We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some good ole southern soul food”

Two Sister's Kitchen
Ranked #13 of 380 Restaurants in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$8
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mattoon, Illinois
Level Contributor
581 reviews
505 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
“Some good ole southern soul food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

The terminus of our travels this day was Jackson, Mississippi’s capitol city. We arrived about 11:30. We pulled into a shopping center parking lot to select a place to have lunch. It turns out that many of TripAdvisor’s top picks are not open on Sunday. However, we found a highly rated place called Two Sisters Kitchen which is downtown, within sight of the capitol building.

Two Sisters Kitchen is a big old clapboard sided house - a little over a hundred years old we were told. Three of the four rooms on the main level and all four on the second floor are smallish dining rooms. We did not know it in advance but there is no menu - it is strictly a buffet. There is a salad bar - which was good but not noteworthy. The main buffet line contained an ample variety of very tasty southern soul food. I tried a little bit of nearly everything they had, including: fried chicken, salisbury steak, creamed corn, blackeyed peas, collard greens, grits, butter beans, succotash, iced tea and, for dessert: bread pudding with bourbon sauce. Those items I would put into the excellent category: fried chicken, creamed corn, collard greens and grits. The bread pudding, however, scored a notch above excellent (regardless of whatever you want to call it). It was powerful sweet - my glucose level probably hit a new record - fortunately, the serving was quite small.

Lunch’s bottom line: I can’t think of a better Sunday dinner in the south than what they serve up at the Two Sisters Kitchen. Thirty-eight bucks with tax and gratuity.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank joan&mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    57
    22
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson
Level Contributor
116 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent down home cookin'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

The food and two sister's beats almost any other lunch venues in Jackson. The fried catfish and the bread pudding are simply wonderful.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NoCruiseControl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
264 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Like eating at mama's house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

I'm so glad they do not have a restaurant like this in Mobile, AL. I would weigh 500 lbs.

Delicious, home cooked, southern meal at its finest! Tasted like my mother's southern cooking and man could she cook!

My seven year old said that the bread pudding with chocolate sauce was the best dessert he had ever tasted.

Must try restaurant if you are in Jackson. We went on a Sunday, ten minutes before they opened. It's a good sign when there is a line at the door before they open. The crowd didn't stop pouring in either.

Delicious food, great service!

Helpful?
1 Thank Rsavell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwell Springs, Louisiana
Level Contributor
124 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Some home style cooking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Greeted by friendly staff upon entering the rustic home converted to restaurant. There were lots of locals.
Since everything is non traditional to what one expects at a.restaurant, the cashiers greet and briefly explain how the buffet works, so there was little confusion to how things worked.
After reading reviews, I tried every item in the buffet. The fried chicken was interesting...No skin, but it still had a crispy texture to it. The cream of corn was thick and corny, as it should be. The biscuit, simple and nothing special. The greens and blacked eye peaswere cooked to the correct tenderness. Not much seasoning, if any at all, but that's alright. The fried okra was perfect. The country fried steak had a nice crunchy exterior with a tender juicy interior. The mashed potatoes and white gravy were pretty bland, but ultimately was my favorite compared to the fried chicken. Before we headed out, we had dessert; bread pudding with a bourbon sauce and a peach cobbler. The peach cobbler was way too sweet..enough to turn me into a diabetic.
Great atmosphere, food is simple, yet made with love to be comfort food.

Helpful?
Thank buoywin2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Jackson's Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

My boyfriend and I are driving cross country and wanted to stop in Jackson for the culture and amazing food. We read the reviews for the best local southern food and this was the by far the place to go. We stumbled upon it right when they opened around 11, and good thing we did, because twenty minutes later it was packed!! It is the local lunch spot for both blue collar workers and senators from across the street at the capital building. The owners and the staff could not have been nicer. My boyfriend said it was the best fried chicken he's ever had. I am a vegetarian and there were plenty of amazing dishes for me to eat and enjoy. The Mac and Cheese was by the far my favorite. Everything was divine, from the sweet tea, to the unlimited southern buffet, to the apple crisp and banana pudding for dessert. If you're anywhere near Jackson you must stop at two sisters' kitchen!!! We paid $25 + tip for an incredible lunch. Can't beat that! What a gem!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank loloc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Two Sister's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Two Sister's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing