We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The MS Children's Museum was a great time for all... Parents, teenagers and young children.”

Mississippi Children's Museum
Ranked #1 of 54 things to do in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Mississippi Children's Museum is your Destination for Imagination. MCM wants to ignite the spark of creativity that is inside each and everyone of us and awaken a lifelong passion for learning, exploration and discovery. Visit the Mississippi Children's Museum and get inspired! Open Tuesday through Saturday 9a-5p and Sunday 1p-6p. Admission is $10 per person; children under the age of 1 year are free.
Tennessee
2 reviews
“The MS Children's Museum was a great time for all... Parents, teenagers and young children.”
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Parents, teenagers and young children all had a blast. The exhibits are fun and educational. And the staff was friendly and helpful. We have visited children's museums all over the country and we are so excited to have the MS Children's Museum to visit when we come to MS.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank terric_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    45
    12
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sail_4_life
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“The WORST! Ill-conceived. Boring. Exhibits broken.”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Our family has been to tons of great children's museum all over the country (i.e., the Magic House in St. Louis, the Exploratorium in San Francisco, even the Lynn Meadows Discovery Center in Gulfport ), but this has to rank as the WORST! We went right after it opened and the exhibits were really dumb - like one that allowed water to be squirted all over the floor, the giant "Scrabble" game, and the "Human Velcro Wall" that didn't work. How about the human digestive system where your child becomes "excrement"? A few months later we decided to try it again hoping it had improved. This time the few exhibits my kids really enjoyed, like race car tracks were gone. In fact, many exhibits were either closed, broken or had been removed. $8 a person is a little steep for something that is so lame. Go next door to the Natural Science Museum and save a little money and have a much better experience that's fun for everyone, including the adults.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank sail_4_life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCMMarketing, Manager at Mississippi Children's Museum, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
sail_4_life

Thank you very much for your feedback --- we appreciate our visitors sharing their experiences with us so we can improve. While we did experience unexpected crowds and some adjustments at opening, we have made enhancements and added additional elements to some of the exhibits you mentioned. With over 25,000 square feet of exhibit space, five different galleries including a 5,000 square foot climbing map of the state of Mississippi, we hope children will always find something new and unexpected in our museum and regret that we didn’t meet your expectations.

Each one of our exhibits was designed for parent and child interaction with a unique focus on learning through play. We spent several years developing the concepts for our galleries and exhibits with not only leading museum experts but with community advisors including educators and health professionals. We are proud of the focus our museum has on Mississippi heritage, children’s literacy, health and most importantly, inspiring children to become lifelong learners. We hope to instill a sense of pride in Mississippi in visitors from our state and educate visitors from out of state about how important Mississippi is to the world. We also hope to impact the state’s literacy rates and inspire Mississippi families to take better care of their health.

We hope you will come back and experience some of the new programs and exhibits. We offer reading times, special arts and craft activities, exciting weekend programs and more. Please check out our website for activities that your children might enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for kids!”
Reviewed 20 April 2011

If you have kids you need to hit this museum. Tons of interaction and there is something for everyone! It was a great family day and this is the best children's museum I have ever been too!

Helpful?
1 Thank Tinyjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So cool!”
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Grab your children, niece, or nephew and get to the Children's Museum, stat! This is the coolest museum I have ever seen. If only it had been open when I was a little kid in Mississippi. There are so many interactive play areas and in the process you get to learn so much about Mississippi. It's very convenient off I-55 right next to the Natural Science Museum with it's own parking lot. You could easily have a picnic lunch at LeFleur's Bluff State Park and visit the Museum of Natural Science all in one day. An absolute MUST see in Jackson!

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank soapie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mississippi Children's Museum also viewed

 

Been to Mississippi Children's Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing