We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aging Beautiful Lady!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairview Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Jackson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aiken, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Aging Beautiful Lady!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We love Historic Southern homes. But this Lady needs a slight makeover or change her stylist. Everything is clean and pleasant but I feel the decor has been lost in the eighties. Some great pieces exist but fabrics and paints and carpets need restoration. Southern Charm drips from the entry but the stenciling in the rooms scream "Help Me"! Great Stay...but I am picky!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheHiltons2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    32
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
41
120
14
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We generally seek boutique hotels. I think this is the only one in Jackson, MS. The location was very walkable and pleasant; it had obviously good event staging. But on a slow week night we were very disappointed in the room we were given. We should have complained immediately but we stowed bags and headed right out the door for sightseeing. On closer inspection we found leaking faucets, extremely poor water pressure making for a very poor shower, light fixtures not working and the view was of a flat roof covered w/ a blue plastic tarp! This was not a busy or even partially full hotel on the night in question. When making the reservation in February they asked if I had a room preference, I was told all rooms were available. Not being familiar with the location I asked that they choose their favorite. That ball was was dropped but the people were pleasant and the restaurant outstanding! We would stay there again but I would ask to see the room and inspect carefully before unpacking.

Room Tip: Don't choose Room #4 and inspect before unpacking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kidpoow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Beautiful inn, fabulous restaurant, gracious folks! And for no reason we could discern, had our accomodations upgraded to one of their luxury suites. You would be hard pressed to find a better place to dine or rest your weary head in Jackson. Kudos to Peter and Tamar Sharp on their fine establishment. (This property is is on the National Register of Historic Places and has received many awards and been recognized by numerous publications as an outstanding inn.)

Room Tip: Their website is well-designed and the room descriptions and pictures are particularly helpful.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VVMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roatan, Honduras
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

I swear i said the words "this is so cute" maybe 100 times! STUNNING house, amazing bedrooms that make you want to re decorate your entire house, great amenities and the restaurant inside is beautiful. The staff were great and so accommodating of our baby. Before I arrived I felt it was a little pricey but when you see the house you will understand!! So worth it, a must for anyone traveling n the area and perfect for romantic getaway!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Egremont, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
165 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We had stayed in a great old hotel in Jackson but alas it was closed.
We found Fairview by accident and were we pleased.
We have a dog and what a room they had for us.
Dog kennel, water dish, dog bed and even great reading for our baby!
The room was plush and cheery
The bathroom was spectacular.
The only issue was check in.
When you enter the main entrance you have no idea where to go.
We were directed to an office and than to a closet to print out our reservation. Not very classy nor befitting the charm and attention to detail that exists elsewhere in this establishment
We will be back

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Haven, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We recently stayed at the Fairview Inn. Our experience was beyond our expectations to say the least. We arrived at night and the place was beautiful all lit up. Easy check in and have a kitchen open to have a piece of homemade cake and coffee. Other beverages , fruit, fresh baked cookies were available round the clock ...no charge. We stayed in the Greek suite with the sun room and it was great for an early riser to sit in and read or catch up on work and let your spouse sleep in. Breakfast was amazing to say the least.. The New Orleans Cajun Crawfish Eggs Benedict was out of the world: Service was impeccable and the staff so friendly. Would definitely stay again. Very convenient to most all in Jackson. Drove to Vicksburg to see battle ground and had an excellent BBQ at Chimneyville BBQ. You must try the pecan pie! Great trip even if it was for business!

Room Tip: Stayed in Greek Suite....very plush and great sunroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nunzi1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

A comfortable room, friendly people and good food and drink in a very hospitable city near the Natchez Trace. Jackson is filled with very helpful folks. A good biking area. The Trace is a fun ride, easy biking and filled with history.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jackson hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown
5.8 mi away
Hilton Jackson
Hilton Jackson
#1 of 38 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
1.4 mi away
Old Capitol Inn
Old Capitol Inn
#5 of 38 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cabot Lodge Millsaps
Cabot Lodge Millsaps
#14 of 38 in Jackson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jackson Marriott
Jackson Marriott
#4 of 38 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Executive Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Inn

Property: Fairview Inn
Address: 734 Fairview St, Jackson, MS 39202-1624
Region: United States > Mississippi > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four-Diamond Luxury Inn in historic Belhaven district of downtown Jackson. 18 Luxurious Guest Rooms & Suites with modern amenities, 1908 Provisions for Dinner (M-F) & Sunday Brunch, Library Lounge for craft cocktails, beer and wine flights, nomiSpa for relaxation and rejuvenation, and event facilities for Corporate Meetings & Retreats, Dinners, Wedding Ceremonies & Receptions,Family Reunions and Social Events.Complimentary parking, WI-FI, beverages, snacks and passes to nearby Health Club. Close to theatre, museums and attractions. 15 Minutes from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fairview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing