We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing time!”

Babalu Tapas & Tacos
Ranked #4 of 380 Restaurants in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Babalu Tacos & Tapas is a lively restaurant that uses fresh and local ingredients to create bold flavors. You will find a variety of authentic gourmet tacos and Spanish-style tapas with a Southern twist. Every item on the menu, down to the blue corn tortilla, is made from scratch daily - our famous guacamole is prepared tableside. Our bar carries the finest tequilas, and all drinks are handcrafted daily using fresh squeezed lemons and limes.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
94 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing time!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

If you show up in a busy night just wait it out, this place is worth it! The food is excellent. I highly recommend the guacamole and the black eye pea hummus. If RYAN is working ask to sit in his section, he's the best server I've had in a long while! He is very attentive, personable, polite, and will go the extra mile for you. Excellent service!

Helpful?
Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    118
    36
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perky waitress and Upbeat Atmosphere”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The guacamole here was excellent, prepared at the table. The black-eyed peas hummus was tasty. Don't get the oysters--amazingly bland though. Drinks equally interesting though nowhere near enough bourbon.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KANieder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancleave, Mississippi
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fusion at its Best”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

You only need to know two things: 1) Go there for dinner on taco Tuesday night. 2) The tacos are small, but only $2 each. 3) Order several of the award winning BBQ tacos. We tried most of them. Most are very good, but the BBQ is the best (fusion) taco Ever. Bonus tip: The guacamole is fresh (made at the table) and delicious.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SimonTheSpaceWandere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natchez, MS
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Beer!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Lunch at Babalu's on Sunday was much more than I expected from a casual dining place. My wife and I arrived first, and while waiting for the others to get there we took advantage of a very enjoyable selection of beers at the bar. While there we noticed that they make their own Sangria from scratch - even making their own flavored simple syrup. Impressive.
Service was superior to many of the finer dining establishments we've been to; friendly, attentive, knowledgeable about their menu.
Having a tapas menu means there's something for just about anyone, and everything we tasted (and there were quite a few different items on our table) was fresh and delicious. No matter what else you taste, you gotta try the Guacamole made fresh at your table.
Here's a shout-out to Ryan, our waiter, who really made our visit to Babalu's a treat. And one to the bartender (to my shame, I can't remember her name) who was preparing Sangria and numerous other tasks and still gave plenty of attention to a couple of "newbies."

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank natchezms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Mississippi
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Much improved menu”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

The expanded menu is so much better than the mostly corn products on the original. Burger was delicious and unique. Going there tonite.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Babalu Tapas & Tacos also viewed

 

Been to Babalu Tapas & Tacos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing