We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Customer Service will keep me returning!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Picayune, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Customer Service will keep me returning!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

A co-worker and I stayed here during a business visit to the capitol. We were very pleasantly surprised that such a large, corporate/chain hotel could care so much about their guests. Our room was beautiful and the beds were Oh-so-comfy. The street in front was under construction so it was a little tricky driving in but the valet parkers were helpful. Check-in was busy but didn't take too long. We loved the shuttle to the capitol building that's provided by the hotel. Wendell was our driver and he is a wealth of knowledge about the city and the hotel. He asked when we would like him to return to the hotel and gave us his cell number so we wouldn't have to wait. So nice! We visit Jackson 3-4 times a year and will not stay anywhere else. Plus I have let the secret out of the bag and I've told all my friends, too.

Room Tip: Although our room was nice I would have preferred a room with a view. Our windows overlooked the AC...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyStettinius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Our hotel is a very popular wedding place- so very gald you enjoyed our historic hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    303
    127
    61
    47
See reviews for
240
174
65
426
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Beware. They still have smoking rooms and will stick you in one without asking. Also, watch the valet service. The downtown is under road renovations and valet is critical. However, they are overwhelmed and may lose your request to bring your vehicle. Make your own coffee in the room. They run out in the lobby and aren't in any hurry to provide additional coffee. Otherwise, normal Hilton hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
You spoke up and we listened...we are reducing the number of smoking rooms to just a few.
I apologize for the trouble with our valet department and for the looby coffee supply.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

we left our room at 9:00 AM and returned at 2:00 PM - the room had not been cleaned - we asked the housekeeper on the floor about cleaning the room - she stated "I did not know that you wanted the room cleaned" since when has Hilton decided that the customer should inform the housekeeper about daily room service

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank acappy300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
We work very hard to offer a positive experience in every way. thanks for your feedback...I'll share it with our staff-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gadsden, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Nice hotel, neighborhood is a little sketchy, but the city is making improvements. Clean rooms, nice lobby. Good bar with friendly bartenders. Couple of nice restaurants nearby. Wasabi Sushi Bar and the Iron Horse were both very good and within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your vaued comments. I like our bar as well...as do the locals!
Kindly bear with us as the city improves it's infrastructure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearland, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This is a decent hotel to stay. The area isn't the best part of town in Jackson, MS. The parking appears to me to be somewhat limited unless you do valet parking. The hotel restaurant food is great. The Shrimp and Grits was the best I've ever had. I'd kill for the recipe for that one. The hotel is right across from the Jackson Amtrak station. I was on the side where the tracks were. I love trains, so it wasn't a big deal, but if you're sensitive to that, this may not be the best place to stay. They don't blow their horns at night, but the rumble of the trains is still audible. The hotel walls are pretty thin, as in every hotel. I was woken up with "I'm going to come" at 3:45 in the morning. I really appreciated that early morning wake-up call. Anyhow, it isn't a bad place to stay. I was at a conference that was held in the hotel, so I would stay there again if the event was in the hotel. Otherwise, I'd probably find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Wow... i don't know how to respond to your "wake up" call... but kindly accept my apologies.
also please bear with us as our city improves it's infrastructure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellisville, Mississippi
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

very nice hotel , great beds and service . downtown area which is not great place for walking ,but has a good restaurant next door. parking is somewhat of an issue due to construction on street and limited parking .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank M1265KCjamesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for the courtesy of your comment. we all look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, LA, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Corner room with large windows made for a great night time view of down town. The room was much larger than expected and had great amenities such as a full size couch, ample lighting and even a Keurig coffee maker. The bed slept well and having separate thermostats for the bed room and living area was a nice feature.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Deryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Your kind coments are most appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jackson hotels
7.4 mi away
Hilton Jackson
Hilton Jackson
#1 of 39 in Jackson
912 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jackson Marriott
Jackson Marriott
#4 of 39 in Jackson
348 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Jackson Downtown-Coliseum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Residence Inn Jackson The District at Eastover
0.6 mi away
Old Capitol Inn
Old Capitol Inn
#5 of 39 in Jackson
195 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Jackson Coliseum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown
Address: 235 W Capitol Street, Jackson, MS 39201-2004 (Formerly King Edward Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jackson
#4 Family Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're attending an important business meeting, visiting historic sites or enjoying a Mississippi vacation, Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown provides all you need to be your best. Rest comfortably in a bed with adjustable firmness or work efficiently at the large desk while seated in an ergonomic chair. All guest rooms and suites provide high-speed internet access, a refrigerator and microwave, so you will have everything you need to prepare for a successful day. At this Downtown Jackson hotel, we take care of life's details so you can focus on being your best while traveling. Review your meeting agenda or plan a day of sightseeing as you enjoy a cooked-to-order breakfast in the King Edward Grille, or savor classic American cuisine and Southern dishes for lunch and dinner. Our 24-hour Business Center and complimentary high-speed internet access enable you to keep in touch with your colleagues and family or take care of work tasks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown Hotel Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing