We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two Sister's is too good to only eat once.”

Two Sister's Kitchen
Ranked #13 of 380 Restaurants in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$8
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Woodland, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Two Sister's is too good to only eat once.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stopped here last year when we were traveling the Natchez Trace. Saying this place is different is an understatement. It's an old house with most rooms filled with tables. Just inside the front door is the buffet. At first glance it seems that the place would not pass inspection - it looks pretty rough. On further investigation the roughness seems to be part of the ambience and it works. It's not just interesting, it's fun and clean - including the bathroom.

So how about the food? If you like down home Southern cooking you will love it and you can have all you want so you will probably overeat - be warned. There is enough variety that anyone should be able to find plenty to fill their plate. The price includes desert and it too is southern goodness - cobbler and bread pudding are two choices that were available both times we were there. The menu changes continually so who knows what treats await you when you visit.

This one is hard to 'dial in'. In some ways it is like dropping by Aunt Ethel's house except Two Sisters is down town capitol city rather than between the barn and pasture. And Aunt Ethel would have spared the Spackle and applied the paint. But Aunt Ethel's place was like so many other country places. Two Sister's is unique in a way that you will probably get a kick out off. We like it enough that we plan to stop again when we are in the Jackson area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry-Bronco-Billy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    57
    22
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love the atmosphere (and the food)!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Quality home cooked food served by a friendly, family-like staff. I especially enjoyed sitting out on the patio. Very nicely landscaped with beautiful views of the Capitol. Patio is the way to go!

Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Quaint and pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

The food was good. Loved the chicken. Service was great. We sat on the porch is rocking chairs until a table was ready. Yes the place is dated and somewhat cramped. Eat on the patio! Lots of room. The price was $12.50 each and included dessert.

I would go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank texas_cindy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious food, excellent service in a cute country themed restaurant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

I was in town visiting my grandparents who live in a rural city not far from Jackson. I took them and my great-great Aunt. I had to convince them to try a new place since they are rarely impressed by cooking unless it's made by themselves! We tried every dish, from greens, to fried chicken, to breads, and sweet tea and loved it all! My grandfather was impressed and even compared the chicken to my grandmother's..and that is big...huge! LOL Service was also really good and all the staff greeted and checked in with us. It is in a country home, with rocking chairs on the front porch. The only negative thing is they were out of 2 of 4 desserts, one of which was peach cobble, and since don't like bread pudding or banana pudding, I didn't have dessert. Next time we will have to get there earlier and get dessert first! :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Glowskid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to eat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

The food here is wonderful! Enjoyed eating at a place that's got food like you find at mommas house . Hope I get to come back here

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Two Sister's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Two Sister's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing