We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have stayed many times, it fills up quickly.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Hattiesburg
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Hattiesburg
Houston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Have stayed many times, it fills up quickly.”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Easy to get to right past McDonalds is entrance. Great selection for breakfast. Eggs,Waffles(fresh make yourself) and cold selections also. Rooms have always been clean and ready. Selection of fast food close by and Cracker Barrel about mile away(confusing to get to tho ask directions at desk). It is "dog friendly" with large grass area for your 4 legged friends.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoradoFirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    25
    28
    31
    55
See reviews for
53
41
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Nice people. Old, dirty, poorly maintained facility. Gunk on shower curtain, mold on shower ceiling, tarnished mirror, not enough plugs close to bed for medical equipment. Stained sticky carpet. Yuck. Finally killed the fly so I could sleep.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tweet88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st. Louis
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2010

We recently spent 4 nights at this hotel while a family member was a patient in Forrest General Hospital. We choose this hotel mainly because we were traveling with our dog and for its location in regards to the Hospital. We were pleasently surprised with everything about this hotel. The hospitality of the front desk was nice, always asking about our stay and willing to answer questions or get anything we needed. One afternoon I asked for an extra packet of coffee for our room cofee maker and that night a gift bag of extra coffee and condiments was hanging on our door. Housekeeping came everyday cleaned and provided fresh towels. We had a King executive room. It was spacious, clean, new carpet, a couch, large desk with nice leather chair, free wifi, excellent tv selections, large sliding glass door, microwave and mini fridge. The bed was comfortable. They have several grassy courtyard areas for walking a dog. The breakfast each morning was good~make your on waffels, biscuits & gravy, eggs, sausage, cereals, breads, juice,etc. There is a Mc Donald's next door and plenty of other places to eat nearby. Overall, we have no complaints and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angiRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LQFrontDeskManager, Front Office Manager at Magnuson Hotel Hattiesburg, responded to this review, 8 March 2011
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope your family member is doing better.
Hope to see you again.

--- Brian Townsend, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We had to stay here because relatives had a dog with them. First of all, I heard dogs barking all night - that was a minus. The walls seemed very thin, could hear everything, another minus. The bed was hard, another minus. The room was clean, bathroom was ok and hotel front desk staff seemed friendly enough. I didn't like having to carry luggage up and down stairs, where was an elevator??? Also, not impressed with their breakfast offerings. It was ok, but would probably never stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank makidwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LQFrontDeskManager, Front Office Manager at Magnuson Hotel Hattiesburg, responded to this review, 8 March 2011
Being a pet friendly hotel, we do occasionally get complaints from guests about barking dogs. The rooms are very well insulated so this is rarely a problem, but when a guest does call down to the front desk about it, we immediately call or visit the room the noise is coming from to remedy the situation. We've actually had a lot of compliments on the beds, but some complaints too. Some people prefer very soft beds, some people prefer firm. The breakfast has improved since your last visit; we now offer Scrambled Eggs, Sausage, Biscuits and Gravy, various cereals, toast, bagels, Grits, an assortment of juices, yogurts, muffins, and other items.
Thank you for your comments.

--- Brian Townsend, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

We were very impressed with the value. We were a little concerned when we booked because of the price but the room was spotless as was the lobby and breakfast area. If we ever pass thru Hattiesburg agains we will stay at this La Quinta.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TnPaMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LQFrontDeskManager, Front Office Manager at Magnuson Hotel Hattiesburg, responded to this review, 8 March 2011
Glad you enjoyed your stay! We do try to keep everything as spotless as possible. Hope to see y'all again!

--- Brian Townsend, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, AL
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Great trip. Hotel was good. Decent continental breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamiangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LQFrontDeskManager, Front Office Manager at Magnuson Hotel Hattiesburg, responded to this review, 8 March 2011
The breakfast has only gotten better since your last stay! Thank you for your comments.

--- Brian Townsend, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2009

With the free light breakfast, we were comfortable as was our poodle. This was our second visit and the hall smelled of smoke both times but the rooms were both smell- free. It's certainly a budget pet friendly hotel and with that in mind we were pleased.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetpotato99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LQFrontDeskManager, Front Office Manager at Magnuson Hotel Hattiesburg, responded to this review, 8 March 2011
Glad you enjoyed your stay! We do typically house our pet-carrying guests in C-building, which also houses some of our smoking rooms. For that reason, the smoke does sometimes waft in to the hall when the smoking guests fill up the room with smoke and then leave the door to the hall open. We're working on preventing this problem, and we're sorry for the inconvenience.

--- Brian Townsend, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hattiesburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge - Hattiesburg / Highway 49 N.
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Hattiesburg
Quality Inn Hattiesburg
#24 of 33 in Hattiesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Hattiesburg MS
Days Inn Hattiesburg MS
#9 of 33 in Hattiesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Northgate Inn Hattiesburg
Northgate Inn Hattiesburg
#29 of 33 in Hattiesburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
1.9 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Hattiesburg
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#21 of 33 in Hattiesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Hattiesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Hattiesburg

Property: Magnuson Hotel Hattiesburg
Address: 6563 US Highway 49 North, Hattiesburg, MS 39401 (Formerly La Quinta Inn Hattiesburg)
Region: United States > Mississippi > Hattiesburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Hattiesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Hotel Hattiesburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Hattiesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Hattiesburg Hotel Hattiesburg
La Quinta Hattiesburg
Hattiesburg La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing