We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hernando
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sassafras Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 4 Hernando B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 July 2014

my daughter and I went on a road trip from Ohio to Texas in June 2014. We stayed at Sassafras Inn after reading about it on the net. We were extremely happy with our choice. Eric was a wonderful host and gave us great recommendation for Mexican restaurant close by. He opened the pool just for me and it was wonderful after riding in car so long. The room was clean and very nice. Breakfast was yummy. Eric even helped us plan our next leg of our journey with knowledge of best routes to travel. a wonderful stay and will stay again whenever we get a chance.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband and I absolutely loved our three night stay at the Sassafras. Having stayed in many B & B's on the east coast, we are sure that our time at the Sassafras was the best of all our expereiences. Our host, Eric, was exremely helpful with any local information and directions that we needed. The accomodations are comfortable in a beautiful setting. Breakfast was scrumptious. This was our first trip to Mississippi and we felt at home right away. We are telling all our friends about the Sassafras and we hope to visit sometime again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 779brendah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Charing. Loved the cottage. The service and food were excellent. Eric, the owner was very caring and accommodating. The best accommodations I have had. He was very helpful with local information. The restaurants he suggested were good. Set in a very pretty setting with beautiful big trees and pretty flowers. Very romantic overall.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theodora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Sassafras Inn Bed and Breakfast. We had a wonderful time. It was so much more than we had expected. The room was clean and comfortable. The grounds are beautiful, but what we loved the most was the company of the wonderful host. We will be back again and again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

If I would rate the Sassafras Inn B & B, I wouldn't just give it 5 stars...it's a perfect 10 for sure! Our host, Eric Hartung, was so gracious and bent over backwards to make you completely at "Home" while away from home. His B & B was very comfortable, welcoming, peaceful, and romantic, but not in a gaudy, overdone way. It was beautifully decorated, our room was spacious, and felt just like a piece of heaven. The breakfast was great because, not only was it great food, but Eric catered it to everyone's likes and dislikes and dietary preferences. He also offered wonderful and stimulating conversation. All the guests that were also staying at Sassafras seemed so comfortable as well. My husband and I celebrated our 24th Anniversary at Sassafras, and it's tempting to come back every year just to visit with our wonderful host! I HIGHLY recommend Sassafras Inn B & B to anyone!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms available are just lovely! We had the Skylight Room and it was beautiful. We really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darlene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Our stay at the Sassafrass Inn a few weeks ago has been absolutely wonderful.
The rooms are large and comfortable, and Eric serves a very nice breakfast every morning.
One of our family members is a vegetarian, so Eric even made a special breakfast for her.
The B&B is located in a small, but very nice, town about twenty miles from the center of Memphis and Graceland, so everything is within reach. There is an easy highway connection to all sightseeings in Memphis.
The weather wasn't always that good during our stay, but Eric made sure to give us many suggestions.
He even brought us to a nearby lake when (due to the weather) we couldn't reach the city.
It's definitely a B&B I would recommend to anyone, even in the winter.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank kathy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This is the place to go for a relaxing taste of the south. Easy access to Memphis & small cozy Hernando. See where John Grisham started his career.
Eric the innkeeper is the quintessential host both for his B&B and the area. Great breakfast and facilities.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gfemd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hernando hotels
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Hernando
Hampton Inn Hernando
#1 of 3 in Hernando
335 reviews
2.2 mi away
Days Inn Hernando
Days Inn Hernando
#3 of 3 in Hernando
134 reviews
1.9 mi away
Super 8 Hernando
Super 8 Hernando
#2 of 3 in Hernando
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Meadow View Farm Bed and Breakfast
1.8 mi away
Magnolia Grove Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sassafras Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sassafras Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 785 Highway 51 S, Hernando, MS 38632-8149
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Hernando
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hernando
Price Range: £54 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sassafras Inn Bed and Breakfast is located just 14 miles south of Graceland, 22 miles south of Memphis TN with the Beale Street Entertainment District, 14 miles south from Memphis International Airport and east 30 miles from the Casinos and River Museum at Tunica. It is a favorite for couples as a romantic retreat and for visitors as a great location base for touring the many local attractions within a 30 minute drive. A full country breakfast is served in the Dining Room for the 3 Guest Rooms and direct to the door of the Heart's Content Cottage. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing