We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stuff”

Mississippi Museum of Art
Ranked #7 of 54 things to do in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Mississippi Museum of Art is the largest art museum in the state and has been a community-supported institution for more than 100 years. Come enjoy our exhibitions, events, and The Art Garden year round. Admission to the Museum is free, with the exception of some special ticketed exhibitions. Art is the story. Find it here.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good stuff”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

There wasn't any big show--Monet had just moved out--just the permanent exhibits. But they were enough. They're mostly by artists with a Mississippi connection or about Mississippi (though a small room near the entrance had some nice Piranesis). Very interesting! Many of the artists are, or were, talented, and there are things other than paintings--photographs by Eudora Welty (who knew?) for example.
Good thinking by the museum! The contents are much better than the second-rate productions by second-rate artists that some small museums have. I didn't know what I was in for, and I was very pleasantly surprised. And enlightened.
And it's free! Amazing. Thanks, Jackson.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ddunx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    34
    9
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, Mississippi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic museum!”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This museum is definitely worth seeing while in Jackson. The building is excellent, and the exhibitions are always of the highest quality.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamen83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biloxi
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Love the Blues!”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Lovely museum in Jackson. We were able to see 2 great exhibits . Masterpieces from the Wadsworth Museum and Mississippi Hill Blues photography show. I also enjoyed a nice lunch at the museum cafe. If the weather had not been so hot I would have enjoyed walking around the gardens. Children were playing in the fountains out front when I arrived at the museum. A great way to spend a hot August day in Mississippi .

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank elmartillo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Museum manages to have seriously good exhibits frequently”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We find the Mississippi Museum of Art a main reason to go to Jackson. The current "Old Masters to Monet," though not as large as some we've gone to here, is still exceptional. We went on Saturday, parked within 50 yards of the entrance and were greeted with sincere enthusiasm from the staff. The exhibit was well laid out, a joy to see and the free cell phone audio guide was a great idea. We particularly liked the line at the bottom of the handout explaining the cell phone audio guide which said, "Call back Anytime!" We read it as inviting us to listen to the audio about the paintings even after leaving and more importantly to be in keeping with the Southern tradition of inviting guests to come to the museum again. This exhibit doesn't last much longer so hurry on down y'all. Even if you miss this exhibit, the permanent collection is still worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank HelenaAL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natchez MS
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Go for the Mississippi Art”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I prefer to visit this museum to enjoy the permanent collection, not the transient "big show". I will save the Old Masters for larger venues. The new building and sculpture garden are lovely. Make sure to enjoy the sculpture kiosks representing the different aspects of Mississippi life. Do dine here. Lunch was nicely seasoned and presented.

Bring a wrap. The summer temperatures inside are freezing. When I asked "why so cold?", the reply was "for the art." I suggest a lower temperature and a dehumidifier.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mississippi Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Mississippi Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing