fresh coffee was great. I wish they had half-n-half rather than powdered creamer, but that is all that would have made this stay any better. Great job!

Room Tip: If you are concerned about noise, choose the upper floor. Fewer people, and quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simo S, Manager at Econo Lodge - Hattiesburg / Highway 49 N., responded to this review, 5 October 2012
The Econo Lodge staff, especially Nicole, is very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. As a new management, I am interested to introduce Half&Half and also French Vanilla Creamers, you are the second person to mention it, and we will have it by next week.
We like to hear any suggestions you may have for us or any constructive critics, because eventually, we like to hear what ideas of improvement our guests have to share with us, and it’s our responsibility to listen and do the necessary changes or upgrades to please the guest.
Hopefully next time you stop by, we will have different creamers, we will be happy to see u again.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    32
    14
    7
    8
See reviews for
37
25
1
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2012

My wife, daughter and I recently drove up for a weekend USM football game and stayed at the Econo Lodge off of Hwy 49. A very dismal place to stay and an unpleasant experience, I must say. Was about 88 degrees with near 100% humidity outside. When we entered the hotel room, the temperature and humidity were about the same inside and it took the tiny overworked A/C unit over an hour to get the room acceptably cooled down. The bathroom was down right disgusting with mold, mildew and God knows what else kind of filth around the top and bottom of the shower stall. Even saw a couple of bugs - one was a roach and not sure what the other one was. The mattresses were about as hard as sleeping on plywood and I'm still having back spasms. The pillows were extremely thin and hard and I went to the front desk to ask if we could have a couple of extra pillows to get us through the night. The gentleman behind the desk flipantly said that they couldn't do that and that they didn't have any extra pillows to loan out. Judging from the lack of vehicles in the parking lot, I'd say that the hotel was only at about 25 -30% occupancy and if customer satisfaction had been a priority, they could have taken a couple of pillows from one of the empty rooms and loaned them to us for the night. I guess our first clue about the condition of the place should've been the two rednecks hanging over the balcony drinking beer and smoking cigarettes and watching our every move as we unloaded the car. Econo Lodge corporate HQ should make a surprise visit to this one. We won't be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simo S, Manager at Econo Lodge - Hattiesburg / Highway 49 N., responded to this review, 12 October 2012
The Econo Lodge Team would like to apologize for the inconvenient. We usually do have extra pillows for the comfort of all guests, and we are sorry that we didn't have any extra when you requested it. We just received our regular shipment that includes extra pillows. Hopefully we can accommodate you in your future stay with us. We like to take any comments constructively to better our service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUMMIT
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Was not sure what to expect for the price but was very pleased. The room was clean and nicely furnished. The check in was easy and the check out was very nice.Employees were super nice and very accomadating. Would recomend anytime.Clean and quiet.

Room Tip: Rooms very nice not fancy but nice.Area good location for eating and shopping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marymiss63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simo S, Manager at Econo Lodge - Hattiesburg / Highway 49 N., responded to this review, 28 September 2012
The Econo Lodge Team would like to thank you for your kind words. we do our best to keep all the guests happy, and our main goal is to provide the best customer service and care, the price is very resonable for the quality of the rooms and service we provide, and that's what makes us unique, and holder of the Gold Award from Choice Hotels, we just apdated the property with 16 cameras security system, and we there is always room for more updates. Thank you again. Simo Sayagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

It is a little hidden on hwy 49, but there...keep looking. You'll find it! We found it quiet and clean. Nicole is a sweetie and helped in anyway she could (made a hard copy for us of directions when we updated our course). Refrigerator worked....didn't freeze our food. Ice was close. It is a perfect place to stop for the evening and get a good night's sleep. A great value. Coffee in lobby 24hours plus coffee maker w/coffee in room + microwave. Simple breakfast we didn't expect and nice of offer. Color us happy that we found it.

Room Tip: Ask about wi-fi to be sure you have it in your room. We had it, but Nicole hoped we did as our loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SewFine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
econoreviews, Manager at Econo Lodge - Hattiesburg / Highway 49 N., responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Thank you so much for your compliment, we sure like to give the best accomodation possible, and we always make sure that everything works perfectly in the rooms.
Our main goal is to give the best and clean rooms in town, with the best customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joplin, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stopped here for one night to rest on a 2 day drive. The location was a little questionable, but it turned out to be quiet and we didn't have any problems. The staff was friendly, the room was clean, and the breakfast was average. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Trisha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
econoreviews, General Manager at Econo Lodge - Hattiesburg / Highway 49 N., responded to this review, 24 September 2012
The Econo Lodge Staff are very happy to provide you with a pleasant stay, and we do our best to treat our guest the guest the best we can. As everybody knows, great customer service, and provide clean and confortable rooms is our main goal.
Thank you so much for your kind words, and hopefully we will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sapphire, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2010

The first nights were good, But Friday Night, we found out that there was a bar directly behind us, not ever 50 ft. A lot of LOUD music came from there till closing time...

Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank LizR64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
econoreviews, Manager at Econo Lodge - Hattiesburg / Highway 49 N., responded to this review, 7 July 2011
We understand your concern regarding bar and loud music. and this is for your information we have eliminated the bar which used to be behind hotel so no more noise can be heard. we take out guest comment seriously .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2009

Loud, thumping music on the weekend from the club out back. Men working on there vehicles in the parking lot with loud music. Lots of yelling outside and people standing around drinking beer with their shirts off. Not a nice place at all.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unorider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KD P, General Manager at Econo Lodge - Hattiesburg / Highway 49 N., responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Property CHI
gm
econolodge
6012647221
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hattiesburg hotels
2.0 mi away
Days Inn Hattiesburg MS
Days Inn Hattiesburg MS
#14 of 33 in Hattiesburg
379 reviews
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Hattiesburg
Howard Johnson Hattiesburg
#12 of 33 in Hattiesburg
45 reviews
2.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hattiesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#21 of 33 in Hattiesburg
75 reviews
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hattiesburg
Candlewood Suites Hattiesburg
#11 of 33 in Hattiesburg
148 reviews
1.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hattiesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge - Hattiesburg / Highway 49 N.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge - Hattiesburg / Highway 49 N.

Property: Econo Lodge - Hattiesburg / Highway 49 N.
Address: 6655 Highway 49 N., Hattiesburg, MS 39401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Hattiesburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Hattiesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge - Hattiesburg / Highway 49 N. 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Econo Lodge - Hattiesburg / Highway 49 N. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Hattiesburg
Hattiesburg Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing