We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waited forever...for nothing.”
Review of Jaco's Taco's

Jaco's Taco's
Ranked #38 of 380 Restaurants in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: New restaurant
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Waited forever...for nothing.”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I went to lunch today at the infamous "Jaco's Tacos". I have been on several occasions and suffered through the long wait times and spotty service regime. However, today was AWFUL! Cold food. Longer than necessary wait time. Nice waitress, but no matter how hard you tried...I wasn't impressed.

I hear that it is a better later evening drink spot than lunch. May try that next time. It's a no-fly-zone for lunch options from this point on, though...

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jericho C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    26
    10
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southaven, Mississippi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“DISGUSTING & GHEEEETTTTO! RUN!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Omg seriously I have never in my entire life seen a place like this. The manager and a waitress got into a heated argument and busted out the back door making a scene and continued as they walked back into the resturant. We ate inside and it smelled like the bathroom and the amount of flies was outrageous. Employees kept walking back and forth with bins full of prepared food including marinated raw chicken. I will say the salsa was the only decent thing there. I am surprised we did not get sick from this resturant. I feel sorry for all the employees who work in this tasteless nasty dump and anyone who has the misfortune of eating here. This establishment needs to be on the show resturant impossible!!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank F2theL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississippi
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Jaco's Taco's”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My husband and I ate at Jaco's Taco's recently and really like it. We loved the atmosphere and were able to sit outside because the weather was so nice. The food was good and seemed really fresh. It was better than your typical Mexican restaurant. We will go back!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank honeymoonMississippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Ok....”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Hate that they no longer have their luncheon specials but the quesadillas were good. My first time to eat Mexican at Jaco Taco..... I was used to eating the special which was good old county cooking!

Helpful?
Thank barstis601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
91 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Major Mexican Dissappointment”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Waste of time and money. Chili/cheese enchiladas were not even close to being edible. Served with a poor attempt at fried rice and watery pinto beans. The 'home made' quacamole was also watery (maybe too much lime juice) and lumpy. Sent it back and asked not to be replaced. Cinco de Mayo right around the corner is far superior. Will not return and/or recommend to anyone.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joseph j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jaco's Taco's also viewed

 

Been to Jaco's Taco's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing