We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, with minor problems”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Housekeeping cleaned up even though we asked them not to. Not happy with the drive-up, load and unloading area with no cover to protect from elements. Kitchen equipment in the room didn't work for us.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Betty ("Bj") A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We truly appreciate that you chose to stay with us, and we would be honored for you to stay with us on future visits to Jackson, MS. Wes Scrape - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,073)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

776 - 782 of 1,073 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Never having been in Mississippi, I was mildly concerned about the quality of the hotel; but it is one of the best Hilton Garden Inns where I have ever stayed. Hotel was very clean, rooms were great and most of the staff really showed their "Southern Hospitality." I would recommend this to anyone who would be staying in Jackson.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We truly appreciate that you chose to stay with us, and we would be honored for you to stay with us on future visits to Jackson, MS. Wes Scrape - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

My package I received included my room cost, breakfast and free valet-parking. This deal was great because it saved me money. The only thing I didn't like was valet-parking was the same price as self-park. So if you don't get the discounted package I would suggest trying to park somewhere on the street.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Leigh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We strive to ensure that every guest's experience is exceptional. We truly appreciate that you chose to stay with us, and we would be honored for you to stay with us on future visits to Jackson, MS. Wes Scrape - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The hotel was difficult to get to as they are working on the roads around the property. The lobby is very elegant and the rooms are well appointed. The beds are comfortable. We were disappointed that the restaurant "King Edward's" was closed (Sunday night) but we were able to get what turned out to be a wonderful meal in the cocktail bar. The attention of the staff, both reception and bar staff, was excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ForbesB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We strive to ensure that every guest's experience is exceptional. We truly appreciate that you chose to stay with us, and we would be honored for you to stay with us on future visits to Jackson, MS. Wes Scrape - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This is my go to hotel in Jackson MS. It is an historical property that has gone through a quality renovation. The restaurant is wonderful. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. However, there have been a few beds that do not seem responsive to the adjustable firmness controls. The staff is always friendly and helpful. The views are going to stink. There is not much that can be done until the planned downtown redevelopment occurs. There are a few good restaurants around town that in walkable distance and it is a safe area. Pretty convenient to downtown, airport, and Ridgeland.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We strive to ensure that every guest's experience is exceptional. We truly appreciate that you chose to stay with us, and we would be honored for you to stay with us on future visits to Jackson, MS. Wes Scrape - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed here for the Mississippi Blues marathon. Perfect choice! It was within walking distance to the expo and start/finish. Also plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Try the Iron Horse restaurant, it's tasty! Back to the hotel. The beds were comfortable, and the free wifi had a strong signal. We slept soundly so didn't notice any noise. I was pretty stiff from our flight and was so thankful they had a hot tub in the pool area. Which, I might add, was very well attended and clean. Our family was the only one in there for the first half hour and the attendant checked on us twice to see if we needed anything. All the staff was very friendly and helpful. We will be back to enjoy the area more as we took off right after the marathon to run in Mobile. BTW, they allowed us a late checkout which gave me time to shower before getting in the car. Thank you!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank o311mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We strive to ensure that every guest's experience is exceptional. We truly appreciate that you chose to stay with us, and we would be honored for you to stay with us on future visits to Jackson, MS. Wes Scrape - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I recently stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in Jackson, Ms and really enjoyed my stay immensely. The hotel lobby was beautiful, my room was very nice and the staff went out of their way to make me feel at home. The bellman that took me up to my room was extremely excited to give me the history of the hotel and indeed it was beautiful. The only negative that I had was the room could be re-arranged a little better because my desk chair kept hitting the bed and felt a little cramped as I was working. Other than that, a great experience. As far as location, the hotel is in Downtown Jackson and there is absolutely nothing going on after dark. In fact, when I went to pick up dinner at a resturant 3 blocks down from the hotel, I was the only one walking the street at 7:30 pm. I was a little concerned for my safety. Granted, the hotel does provide free transportation within a 10 mile radius to take you to/from shopping and restuarant options. All in all a great hotel and will be going to back the next time I am in Jackson.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ativanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wes S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We strive to ensure that every guest's experience is exceptional. We truly appreciate that you chose to stay with us, and we would be honored for you to stay with us on future visits to Jackson, MS. Wes Scrape - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jackson hotels
7.4 mi away
Hilton Jackson
Hilton Jackson
#2 of 39 in Jackson
955 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Westin Jackson
The Westin Jackson
#11 of 39 in Jackson
26 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jackson Marriott
Jackson Marriott
#3 of 39 in Jackson
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Jackson Downtown-Coliseum
3.6 mi away
Residence Inn Jackson The District at Eastover
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 39 in Jackson
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown

Address: 235 W Capitol Street, Jackson, MS 39201-2004 (Formerly King Edward Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jackson
#4 Family Hotel in Jackson
Price Range: £78 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're attending an important business meeting, visiting historic sites or enjoying a Mississippi vacation, Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown provides all you need to be your best. Rest comfortably in a bed with adjustable firmness or work efficiently at the large desk while seated in an ergonomic chair. All guest rooms and suites provide high-speed internet access, a refrigerator and microwave, so you will have everything you need to prepare for a successful day. At this Downtown Jackson hotel, we take care of life's details so you can focus on being your best while traveling. Review your meeting agenda or plan a day of sightseeing as you enjoy a cooked-to-order breakfast in the King Edward Grille, or savor classic American cuisine and Southern dishes for lunch and dinner. Our 24-hour Business Center and complimentary high-speed internet access enable you to keep in touch with your colleagues and family or take care of work tasks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown Hotel Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing