We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, United States
1 review
“Beautiful Hotel!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The hotel is beautiful, definitely one of the nicest Hilton Garden Inn's I have ever stayed in. Everyone that we dealt with was very friendly and helpful, from the front desk clerk, to the waiter, to the maintenance man we passed in the hallway.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for the wonderful courtesy in your kind comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    300
    123
    60
    44
See reviews for
237
172
65
416
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

As we were driving through the neighborhood to get to the hotel my husband kept looking over at me like I was crazy to have picked a hotel in a VERY questionable area. However, the valet service was polite, friendly and very helpful. Walking into the lobby - the hotel is gorgeous! Absolutely breathtaking! I reserved the room through Hotels.com and they "forgot" to pass along our pre-paid reservation to the hotel. However Ryan was wonderful and got everything taken care of for us. Our room was a spectacular suite - room 811. Very quiet (I was a bit concerned as there was a wedding going on). I told my husband that I picked downtown because I knew he hated the noise of being near the airport and then we opened the curtains and we saw the train yard - yikes! but wasn't bad sound wise. It was weird though to look out of our beautiful room and see the building below us where the roofs were caved in and beyond looked a bit sketchy. Hopefully the whole neighborhood will get a face lift soon. Thank you again Ryan! Oh and those oat cookies in the lobby - mmmmmmmmmmmm - nice touch.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMM224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank your for your comments. I reached out to Ryan and explained to him how he championed your effort. We have plans to rennovate the building across the street.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lombard, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
1,889 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

The location does not appear to be the greatest. And the parking situation was somewhat of a pain. The hotel is old which in the lobby is cool but in the rooms not so cool. Although they were certainly average. The bar in the lobby is fairly nice. It seemed like during the stay I always felt like I was drained of all bodily fluids, not sure that is the hotels fault. Overall it is average by Hilton standards. Which is ok.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank LostALot22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your constructive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston Texas
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Checked in on a Sunday afternoon. The entire staff was very friendly. The gentleman at the front desk was super. The lobby is very attractive. The hotel bar was great and the food served in the bar was very good.
The rooms were somewhat disappointing but they were spacious and spotless. The bed was wonderful; I wish I could have taken it with me! I would definitely stay here again,

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank frankhoustonTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for the courtesy of your comments.
We have a saying here: it's easy to be nice to nice people!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This property is located downtown in what appears to have been an old historic hotel near the train station. As several reviewers have noted, the downtown area has been under construction for some time and will continue through the summer. This being said, it is advisable to valet your car.

I found the room to be excellent. The lobby is open, inviting, and well lit. It gives you an understanding of what this property must have been like 60+ years ago. The hotel bar is nice, and there is a small outdoor seating area. The staff is very friendly and helpful, yet a bit slow.

We stayed on a weekend evening, and there were at least 3 weddings at the hotel. This made the property a bit loud, and many of the guests were quite intoxicated, yet everyone was well behaved and under control. This did not detract from my evening or our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FishDurango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you...we look to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Picayune, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

A co-worker and I stayed here during a business visit to the capitol. We were very pleasantly surprised that such a large, corporate/chain hotel could care so much about their guests. Our room was beautiful and the beds were Oh-so-comfy. The street in front was under construction so it was a little tricky driving in but the valet parkers were helpful. Check-in was busy but didn't take too long. We loved the shuttle to the capitol building that's provided by the hotel. Wendell was our driver and he is a wealth of knowledge about the city and the hotel. He asked when we would like him to return to the hotel and gave us his cell number so we wouldn't have to wait. So nice! We visit Jackson 3-4 times a year and will not stay anywhere else. Plus I have let the secret out of the bag and I've told all my friends, too.

Room Tip: Although our room was nice I would have preferred a room with a view. Our windows overlooked the AC...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyStettinius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Our hotel is a very popular wedding place- so very gald you enjoyed our historic hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Beware. They still have smoking rooms and will stick you in one without asking. Also, watch the valet service. The downtown is under road renovations and valet is critical. However, they are overwhelmed and may lose your request to bring your vehicle. Make your own coffee in the room. They run out in the lobby and aren't in any hurry to provide additional coffee. Otherwise, normal Hilton hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
You spoke up and we listened...we are reducing the number of smoking rooms to just a few.
I apologize for the trouble with our valet department and for the looby coffee supply.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jackson hotels
7.4 mi away
Hilton Jackson
Hilton Jackson
#1 of 39 in Jackson
905 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jackson Marriott
Jackson Marriott
#4 of 39 in Jackson
339 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Jackson Downtown-Coliseum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Old Capitol Inn
Old Capitol Inn
#5 of 39 in Jackson
195 reviews
3.6 mi away
Residence Inn Jackson The District at Eastover
1.9 mi away
Cabot Lodge Millsaps
Cabot Lodge Millsaps
#11 of 39 in Jackson
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown
Address: 235 W Capitol Street, Jackson, MS 39201-2004 (Formerly King Edward Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jackson
#4 Family Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're attending an important business meeting, visiting historic sites or enjoying a Mississippi vacation, Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown provides all you need to be your best. Rest comfortably in a bed with adjustable firmness or work efficiently at the large desk while seated in an ergonomic chair. All guest rooms and suites provide high-speed internet access, a refrigerator and microwave, so you will have everything you need to prepare for a successful day. At this Downtown Jackson hotel, we take care of life's details so you can focus on being your best while traveling. Review your meeting agenda or plan a day of sightseeing as you enjoy a cooked-to-order breakfast in the King Edward Grille, or savor classic American cuisine and Southern dishes for lunch and dinner. Our 24-hour Business Center and complimentary high-speed internet access enable you to keep in touch with your colleagues and family or take care of work tasks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Jackson Downtown Hotel Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing