We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rooms, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great rooms, great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

This is my go to hotel in Jackson MS. It is an historical property that has gone through a quality renovation. The restaurant is wonderful. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. However, there have been a few beds that do not seem responsive to the adjustable firmness controls. The staff is always friendly and helpful. The views are going to stink. There is not much that can be done until the planned downtown redevelopment occurs. There are a few good restaurants around town that in walkable distance and it is a safe area. Pretty convenient to downtown, airport, and Ridgeland.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review, 14 July 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We strive to ensure that every guest's experience is exceptional. We truly appreciate that you chose to stay with us, and we would be honored for you to stay with us on future visits to Jackson, MS. Wes Scrape - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    285
    121
    56
    41
See reviews for
220
167
63
397
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
virginia beach,va
Level Contributor
102 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed here for the Mississippi Blues marathon. Perfect choice! It was within walking distance to the expo and start/finish. Also plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Try the Iron Horse restaurant, it's tasty! Back to the hotel. The beds were comfortable, and the free wifi had a strong signal. We slept soundly so didn't notice any noise. I was pretty stiff from our flight and was so thankful they had a hot tub in the pool area. Which, I might add, was very well attended and clean. Our family was the only one in there for the first half hour and the attendant checked on us twice to see if we needed anything. All the staff was very friendly and helpful. We will be back to enjoy the area more as we took off right after the marathon to run in Mobile. BTW, they allowed us a late checkout which gave me time to shower before getting in the car. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank o311mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review, 14 July 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We strive to ensure that every guest's experience is exceptional. We truly appreciate that you chose to stay with us, and we would be honored for you to stay with us on future visits to Jackson, MS. Wes Scrape - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

I recently stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in Jackson, Ms and really enjoyed my stay immensely. The hotel lobby was beautiful, my room was very nice and the staff went out of their way to make me feel at home. The bellman that took me up to my room was extremely excited to give me the history of the hotel and indeed it was beautiful. The only negative that I had was the room could be re-arranged a little better because my desk chair kept hitting the bed and felt a little cramped as I was working. Other than that, a great experience. As far as location, the hotel is in Downtown Jackson and there is absolutely nothing going on after dark. In fact, when I went to pick up dinner at a resturant 3 blocks down from the hotel, I was the only one walking the street at 7:30 pm. I was a little concerned for my safety. Granted, the hotel does provide free transportation within a 10 mile radius to take you to/from shopping and restuarant options. All in all a great hotel and will be going to back the next time I am in Jackson.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ativanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review, 14 July 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We strive to ensure that every guest's experience is exceptional. We truly appreciate that you chose to stay with us, and we would be honored for you to stay with us on future visits to Jackson, MS. Wes Scrape - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
180 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful lobby! I love how they kept the charm of this historic hotel. I enjoyed sitting in the lobby by fire and relaxing. Our room was nice, comfortable beds and very clean. My only complaint is that the room was not made till almost 5 pm.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank donjol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review, 14 July 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We strive to ensure that every guest's experience is exceptional. We truly appreciate that you chose to stay with us, and we would be honored for you to stay with us on future visits to Jackson, MS. Wes Scrape - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

On the day of our marriage ceremony, my wife and I had no night-time plans. So, we drove to the Hilton and asked if they had a honeymoon suite. They did and we purchased it along with two breakfast vouchers. Needless to say, our stay was amazing. They provided great customer service, a spacious and all encompassing room, a full delicious buffet-style breakfast, and to top it all off, we saw Jill Scott at breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review, 14 July 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We truly appreciate that you chose to stay with us on the night of such a wonderful life event. We would be honored for you to stay with us on future visits to Jackson, MS. Wes Scrape - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

For the second year in a row my mother and I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in Jackson Mississippi. The entire staff is absolutely delightful. The newly renovated facilities are beautiful and the atmosphere is divine. We dined at the hotel 4 times during our visit and every time the food was some of the very best southern food we have EVER had! (And we are from the south!) The restaurant staff, including the cooks shared local history, recipes, and preparation techniques with us. We felt like we were family and felt so blessed to be eating food prepared by chefs genuinely understood what makes southern food special. Everyone in the entire hotel were so kind and supportive, it was worth the long drive, and the running of the marathon to be in such a sweet place. Thank you so much to the great staff!! We are already looking forward to next year! :-)

Room Tip: Enjoy the wonderful breakfast! Freshly made cinnamon roles are THE BEST EVER!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRMARYMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review, 14 July 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are absolutely delighted that you have enjoyed your previous visits with us! We truly appreciate that you chose to stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, and we would be honored for you to stay with us on future visits to Jackson, MS. Wes Scrape - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

The hotel room was unclean - stains all over comforter and furnishings, food or drink appeared to be splashed on the ceiling in the bathroom. A room change was requested and all they would do is change the comforter. New comforter was bleached and clean. Heat did not work in the room. Housekeeping and valet staff were delightful. Front desk staff has a serious attitude. Best place to stay in Jackson, MS is the Capitol Inn. Pay the extra money for the great service, clean, unique rooms. I'll never go to the Hilton Garden Inn again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review, 14 July 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We truly value our guest's opinions and strive to make every stay exceptional. We truly appreciate that you chose to stay with us, and we would be honored for you to stay with us on future visits to Jackson, MS. Wes Scrape - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jackson hotels
7.4 mi away
Hilton Jackson
Hilton Jackson
#1 of 38 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jackson Marriott
Jackson Marriott
#5 of 38 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.6 mi away
Old Capitol Inn
Old Capitol Inn
#4 of 38 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Executive Inn
3.6 mi away
Residence Inn Jackson The District at Eastover
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Jackson Coliseum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown
Address: 235 West Capitol Street, Jackson, MS 39201 (Formerly King Edward Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jackson
#4 Family Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're attending an important business meeting, visiting historic sites or enjoying a Mississippi vacation, Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown provides all you need to be your best. Rest comfortably in a bed with adjustable firmness or work efficiently at the large desk while seated in an ergonomic chair. All guest rooms and suites provide high-speed internet access, a refrigerator and microwave, so you will have everything you need to prepare for a successful day. At this Downtown Jackson hotel, we take care of life's details so you can focus on being your best while traveling. Review your meeting agenda or plan a day of sightseeing as you enjoy a cooked-to-order breakfast in the King Edward Grille, or savor classic American cuisine and Southern dishes for lunch and dinner. Our 24-hour Business Center and complimentary high-speed internet access enable you to keep in touch with your colleagues and family or take care of work tasks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown Hotel Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing