We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great”

Babalu Tapas & Tacos
Ranked #4 of 380 Restaurants in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Babalu Tacos & Tapas is a lively restaurant that uses fresh and local ingredients to create bold flavors. You will find a variety of authentic gourmet tacos and Spanish-style tapas with a Southern twist. Every item on the menu, down to the blue corn tortilla, is made from scratch daily - our famous guacamole is prepared tableside. Our bar carries the finest tequilas, and all drinks are handcrafted daily using fresh squeezed lemons and limes.
1 review
“great”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We went on a Sunday evening just before 6pm. I am glad we were there early because when we were leaving Babalus it was getting crowded. Our waiter was great. The tacos are different than what you usually get, they are kinda " cheffy". I am not very adventurous, they were delicious. Guacamole made table side is a nice touch too. The serving size is three tacos and that was the perfect size meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    118
    36
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Byram, Mississippi
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Overpriced and Underwhelming”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

First off, this place gets very crowded on weekends. Second, the cocktails are of the industrial variety (from store bought mixers mostly), but the sangria is pretty good. The food is WAY overhyped. In fact, I don't think we've ever received hot food of any sort there...always seems to be merely warm when our server brought our tapas. The guacamole is good if you're used to the prepackaged types, but I've had far better. We've been here a few times and the only thing consistent are the high prices and mediocrity.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cameron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElizabethFowler, Guest Relations Manager at Babalu Tapas & Tacos, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Cameron:

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on Babalu. We truly value guest feedback because it helps us improve and it gives us a chance to address issues of dissatisfaction that we might not otherwise know about.

We're so sorry to hear that you've had negative experiences with our food. Part of the reason we serve our dishes as they're ready (tapas-style) versus all at once is to insure that they're as hot and fresh as possible. If you choose to visit us again (and we hope that you do), please let our on-duty manager know if anything is delivered to your table that you find unappealing. We'll gladly take immediate corrective action.

As an aside, we strive to amaze our guests by sourcing only the freshest products (locally grown whenever possible) and preparing them with chef oversight. All of our signature cocktails are made with fresh lemon and lime juice, hand-squeezed daily. Our guacamole is made table side with freshly chopped ingredients. We're truly sorry if these offerings didn't meet your standard.

All the best,

Elizabeth Fowler
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Average food, oversold -Best in the South???”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Started with a huge explanation of how their margaritas and tacos were Award-winning, the best in South... Then there was the caveat that not all dishes would arrive simultaneously - to allow the food to arrive at its peak...

With expectations set at the peak of the mountains, we dined in the valley. The signature margarita was sickly-sweet, appropriate for the rum and coke crowd. The pork belly tacos were OK, but nothing to write home about. Guacamole had more than a hint of cinnamon, and less hints of appeal. And, frankly, I expect that a restaurant can time the arrival of the plates so all are served together. Yeah, I stink at timing at home, but nobody pays to eat at my house.

If this was sold as a fun, funky tapas bar, I would have left saying, "a bit hit-or-miss, but fun." But given heightened expectations, we left saying, "Really, best in the South?" Now I know why they lost the "War of Northern Aggression." (JK)

Overall, ok not amazing.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravellDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElizabethFowler, Guest Relations Manager at Babalu Tapas & Tacos, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
TravelDad:

Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent visit to Babalu. Delivering top-notch food and drink is truly our passion. So, we take our guests' comments very seriously and are very sorry that we didn't meet, much less exceed, expectations during your recent visit.

You're right. The BABA-RITA, our best selling cocktail, is pretty sweet. If you visit us again (and we hope you will), please feel free to ask the bartender to reduce the amount of agave nectar used to prepare your drink. That should do the trick.

While our avocados can at times be a little on the sweet side, cinnamon is not an ingredient in our guacamole. Nevertheless, if you ever receive anything in our restaurant that isn't to your liking, please don't hesitate to let your server or the on-duty manager know. We're always more than happy to do whatever it takes to make guests happy.

As for the timing of food -- our service models the Spanish tapas style of dining. We encourage guests to sample and share dishes, enjoying them as they're prepared. If however, you'd prefer to have the entire party served at one time, we're happy to accommodate that request. Just let us know; we're here to serve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
94 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing time!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

If you show up in a busy night just wait it out, this place is worth it! The food is excellent. I highly recommend the guacamole and the black eye pea hummus. If RYAN is working ask to sit in his section, he's the best server I've had in a long while! He is very attentive, personable, polite, and will go the extra mile for you. Excellent service!

Helpful?
Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perky waitress and Upbeat Atmosphere”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The guacamole here was excellent, prepared at the table. The black-eyed peas hummus was tasty. Don't get the oysters--amazingly bland though. Drinks equally interesting though nowhere near enough bourbon.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KANieder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Babalu Tapas & Tacos also viewed

 

Been to Babalu Tapas & Tacos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing