We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wishing for more” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites Hattiesburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Inn & Suites Hattiesburg
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Hattiesburg
Byram, Mississippi
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wishing for more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Visited family in Hattiesburg the weekend of Memorial Day and stayed here for two nights.

The location is right off of Hwy 49 and very easy to find. It was also right at the interstate ramp to take you to all the good shopping on Hwy 98.

From the outside, the hotel looked very nice. Lobby was beautiful. Was checked in by Brett, who was super nice. Check-in would have been a breeze except the machine that makes the room keys was broken and up on the fourth floor being fixed. Other desk clerk went up to have the key made. However, maintenance brought the machine back down before she made it up there. Brett apologized and quickly made my key. A little inconvenient but Brett's hospitality made up for it.

Our room was on the top floor which was nice. However, the configuration of the room was odd and made the room feel small. The area where the fridge and microwave was housed was very spacious with a long counter and sink. Bathroom was small but I guess may be considered average for most people. We had an eating table with two chairs that was in a small area of the room. The desk had no chair but that was fine since we had the other two chairs. Carpet appeared clean but their was a ball of hair under the bathroom sink and blonde hair on the bed cover. Sheets were clean though. There was a broken handle on the dresser and one of the curtain swags was hanging down.

I could live with all of this, but I had two major issues. The mattress was way to soft. It was like sleeping on firm jello. Secondly, we did not have blackout curtains. This was a major issue as our room faced the other hotel and interstate. But it was horrible when the sun rose. We didn't get to sleep in during our mini vacation.

Overall, it was an ok stay.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelingMomma73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Hattiesburg, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear TravelingMomma73,

Thank you for choosing us and taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted that our hotel staff was able to make up for your issues during check in. However, it is a regret that you were not fully satisfied with your room accommodation. I have shared you comments with our hotel management to consider making necessary improvements for us to be able to give you a better stay in the future.

Once again, thank you for staying and I hope we get another chance to hosting you again.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    56
    41
    19
    41
See reviews for
88
32
26
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We recently stayed at the Holiday Inn in Hattiesburg, Mississippi on the way to Orange Beach Alabama. It was very easy to find, reasonably priced and the rooms were immaculate. We got a King room suite which we were not expecting. It has a pool and a restaurant.It's also located right off of Highway 49 out of Jackson and I-59. This is an older one however it is well main-tained, has marble floors and solid wood trim along the walls. The only negative was no free breakfast but I imagine that's why it was a little less expensive that the other hotels. It wasn't a problem because there were plenty of eateries around the area. We were checked in quickly and enjoyed out stay...Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blueshopper84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob P, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Hattiesburg, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear TravelingMomma73,

First and foremost, thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn & Suites Hattiesburg. We appreciate your input as it lets us know the areas in which we are doing well as well as the areas where we need to re-evaluate and improve. We are glad to hear that you experienced friendly service at the front desk, aside from the short wait from the key machine. However, we are very sorry to hear that your stay was only "ok", as it is our goal to provide excellence in comfort and service to each and every one of our guests. We sincerely apologize about the major issues that kept you from fully enjoying your stay. We will investigate and rectify the problems you incurred and do our best to ensure that these issues do not happen again.

Again, thank you for taking the time to provide your thoughts and concerns about your recent stay with us and we look forward to serving you again on your next visit to Hattiesburg.

Sincerely,
Bob Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Rooms have kitchens but no dishes. Not a plate pot or utensil. Both pools were closed not mentioned kids were not happy. My pullout sofa had no mattress. Made for a very uncomfortable seat to watch tv as you sank into furniture. Staff was nice probably would stay here again. .

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sppd384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob P, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Hattiesburg, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Sppd384,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your thoughts about your recent stay at Holiday Inn Hattiesburg. It is always our goal to provide excellent service, so we are glad to hear that you had a pleasant experience with our team. We sincerely apologize about the disappointment of the pools not being in service. We unfortunately encountered a maintenance issue that rendered them unsafe, so we took the necessary precautions to ensure the safety of our guests. We also appreciate you alerting us on the condition of the furniture as we are in the process of renovations. Please let us know next time you need accommodations, as we look forward to serving you on your next visit to Hattiesburg.

Sincerely,
Bob Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killeen, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

I have been staying in hotels across the country for the last 3 years, and this is by far one of the worst experiences I have ever had.
For starters, I made my reservation on the phone. When I called back a minute later to get the reservation number, another attendant stated that she had to redo it because it "disappeared". I just went ahead and made it online.

We arrived at the hotel at 2:30, 30 minutes before check-in. Not only with our room not ready, we did not get checked in until 4:55 p.m. This was the case for several other guest attempting to check in, and was the case when we stayed here 6 weeks ago. I'm fully convinced that this is due to the staff moving likes slugs. You could tell things were bad, being that everyone was getting free breakfast vouchers. They knocked $15 off our stay, but if I wanted to pay a lower rate, I would have went to Econolodge.
People stay at a Holiday Inn because they expect Holiday Inn service.

On top of everything else, both pools were out of service, despite these front desk clerk telling me over the phone that the pools were up and running. I will upload a couple of photos. The outdoor pool was green, and the indoor pool was yellow!

Breakfast was barely decent and the staff was a little rude to my wife. (That seems to happen a lot in this part of the country. I guess some folks don't like to see a black man married to a white lady, even though I'm mulatto, and my wife is Hispanic). There weren't enough plates, so guests had to reuse theirs. Silverware was running low, drinks were slim to none, and the pancakes tasted like they were made with sausage grease.

With all the deficiencies, this hotel is obviously being mismanaged. No matter if you're located in downtown Manhattan, or in the middle of nowhere, you need to live up to your name and star rating.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TravelingIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob P, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Hattiesburg, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear TravlinglA,

First and foremost, thank you for taking the time to alert us of the issues you incurred during your recent stay at Holiday Inn Hattiesburg. We sincerely apologize for the unacceptable level of service you experienced and assure you that this is by no means up to the standards that we strive to uphold. We understand the level of excellence guests expect from Holiday Inn and Suites and promise to do everything in our power to re-evaluate our processes and return to providing that standard of excellence. If there is anything we can do to make up for the dissatisfaction you encountered, please contact me directly at 601-296-0302. We would love the chance to change your perception of our services and our property. Thanks again for you time and for choosing Holiday Inn Hattiesburg.

Sincerely,
Bob Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stow, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

This was a stopping point on a cross country road trip. I was actually very impressed. I am a pretty picky hotel person and it was pretty decent. Rooms were clean. Bathrooms weren't bad. A little old but not gross. Staff was fantastic. Has a restaurant and bar which we took advantage off since we were do tired. Would stay again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob P, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Hattiesburg, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Laura B,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your input about your recent stop through Hattiesburg. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the services provided by our team. We welcome you to join us again the next time you pass through the area and thank you again for choosing Holiday Inn Hattiesburg.

Sincerely,
Bob Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymond, Mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

From the time we walked in the door to the time we left, our stay was wonderful. They have very friendly and helpful staff who go out of their way to make your stay great. They have an indoor and outdoor pool, but we only used the indoor pool. Very nice! Very clean! When we checked in, we got a voucher for $20 off breakfast. The next morning, we went to the restaurant downstairs and it was wonderful. I can't think of one breakfast item that wasn't on the buffet. (Pancakes, waffles, bacon, eggs, biscuits, muffins, fruit, and lots more) Very good food and very nice service in the restaurant. My husband and me and our five children ate and the bill came to $40, but the nice lady there in the restaurant found us another $20 voucher so our breakfast was almost free. And the meal was definitely worth the $40! We will definitely stay there again. I can't think of one bad thing to say about the hotel or restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lacey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob P, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Hattiesburg, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Lacey N,

We are delighted to hear your glowing review from your recent stay at Holiday Inn Hattiesburg. The pools and restaurant are great amenities for our guests, so I am glad to hear that you enjoyed both. It is always our team's goal to go above and beyond to guarantee our guests have a comfortable and relaxing time, so your praise certainly means the world to us.

We again thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Hattiesburg and look forward to serving you on your next trip to the area.

Warmest Regards,
Bob Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Clean, comfortable rooms. Very friendly staff! Excellent restaurant on premises, Bapas Bistro/bar.
We will definitely plan next trip to stay here again. Oh, and the breakfast was fabulous with fresh pastries, eggs, crispy bacon, sausage, fruit.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andicj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob P, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Hattiesburg, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Andicj,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel, as we are thrilled to hear your positive feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed the comfortable, clean, and friendly environment as well as the fabulous breakfast buffet we offer at our on-site restaurant. It is our honor to serve you as our guests and appreciate your genuine kindness. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit to the area and thank you again for choosing Holiday Inn Hattiesburg.

Warmest Regards,
Bob Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hattiesburg hotels
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER University Inn
2.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hattiesburg
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hattiesburg
Hilton Garden Inn Hattiesburg
#3 of 33 in Hattiesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hattiesburg
Candlewood Suites Hattiesburg
#12 of 33 in Hattiesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Hattiesburg
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Hattiesburg - I-59
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Hattiesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Hattiesburg

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites Hattiesburg
Address: 10 Gateway Dr, Hattiesburg, MS 39402-9623
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Hattiesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Hattiesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Hattiesburg 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites University-Hattiesburg, Mississippi is a full-service luxury hotel with 138 newly renovated guest rooms. Free wireless high-speed Internet access is available in all public areas, and in all guest rooms. This Hattiesburg hotel has approximately 2,500 sq. feet of event and meeting space and is available for corporate or social events. Bapa's Bistro restaurant & lounge is located inside the hotel and available for breakfast, dinner, & room service. Remember, Kids stay & eat free. Relax, it's a Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites. During your stay enjoy the indoor and outdoor swimming pool, on site fitness center, putting green, and tennis & basketball courts. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites is located off of I-59 on US 49. The Hattiesburg-Laurel Regional Airport is 7 miles from the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, downtown Hattiesburg, Mississippi is only 4 miles. The hotel is convenient to the Lake Terrace Convention Center, Forrest General Hospital, Wesley Medical Center & Camp Shelby Military Base. Hattiesburg is home to the University of Southern Mississippi (USM), William Carey University and Pearl River Community College. While in town be sure to visit several area attractions including Turtle Creek Mall, the Hattiesburg Zoo and Gulf Coast Casinos. Several area golf courses are just a short drive from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Hattiesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hattiesburg Hotel Hattiesburg
Hattiesburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing